Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Gazzamatta

Actually the tackling isn't the problem, it's giving away penalties!!
Really?
54 to nil? An average of 30 plus points conceeded over 4 games? Ouch.
No argument with your penalties comment but its our defence thats rooted in my opinion and our biggest issue. Tigpies gave up a million penalties V The Storm but still managed to tackle them out of the game.
Get your defence right and all else will follow. We couldnt manage a positive differential last season. Hard to imagine we could achieve that Holy Grail this season. If we do we are on our way.

Our tackling is fine. The problem is that we are making too many of them.

The Tigers might've conceded 18 penalties against the Storm but that just means they should've had a few blokes binned. Deliberate penalties on your tryline is a benefit, not a disadvantage. It's the reason for the crackdown. In that game they still only made seven more tackles than the Storm, and only missed one extra. The Storm gave them plenty of ball though, making nearly thrice the number of errors - 17 to 6.

Yes I said thrice

emjaycee

Because from where we stand right now, you know the present, not the past or future, nothing has changed in regards to the past 32 years.

We are still losing all our games, we are heading for the wooden spoon, we look pathetic doing it, there's talk that the players are factionalised and don't get along and we will be as attractive as Donald Trumps hair when it come to courting quality players again.

Ground hog day. What a shit footy club we all chose to follow. Thanks BA and Co.
I know you are prone to exaggeration sometimes but f**k me I am over everyone saying we have been shit and that nothing has changed for the last 32 years. Have you been supporting Parra since 2000 or only more recently (like since 2010)?

In the 18 seasons since 2000 we have been in the finals 8 times (would have been 9 except for 2016 points deduction) so effectively 50% of the time and we have played in 2 GF's and yep, also landed 2 wooden spoons.

Here are some comparisons and while there are definitely teams in the top echelon (Melb. Brisb, Rorters, Manly) the only difference between us and these others is that they have actually won 1 premiership in 18 years, while we got done in 2009 by a cheating team.
Sharks - 10 finals, 1 premiership, 1GF, 1 wooden spoon
Nth Qld - 10 finals, 1 premiership, 3, GF's, 4 wooden spoons (3 but would have been 4 if Melb didn't lose all their points)
Sths - 5 finals, 1 premiership, 1 GF, 4 wooden spoons (only 16 seasons)
Penrith - 7 finals, 1 premiership, 1 GF, 2 wooden spoons

84 Baby

I know you are prone to exaggeration sometimes but f**k me I am over everyone saying we have been shit and that nothing has changed for the last 32 years. Have you been supporting Parra since 2000 or only more recently (like since 2010)?

In the 18 seasons since 2000 we have been in the finals 8 times (would have been 9 except for 2016 points deduction) so effectively 50% of the time and we have played in 2 GF's and yep, also landed 2 wooden spoons.

Here are some comparisons and while there are definitely teams in the top echelon (Melb. Brisb, Rorters, Manly) the only difference between us and these others is that they have actually won 1 premiership in 18 years, while we got done in 2009 by a cheating team.
Sharks - 10 finals, 1 premiership, 1GF, 1 wooden spoon
Nth Qld - 10 finals, 1 premiership, 3, GF's, 4 wooden spoons (3 but would have been 4 if Melb didn't lose all their points)
Sths - 5 finals, 1 premiership, 1 GF, 4 wooden spoons (only 16 seasons)
Penrith - 7 finals, 1 premiership, 1 GF, 2 wooden spoons
That sounds like some excuse-making, mediocrity-accepting horseshit.

Though I don't actually read other peoples posts

Gazzamatta

Our tackling is fine. The problem is that we are making too many of them.

The Tigers might've conceded 18 penalties against the Storm but that just means they should've had a few blokes binned. Deliberate penalties on your tryline is a benefit, not a disadvantage. It's the reason for the crackdown. In that game they still only made seven more tackles than the Storm, and only missed one extra. The Storm gave them plenty of ball though, making nearly thrice the number of errors - 17 to 6.

Yes I said thrice
Sorry Poo. Ive not the energy to debate. I reckon our defensive structure, energy and technique is poor. You on the other hand think its great. Im prepared to agree to disagree cause I'm getting older by the minute and lifes too short.

emjaycee

That sounds like some excuse-making, mediocrity-accepting horseshit.

Though I don't actually read other peoples posts
Don't get me wrong, I didn't post those stats because I am happy with how our team goes - I am f**king ropeable. Like lots of people on here, I spend thousands of my hard earned every year in the hope that it will be "the" year and I get pissed off every time it is not.

But I also try to maintain a balanced and non-hysterical view of why we are, where we are and whether we are alone there or not.

