Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Glenneel

Not sure if anyone else listened to the Triple M call this morning but they were mentioning how teams like Easts and Melbourne maintain such good sides by having that winning culture that people want to be a part of and are prepared to accept less money to have a shot at winning the comp.

The further mentioned that they don’t panic buy and offer a workhorse more than their budget affords.

We find ourselves in a pretty unique position next season with a million players coming off contract. I’m hopeful that we similarly don’t panic buy or offer overs and start assembling a squad that can be not only competitive more often than not, but have a shot at winning the comp. It’s going to be interesting to watch it all play out. You’d think there would be a few more players showing a bit more tenacity and desire while they’re in the shop window, so to speak.
No good having a good roster with a shit coach and staff. BA has shown he has nfi and his defensive coach is useless, another of BA buys. You'd think also that he'd make changes to the staff to save his job but by the performance of the team this year he is incapable of even doing that.

Matty Bhoy

No good having a good roster with a shit coach and staff. BA has shown he has nfi and his defensive coach is useless, another of BA buys. You'd think also that he'd make changes to the staff to save his job but by the performance of the team this year he is incapable of even doing that.

I think BA is about as good, if not better than, whoever else is currently unemployed. I get your point though.

lingard

I think BA is about as good, if not better than, whoever else is currently unemployed. I get your point though.

Thing is, we have BA for another two years. The only decent unemployed coach around is Shane Flannagan. He'll probably be right to come back in two years. Surely Parramatta must be considering him. It's obvious that Canterbury are. He would be brilliant for us and exactly what we need. Please Parramatta, get it done. Show some initiative for once. If not, Canterbury will sign him, slowly assemble a squad and compete for the title a couple of years later. It's so predictable.

Glenneel

Blake and Campbell-Dullard would fill a need in our team. RCG is a very good defender and Blake seemed to have improved this year. He's obviously not much use injured though. It's more of a signing for next year.
Would think Penrith will throw in his entire salary until he recovers and maybe pay some proportion for the next 3 years also. Good centre with plenty of speed and a combination of him and Parry/Gutho (with another fb) and maybe Mennings on a substantial discount would be a good backup. Again I come back to our coach...

Not so sure on RCG, 2 broken jaws has seriously affected his performances imo. Still he'd be better than most of our current forwards.

Matty Bhoy

Agree that Waqa Blake would be an excellent pick up for us, even more so if Penrith are paying some of the freight. RCG has certainly been effected by the busted jaw, but he'd still be an asset to our side.

Think you'll find that most of that is for Smith and Slater. With Slater's retirement would expect their TPAs to drop by at least half.

Even if that is true, do you reckon that the advantage that has given them in being able to spend money elsewhere (i.e. in developing players) over a long period of time is going to just disappear?

Parra Cheeses

Exactly .... and anyone believing the roosters dont have massive outside the cap payments too are dellusional .... would also love to know those clubs spending on stuff other than player salaries

Im not saying they are not good .... but they f**kin should be
Big P, ruling from the top down along with his mammoth fortune ensures that they get the best players for what they are worth (cap + tpa's) illegally or not and everyone zips their lips. It's only a rort if you're not in on it.
#thegodfather

T-Boon

Is there any sort of ranking of who the best defensive coach is in the game right now. And wrestling coach??
Has anyone looked into this.
We should go out and offer a lot of money to the best D coach.

Shit coach shit team shit club. :upside_down::thumbsup:

Glannagan seems like a great coach. My problem is Morris has them going just as good and imo playing more attractive footy?