Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Glenneel

This is all over Stefano.
What odds is he to end up another Pauli,Tepai,Tanginoa or Jack Afamasaga?
If you read TCT they have commented a few times how strong Stefano has trained and played during training sessions. Looks like we may have lost a good one to W-T but only time will tell. Maybe this'll teach us to be a bit more proactive in retaining good juniors in future although there were a few further negatives in retaining him at the time.

lingard

Bazal and a few of his cohorts (84 and Twizzle mainly) attacked me when I first posted and I called him out much like you have. Common theme by them apparently. Bazal is much better commenting on league rather than having a go at everyone which is my final and only comment on this subject

Bazal is fantastically witty, articulate, humorous and inspirational, when having a go at others. But he knows f**k all about footy.

If you read TCT they have commented a few times how strong Stefano has trained and played during training sessions. Looks like we may have lost a good one to W-T but only time will tell. Maybe this'll teach us to be a bit more proactive in retaining good juniors in future although there were a few further negatives in retaining him at the time.
I think the lesson we've learnt is to not pay overs retaining good juniors. Plenty of them don't turn out as good as we thought they might. If one slips through the cracks it's still better than overpaying them in hopes they turn into stars

Bazal is fantastically witty, articulate, humorous and inspirational, when having a go at others. But he knows f**k all about footy.

I guess I'll let Timmah know you've volunteered to write the season preview for the Eels then mate. Dodged a bullet there, could have gone very wrong!

84 Baby

Bazal and a few of his cohorts (84 and Twizzle mainly) attacked me when I first posted and I called him out much like you have. Common theme by them apparently. Bazal is much better commenting on league rather than having a go at everyone which is my final and only comment on this subject
f**k don’t lump me in with that chump. I attacked you of my own volition. Just like I attack everyone. It’s what makes me so adorable

Chump? Chump?

Is that the best you've got, you sword-swallowing, self-fellating pygmy possum? I'll feed your testicles to a snapping turtle, cook it up in a stew, and make you f**ken eat it!

$30k is a lot of money to a kid that age.
Hell, it’s a lot of money for me and I’m twice his age.
For those players on over half a million dollars a year it may not be much, but for someone earning only $100k-$150k it makes a huge difference.

True.

But I don't think it's unreasonable to assume that a young bull like Utoikamanu wouldn't make fuss over $30,000 at this stage of his young career, because he would back himself to fetch more money, by displaying his talent on the field.

But if a club told him that he's not guaranteed a spot in the Top 17, then he may just look elsewhere.

I'm not convinced this was about money.

True.

But I don't think it's unreasonable to assume that a young bull like Utoikamanu wouldn't make fuss over $30,000 at this stage of his young career, because he would back himself to fetch more money, by displaying his talent on the field.

But if a club told him that he's not guaranteed a spot in the Top 17, then he may just look elsewhere.

I'm not convinced this was about money.
They should certainly be able to offer more opportunity, which should also mean they would have more cap space to throw at him. At least in theory.

Did all this animosity stem from Stephano f**king Utoikamanu - a bloke who, while a big talent, is totally unproven at First Grade level, and decided to cut and run to another club, rather than dig in, train hard, and prove he can force his way into our 17????

This is madness - Utoikamanu is gone after 2020. Let us all just come to terms with that, please!!!

On Cumb throw they reckon he is bo2ling guys over in training and a smokie for bench spot

$30k is a lot of money to a kid that age.
Hell, it’s a lot of money for me and I’m twice his age.
For those players on over half a million dollars a year it may not be much, but for someone earning only $100k-$150k it makes a huge difference.

Over 3yrs it's nothing.
Long term being at a successful club makes you look like your worth more money. Best buys can be found from average players at bottom clubs. Not great players in top clubs.

I think the lesson we've learnt is to not pay overs retaining good juniors. Plenty of them don't turn out as good as we thought they might. If one slips through the cracks it's still better than overpaying them in hopes they turn into stars

It sucks to lose him.
But we have Jnr and RCG for next 3yrs.Thats quality.
I feel Evans and Alvaro take the bench.

We then have Kafusi,Hollis and Hughes coming through the ranks. Let's say all made first grade along with Stefano then we would have to chose 2/4. That is after we cut Alvaro and Evans who are both solid NRL players.

For all we know O'Neal I talked to BA and asked feedback. BA may of said I want Kafusi and Hollis and make those priority. They will be my bench in 2021 and NRL ready.

If you read TCT......who isn't training well or an excellent prospect?

I should clarify that my post above about TCT is not having a shot at them. Just pointing out that it is an overwhelmingly positive site, and its content should be interpreted in that light.