Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

No but you implied Fox News wasn't either.
No to that as well. Imtheman said that the dolphins were controlling his mind. I said that the only mind control I was aware of was fox n that man that yells and cries about birthers and pizzas.

Glenneel

Lets just look forward to watching the eels Ram and lets hope BA uses some of our training methods and game plan. If so we will see them become electric eels once again.
I think Lane will be a suprise packet.
Love your enthusiasm Hindy but mine is tempered by supporting the Eels for more than 50 years of generally being excited at the beginning and disappointed at the end. Particularly since 1986. And 3 wooden spoons in 7 years really knocks the stuffing out of you.

With our supporter base and the financial strength of our club we should be a glamour, power club but instead we're definitely not and my question is WHY? We should be in the top 8 or thereabouts every year and we're not. Has it been the dysfunctional boards of the past that has caused our demise? I see the vested interests are still causing havoc with any constitutional reform of the club and the sooner they're gone the better imo. Anyway I'm willing to hop onto your bus (not Cleary's bus) and ride with you to their destination, onwards and upwards!

Glenneel

No I think you don't get it, I really don't like any of the main parties. None of them represent us really.

What I stand for but sadly does not exist anymore is the now defunct Australian Sovereignty Party, which had the best policy platform any party anywhere in the world that I have seen and I have looked . But to few people knew of it and now it is gone.

Their old site link is here http://sovereigntyparty.info/

Do yourself a favour if you are interested in such things and take a look. As to good to be true as their policies sound, they are all backed by the soundest of economic principles, based on the greatest economist of the 20th Century, Irving Fisher, who has all but been erased from the history books, as apposed to the hugely flawed economic models that we have been forced to implement since over 100 years ago. They offer us Keynes vs Hayek. What a Joke on us.

Just a teaser, all taxes to be abolished including income tax, and only one 2% tax to replace all of them.
Don't have the figures but have a GST on everything and replace all other taxes with a 1 or 2% tax on all bank transactions in and out and I think you'd be covered. Also government to control all illicit drugs and tax them accordingly and we'd have budget surpluses, guaranteed. That is until governments find ways to waste the money on bigger public servants and other stupid schemes, as all governments do.

Glenneel

Do you think French earnt the right to start 2018 as fullback?
And if so, in a team that played as badly as we did across the park in 2018, do you think he justifiably lost that right due to form?
Don't think he was long enough in the position to judge his form as the whole team was extremely poor last season. But I still believe he'll succeed at fb with the right tactics, like Dufty has. But do we have the team now for the forwards to dominate other teams so the backs can perform to their optimum? Most importantly imo the forwards need to support and pass to each other.

emjaycee

Don't think he was long enough in the position to judge his form as the whole team was extremely poor last season. But I still believe he'll succeed at fb with the right tactics, like Dufty has. But do we have the team now for the forwards to dominate other teams so the backs can perform to their optimum? Most importantly imo the forwards need to support and pass to each other.

This is/was my exact point. The rest of the team did not play like they did in 2017 to give French the ability to play like he did in 2017.

French, like Dufty and others needs to have forwards going forward with the ability to off-load to a speedy, trailing fullback. Ideally,with Junior, Lane and possibly an in-form Evans (he was bought for his size and ability to get a pass away in attack) whomever is our fullback will see more ball. I would rather that be French for both his speed and his ability to kick when on the run, than either Norman or Gutho.

TheRam

Ram lets fling Gary. Rissole him.
I think we bring this guy into bones on bones.
Gary was useless anyways.... Worse then a 1 schooner screamer.

You might be on to something Hindy. TheMan might just be a Bonesman type of guy. Not that Canary yellow bird Gaza turned out to be, trembling in the corner like a little school girl mattering "stranger danger" over and over till the "gags" went in.

Glenneel

This is/was my exact point. The rest of the team did not play like they did in 2017 to give French the ability to play like he did in 2017.

French, like Dufty and others needs to have forwards going forward with the ability to off-load to a speedy, trailing fullback. Ideally,with Junior, Lane and possibly an in-form Evans (he was bought for his size and ability to get a pass away in attack) whomever is our fullback will see more ball. I would rather that be French for both his speed and his ability to kick when on the run, than either Norman or Gutho.
French has all the qualities to be a very good player and will succeed in NRL. Hopefully with our team and not another. He hasn't the size to force a hole thru the defensive line so one has to be created for him. With his speed and huge skill set (and we've all seen some of the amazing things he can do and remember he run down Tedesco after giving him a start) he can be a revelation at fb, but only with the right tactics.