Sorry Poo. Ive not the energy to debate. I reckon our defensive structure, energy and technique is poor. You on the other hand think its great.
I never said our energy is great. We are doing far too little work off the ball. That was the key to our success last year and this year it is going out the window for long stretches of each match.
Im prepared to agree to disagree cause I'm getting older by the minute and lifes too short.
By all means disagree but don't misrepresent what people are saying.

TheRam

The only team who won more than 70% of their games over the past two years was the Storm. Sounds like you'd rather follow them.

But if a sample of four games means so much to you (along with recent form) then the Dragons, Warriors, Panthers and Tigers have all won at least 75% of their games. I'm sure they could all use more fans.

Stick it.

Gazzamatta

I never said our energy is great. We are doing far too little work off the ball. That was the key to our success last year and this year it is going out the window for long stretches of each match.

By all means disagree but don't misrepresent what people are saying.
Sorry Poo. Couldn't help myself. I referred to energy related to defence. I thought I was clear on that point but obviously not. You in turn responded refrencing energy in offence. Hope that clears it up for you. Would hate you to inadvertently misrepresent my statement.

You responded to Joshuatheeel's statement about tackling not being the problem (with which I agree) with a rebuttal:
Really?
54 to nil? An average of 30 plus points conceeded over 4 games? Ouch.
No argument with your penalties comment but its our defence thats rooted in my opinion and our biggest issue. Tigpies gave up a million penalties V The Storm but still managed to tackle them out of the game.
Get your defence right and all else will follow. We couldnt manage a positive differential last season. Hard to imagine we could achieve that Holy Grail this season. If we do we are on our way.
Obviously we're conceding a lot of points, and other teams have managed to concede penalties without conceding a lot of points. This was common last year and the crackdown was supposed to counter that. The Tigers should've had players sin-binned.

Either way, penalties on your own line (often deliberate because they confer an advantage) are very different to penalties in the opposition half. And in any case have nothing to do with our ability to tackle.

TBH we have Gutho Moses and French + Hayne who may or may not be here in 2019*.

Then we have Salmon.

Is an out of form Normz not actually surplus to our needs ?

* I am expecting MJennings to exercise his option.

For 700k+ But Pou said we dont sign guys for over anymore. This was an excpetion pou bear?

TheRam

Don't get me wrong, I didn't post those stats because I am happy with how our team goes - I am f**king ropeable. Like lots of people on here, I spend thousands of my hard earned every year in the hope that it will be "the" year and I get pissed off every time it is not.

But I also try to maintain a balanced and non-hysterical view of why we are, where we are and whether we are alone there or not.

If we were the Sharks or even any other team I would accept it a lot better then I do with Parra. Parra should be the premier club at least in the State for reasons I have stated before.

We should be winning on average at least 1 or 2 premierships a decade. Mismanagement bad coaching and bad recruitment and retention have literally ruined this club and made us a basket case on and off the field for a great percentage of these last 32 years.

Now the way it is panning out I feel BA will ultimately fail to make this a premiership winning club. He has shown to make way to many major and minor errors in judgement on and off the field.

So I'm not sure how many seasons he has left on his contract but if think it is till the end of next season. If so, I would give him till then to turn this team into a serious premiership contender. If he can attract the right kind of players that we need to do that, two quality BIG boppers, 1 quality dummy half, and 1 big powerful winger that can help start the sets well. This is the bare minimum that the team should be looking to acquire. Then I may change my mind about him, but it will all depend on how the team plays and if it can score many more point then it concedes. The last few seasons we have had a pathetic F/A.

If he can't do the above, with what should be the premier club by the end of next year, with the redevelopment of Parramatta area, the leagues club redevelopment, the juniors we should have to pick from and having the number one club stadium in the country, if he can't assemble a team that can play worthy of all that, then he doesn't deserve any further shots at it.

What I would do, is go hard for who I think will become the next super coach if given the right resources, Ivan Cleary and his son. I mean hard. I would offer him a million dollar plus offer and his son as well. It is no secret that he and Nathan want to be at the same club. Why shouldn't that be here with us. I would make them a combo offer that they could not refuse. The tigers, in theory should not be able to compete. All of our wealth and resources should be used to get that type of person/persons to our club, to stop this continual rot and turn us into a real threat for the next decade or so.

Getting Nathan now is like getting Fitler all those years ago. It is doable now. Almost impossible in three or more years. But the package is the key and our great future ground and cash abilities compared to the Tigers. We need to make these very hard decisions very soon. Like during the year we should be signing the type of quality players I spoke about. Then watch carefully and if BA is not showing the qualities of a long term winner, then move on quickly to the best option possible, which I think is the Cleary's.