Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

You're the one pulling it mate....over an average player in Terepo. Face it, you're fooled by his speed.

Terepo is more then likely being paid less then half of Mannah.
Alvaro and Mannah are the 2 softest starting props in the NRL.
The powder puff brothers. Id rather Auvau in the Front row.

Terepo is more then likely being paid less then half of Mannah.
Alvaro and Mannah are the 2 softest starting props in the NRL.
The powder puff brothers. Id rather Auvau in the Front row.

Terepo is probably as good as Mannah. But he's still got hands like feet, unreliable.

Alvaro is our best "prop", no question. If you reckon he's making almost a tackle a minute and missing 5 out of 197 by being soft that just shows how clueless you are more than anything else.

Averages almost 100m a game as well despite having to do the defensive work of other slobs. Muppets like you just want every single prop to have a good highlight reel.

lingard

Is anyone else concerned with who we names as captains? I think BOTH Scott and Mannah need to be dropped.

Doesn't anybody understand that we have a whole pack full of 'good value' forwards? Every one of them would be more than adequate (maybe even very good) if they had a couple of current origin-level forwards to assist them. But without that (and without an extremely good hooker) we are expecting way too much of them. I hope BA learns this and rectifies it for next year, because I certainly don't want to see him sacked. He has brought a steel to this side that was sorely missing. Now all he has to do is get his recruitment right for next year. Hope he can. No more 'good value' forwards. We need real quality for next year.

Terepo is probably as good as Mannah. But he's still got hands like feet, unreliable.

Alvaro is our best "prop", no question. If you reckon he's making almost a tackle a minute and missing 5 out of 197 by being soft that just shows how clueless you are more than anything else.

Averages almost 100m a game as well despite having to do the defensive work of other slobs. Muppets like you just want every single prop to have a good highlight reel.

Alvaro is fine. Problem is exact what you said. He is our best Prop. Now that is just SAD

If these two are so shit wouldn't we want them playing fewer minutes so our better forwards can play more?

If they did it would mean fewer minutes for everyone else.
I never said Mannah was shit, his numbers per minute are great but he is playing too few minutes, So why is it? ethier the coaches have no idea how to run the interchange or he isn't fit enough.
Played plenty more minutes in the World Cup no problems so it's not fitness.
It's a balance i don't have the answers but we ran out of interchanges yesterday with 11mins to go and then Brownie hurt his ankle and had to play the last 8 or so minutes on it. could have caused a much worse injury.

Alvaro is fine. Problem is exact what you said. He is our best Prop. Now that is just SAD

Why? Even if we had a big, flashy slob like Paulo in the side, Alvaro would probably be our best prop...because it's a game that is equally about defence and attack, and because Alvaro is the bloke who takes the ugly runs that don't allow for pretty looking stat-boosting runs.

You fail to realise that because you are all about plays that look good. Like Terepo running fast, even if he stops absolutely dead when he gets to the line.

Stevie

We filled our 29 man current squad with blokes of mostly NRL experience...how would Stone get a start before late June at the earliest?

NRL experience means nothing if you are not performing. BA was waxing lyrical about no one being exempt and he will hold players accountable. If Stone is bashing blokes and running like a madman and "wants" to be there then he has my bloody vote.

I like BA but we'll soon see if he is full of hot air or not.

NRL experience means nothing if you are not performing. BA was waxing lyrical about no one being exempt and he will hold players accountable. If Stone is bashing blokes and running like a madman and "wants" to be there then he has my bloody vote.

It's all well and good to bash blokes in NSW Cup....at 180cm and 95kg, is he really the answer to our woes right now?

Probably best to let him develop a bit more rather than chucking him in the deep end.

Stevie

It's all well and good to bash blokes in NSW Cup....at 180cm and 95kg, is he really the answer to our woes right now?

Probably best to let him develop a bit more rather than chucking him in the deep end.

Blokes are not any bigger in the NRL pal. They are all big blokes. Who cares what his weight is, IF he is good enough then he is heavy enough. All I know is there doesn't seem to be much enthusiasm (aside from Brown, what a weapon) and maybe blooding a young mad merkin will lift the team.

What are you worried about, losing a game?

Blokes are not any bigger in the NRL pal. They are all big blokes. Who cares what his weight is, IF he is good enough then he is heavy enough. All I know is there doesn't seem to be much enthusiasm (aside from Brown, what a weapon) and maybe blooding a young mad merkin will lift the team.

What are you worried about, losing a game?

They are bigger, though. And the intensity is higher....that's not really arguable.