My preferred team for the backs is:
1. French
2. Sivo/Gennings/GL
3. Gutho
4. Mennings/Ferguson
5. Ferguson/one of the others above or a promoted junior
6. Norman
7. Moses

not sure they had a choice, sounds more like he left them
Yes, I reckon that he wanted to play for NQld in 2019 and when it was clear that the sharks would not release him (cows had to sign BB for 1 year) he CBFd. So might as well have a gap year and try his luck. He's not sort of a buck for a kid and can easily afford to blow cash on a 1yr USA trip.

I agee with the bit about French, yeh he was shit last year but he had a lot of mates, hell half of our team should be playing for Wenty on last years form.

Not sure how French could be expected to shine with the service he got from our halves so like most of our squad I think 2018 should be ignored and more notice should be taken of his 2017 form.

I agee with the bit about French, yeh he was shit last year but he had a lot of mates, hell half of our team should be playing for Wenty on last years form.

Not sure how French could be expected to shine with the service he got from our halves so like most of our squad I think 2018 should be ignored and more notice should be taken of his 2017 form.

lingard

French has all the qualities to be a very good player and will succeed in NRL. Hopefully with our team and not another. He hasn't the size to force a hole thru the defensive line so one has to be created for him. With his speed and huge skill set (and we've all seen some of the amazing things he can do and remember he run down Tedesco after giving him a start) he can be a revelation at fb, but only with the right tactics.

My preferred team for the backs is:
1. French
2. Sivo/Gennings/GL
3. Gutho
4. Mennings/Ferguson
5. Ferguson/one of the others above or a promoted junior
6. Norman
7. Moses

So, almost the same backline as last year (except for Ferguson). Same hookers. Same halves. Same coach. Different tactics? We'll have to wait and see, but I wouldn't hold my breath. It all comes down to the forwards magically transforming into a strong, cohesive pack that can really dominate the opposition and set a great platform for the same halves and same backline (except Ferguson). Right.

TheRam

Don't have the figures but have a GST on everything and replace all other taxes with a 1 or 2% tax on all bank transactions in and out and I think you'd be covered. Also government to control all illicit drugs and tax them accordingly and we'd have budget surpluses, guaranteed. That is until governments find ways to waste the money on bigger public servants and other stupid schemes, as all governments do.

You don't need the GST or any other tax under their 2% transaction tax. From memory it would bring in around double of what we collect currently with ALL the other taxes combined. They have written extensive papers on this and posted them and other on their other policies on the net, but not sure where you would find them now.

emjaycee

So, almost the same backline as last year (except for Ferguson). Same hookers. Same halves. Same coach. Different tactics? We'll have to wait and see, but I wouldn't hold my breath. It all comes down to the forwards magically transforming into a strong, cohesive pack that can really dominate the opposition and set a great platform for the same halves and same backline (except Ferguson). Right.

From Rounds 1-5 last year there were never more than 2 players in the back 5 that will be there next year, assuming GlennEels team as listed above.

Gazzamatta

French
Ferguson
Gutherson
Salmon (Mennings plays for Rip until he rips in and plays like a first grader)
Gennings / Sivo / Hoffman
Norman
Moses.

Period!

Happy MEel

French’s stats weren’t anything spectacular in 2017 either.
16 games, 9 tries, 4 try assists, 85.76 avg running metres.

Yes, I reckon that he wanted to play for NQld in 2019 and when it was clear that the sharks would not release him (cows had to sign BB for 1 year) he CBFd. So might as well have a gap year and try his luck. He's not sort of a buck for a kid and can easily afford to blow cash on a 1yr USA trip.
And when he’s done with footy he can start a building company called Valentine Homes.

emjaycee

French
Ferguson
Gutherson
Salmon (Mennings plays for Rip until he rips in and plays like a first grader)
Gennings / Sivo / Hoffman
Norman
Moses.

Period!
Mate, some guy on Facebook just posted his Round 1 side as follows...

My team
1::: Blake Ferguson
2::::Maika Sivo
3:::: Michael Jennings
4:::: Brad Takairangi
5:::: Greg Leleuasio
6:::: Josh Hoffman
7:::: Clinton Gutherson
13:::: Nathan Brown
12:::: Tepai Moeroa
11::::: Manu Mau’u
10:::: Oregon Kaufusi