Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

This is the way I see the NRL.
The games become robotic.Players dont express themself much anymore and it is about doing a job.
This is why average players like Blake Green have become top shelf NRL players. They dont have heaps of skills but are smart,patient and learnt all the correct plays. When your side is up they look great.
This makes most games close. Not many teams play exciting footy due to the risk of being blown apart. Tigers are a prime example. It is an average squad. If they where 12 points behind do you think theyd be able to claw their way back? I highly doubt it.
Teams are just playing for penalties and field possesion and then using the same set plays. Sometimes they come off and sometimes they dont. The Melbourne style.
Better teams are now losing and not cause the opposition are better, but they are just playing the exact same game.
Most squads cancel each other out when look at player for player and even if one is better it usualy is only slightly.

So what is our issue? I dont think it is lack of confidence but the opposite. After last season I reckon we wanted to come out and blast other sides away. And play some actual footy and players express their talent like Hayne,Bevan,Moses,Norman,Jennings. None of these guys want to just work and grind. Not their style. And why guys like Auvau look better then Hayne and Jennings in attack.
Once the guys realise they have too adapt to the boring style to have a chance to win in a coin toss we will start winning more often.

This is the way I see the NRL.
The games become robotic.Players dont express themself much anymore and it is about doing a job.
This is why average players like Blake Green have become top shelf NRL players. They dont have heaps of skills but are smart,patient and learnt all the correct plays. When your side is up they look great.
This makes most games close. Not many teams play exciting footy due to the risk of being blown apart. Tigers are a prime example. It is an average squad. If they where 12 points behind do you think theyd be able to claw their way back? I highly doubt it.
Teams are just playing for penalties and field possesion and then using the same set plays. Sometimes they come off and sometimes they dont. The Melbourne style.
Better teams are now losing and not cause the opposition are better, but they are just playing the exact same game.
Most squads cancel each other out when look at player for player and even if one is better it usualy is only slightly.

So what is our issue? I dont think it is lack of confidence but the opposite. After last season I reckon we wanted to come out and blast other sides away. And play some actual footy and players express their talent like Hayne,Bevan,Moses,Norman,Jennings. None of these guys want to just work and grind. Not their style. And why guys like Auvau look better then Hayne and Jennings in attack.
Once the guys realise they have too adapt to the boring style to have a chance to win in a coin toss we will start winning more often.
What would you know Mr 60%?

We would have kept him if we offered $750k
That’s over $300k tax. So in the hand he would end up with less than half his take home pay in Frankreich. It’s not a competitive offer. He would need a pretty substantial TPA from 1800PouMan to bridge that gap.

Djay

You can’t blame BA for the loss of Semi that was out of our control, but you can blame him for having the worst front row and dummy half rotation in the comp.

Let alone playing the most boring and predictable style known to man.
This.

I love BA, but his lack of quality recruitment in these positions is really indefensible. We need 2 big boppers and a hooker who knows how to provide quality service. What we have in these positions right now is utter crap.

I've been probably the most critical of our hooker stocks....but apart from Peats there was no one good available and he was after $600k.

Glenneel

We should be trying anything we can to sign Nofaluma for this season.
And go hard for Mansour next year!
Mansour not the player he was before knee injury. I'd go for Maumolo? the Warriors winger. Big and fast is what we lack in a winger these days. First priority tho is a decent front row, 2 quality props and a hooker then look for a winger. Get rid of most of the forwards we currently have.

Glenneel

You are talking shit now!! But you will probably claim you knew!!

Anyhow if you check my posts back when Foran signed (it's probably around early 2016), I referenced a tweet about Foran. It was the only reference on all the internet and social media that indicated Foran had an issue.

Anyhow not one person including yourself even slightly suggested it was true.

If everyone knew about Foran why did the dogs under Hasler who you claim is better the BA and who coached Foran try to sign Foran a year or 2 earlier if he had issues - look at previous media articles, Foran states the hardest thing he did was say no to Foran!!

Additionally if everyone knew about Foran why did manly try so hard to keep him after we f**ked up his contract? Surely forans club would have known if your claim that "everyone" knew about Foran was true ?

So basically you claim Manly knew foran had issues, yet his previous coach tried to poach him and manly tried to keep him!! So did you know more then Hasler, Toovey and Fulton?

So really are you making up stuff about Foran? If not why was anyone that knew him so keen to sign him (including BA)?
Think Maloney was available at the time and I thought the club should go hard for him. Imo a better all round player, goal kicker and cheaper by about $400k.

Glenneel

Lol Warriors fans hate Maumalo. The bloke has worse hands than Terepo and defends worse than Davis
Actually Terepo has pretty good hands these days. Does prove you can teach footballers to catch the ball but can't teach them to be big or fast.

Glenneel

Newcastle went a whole season only winning two games. Now they are 3-2 and in the top 8.
Coaches have bad years sometimes...but they can quite often get their team back to a good place again.

BA took over a 2x wooden spoon side.
Within one year he had us competing for the top 8.
Within 4 years he had us in the top 4.
We have had a shitty start to this season, no doubt. It f**ken sucks. We probably won't play Finals football because of it.
I still haven't given up hope though.

I want to see if BA can turn this around. That will be a true measure of his coaching ability. If he can't do it this year, then hopefully he can do it for next season.
You have to have the players to do that but unfortunately BA stuck with the same players that had no upside and were deficient in so many areas. Brown, Kearney and Cleary recruited well and their teams are showing the benefit of it. In 5 years BA has recruited a few decent players and we have a quantity side but not a quality side. He over-estimated our forwards at our detriment and failed to improve our most glaring weakness, our entire front row. Maybe now he can see the problem and fix for next year but unfortunately this year is already over.