I just don't think chucking a rookie like Stone in is the answer. Especially given he is such a small forward. It's really just a change for the sake of it and that's not a good idea for the team or the player, really.

Gutherson will help our attitude immensely.

84 Baby

No its not. Look maybe go see an accountant and talk about taxes for sports stars. It is different then personal income tax for you or me. Cause it is over a short span they aren't hit as hard.
Prob still worse then France yes. But your making figures up in something you dont know.
It really isn't that different. It really only helps in the 1st couple of years for sportspeople of Semi's pay packet. After they finish earning so much it can even f**k them up if they haven't held back a bit

forward pass

The comforting news is that we get to play in Canberra in Canberra this weekend.

We beat the Raiders down there in 2006 so looks promising !

Chipmunk

I don't disagree with your sentiments. But if we really wanted to give Stone a game by Round 6 then we should have given him a Top 30 spot in the off season. Do we really want to waste our final spot on him with 2 1/2 months before we have to give the spot to someone?

It's possible that Stone is player 29 in the squad...but I think that might be doubtful.

emjaycee

The Bulldogs need a proper half. Foran an't that.
And yet he has played in 6 finals series in 9 years of NRL, including 2 grand finals and winning one of them.
The only seasons he didn't play finals footy were where we weakened Manly by taking Watmough (2015), he only played 9 games for us before his breakdown (2016) and he played for the perennial losers (Warriors 2017).

You must have pretty high standards to declare him not a half/five-eighth mate.

Why? Even if we had a big, flashy slob like Paulo in the side, Alvaro would probably be our best prop...because it's a game that is equally about defence and attack, and because Alvaro is the bloke who takes the ugly runs that don't allow for pretty looking stat-boosting runs.

You fail to realise that because you are all about plays that look good. Like Terepo running fast, even if he stops absolutely dead when he gets to the line.

Alvaro is bog average. His defense is good cause misses little tackles. But its not first class cause he doesnt hit hard with crunching tackles.His attack game is also garbage. Anyone can cart the ball up.
Lets compare him to James Graheme in his peak who is also a worker. Difference was along with his 40 tackles and 150mtrs he brought great leadership a short pass before the line and the odd crunching tackle. His running game was also superior. Why he would get MOM and was a big part of the Dogs success.

Im sure Danny is a nice guy. He is however a bog average first grade player. Handy worker but bring f**k all else. If he develops a pass before the line and an offload he may become a solid prop. At this rate in 3 yrs he will be finished in first grade due to the amount of beating he cops with his running style.

Alvaro is bog average. His defense is good cause misses little tackles. But its not first class cause he doesnt hit hard with crunching tackles.His attack game is also garbage. Anyone can cart the ball up.
Lets compare him to James Graheme in his peak who is also a worker. Difference was along with his 40 tackles and 150mtrs he brought great leadership a short pass before the line and the odd crunching tackle. His running game was also superior. Why he would get MOM and was a big part of the Dogs success.

Im sure Danny is a nice guy. He is however a bog average first grade player. Handy worker but bring f**k all else. If he develops a pass before the line and an offload he may become a solid prop. At this rate in 3 yrs he will be finished in first grade due to the amount of beating he cops with his running style.

Mr 0.000085%.

Fanbase knows more about footy than you do

emjaycee

Google told me that he is on €600,000 and pays 8% tax.

Thats $AU920,000 in the hand.
We would have kept him if we offered $750k

To get $920,000 in the hand here in Aus, you need to gross somewhere near $1.7M p.a.
That is $1,700,000 or about $63,000 per game or just over 18% of the salary cap.

An offer of $750k would see him get about $430k p.a in the hand... so less than half of what he is getting in France.

Joshuatheeel

Doesn't anybody understand that we have a whole pack full of 'good value' forwards? Every one of them would be more than adequate (maybe even very good) if they had a couple of current origin-level forwards to assist them. But without that (and without an extremely good hooker) we are expecting way too much of them. I hope BA learns this and rectifies it for next year, because I certainly don't want to see him sacked. He has brought a steel to this side that was sorely missing. Now all he has to do is get his recruitment right for next year. Hope he can. No more 'good value' forwards. We need real quality for next year.

BA is looking for a prop if all the media articles are correct.

We also have a few players off contract.

If we keep a similar 17, less Scott. Add a quality winger and prop and potentially 1 or 2 juniors, the side looks ok.

Mr 0.000085%.

Fanbase knows more about footy than you do

Sure....... Ok lets see when prigin talk comes around who of the selectors will think about Bad boy Danny Alvaro.
I think i can i know i can. Keep trying Danny keep trying. I love your work ethics.