Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

I 100% agree. I never said we should give up on our juniors, i said we can’t solely rely on them just because we have a big pool to choose from.
I was talking about hindy111 saying we have all these young blokes, and some new squad depth, that we could choose from instead of going to market to replace Brown. Imo with all the depth we have we do not have a ready made replacement.
Roosters and Storm barely have any juniors and they get through just fine. Its all good management.

Brown will end up like Hindmarsh imo the way he fizzled out.

I feel like Niakuore and Papali'i would both be good enough to take the role on. I wouldn't be surprised if Cartwright forced his way into the 13 also which pushed Matterson or Lane to lock.
And again Hollis and Hughes might be ready. Block their path and they will sign elsewhere.

75% is silly. It won't make any difference if there is 75% or 100% if there was an outbreak. The stadium would still be very dense.

I bleed blue & gold

Brown will end up like Hindmarsh imo the way he fizzled out.

I feel like Niakuore and Papali'i would both be good enough to take the role on. I wouldn't be surprised if Cartwright forced his way into the 13 also which pushed Matterson or Lane to lock.
And again Hollis and Hughes might be ready. Block their path and they will sign elsewhere.

I would love if any of the possibilities came to fruition. I really would.
I do not think the two your fellas are ready, mate. If they wanna leave and go elsewhere like Keppie or Stefano, goodluck. Their clubs are gash.

I bleed blue & gold

I like producing juniors. But I count unearthing guys as a junior also. We wanted Mahoney,Stone,Niakuore,Sivo. Their clubs didn't.
And I would also say putting faith in lower tier signings like Gutherson,Papalì isn't far off producing a junior either. Yes we know they are NRL level. But most never thought they would be as good as they are. Hardly big name signings at the time. Id say excellent talent spotting.

I find buying already made stars a bit boring. But every club does it at times. You have too.

So that is our balance. I reckon it is a great balance. Some big names, some juniors, some unearthing off other clubs talent and some guys needing a 2nd chance.

You have to, to balance the cap.

BA doesn’t mind a cheapie option.

You have to, to balance the cap.

BA doesn’t mind a cheapie option.
33hats2_xl.jpg

Joshuatheeel

Jayden Su’a would be handy replacement for Brown and come cheaper, and with his best years ahead of him

He is an edge player.

I reckon Marata is the replacement if Nrown leaves. Marata has been slowly developing over the last few years and is heading towards the age where middles start to peak. He will have close to 80 games at the end of this year, perfect amount of experience.

He is ready for a starting spot and probably his next contract will want to be paid as one.

He showed last week he is fairly mobile and aggressive perfect for the lock role.

Then we can either hope Hollis / Hughes fill the bench spot or go to the market.

Additionally a lot could depend on Cartwright too, if BA can get him to reach his potential he wouId want a pay rise. Plus that means Lane probably moves to the bench.

so:

RCG
Mahoney
Paulo
Cartwright
Matterson
Marata

Bench:

papa
Kafusi
Lane

back up
Hughes
Hollis
Stone
Kp

That’s a pretty decent pack. Probably need another experience cheap middle/edge back up

So you think Nrown will still be playing for Australia at 30 and NSW at 31......

He gives a lot to game. The guy plays so physical. Your body can only take so much mate.
He could defy it. But is there a huge risk if we didn't keep him cause he wanted 700k? We can spend it elsewhere. The risk is worse he signs for 3yrs and we are stuck with him with a spent body ....

Glenneel

I like producing juniors. But I count unearthing guys as a junior also. We wanted Mahoney,Stone,Niakuore,Sivo. Their clubs didn't.
And I would also say putting faith in lower tier signings like Gutherson,Papalì isn't far off producing a junior either. Yes we know they are NRL level. But most never thought they would be as good as they are. Hardly big name signings at the time. Id say excellent talent spotting.

I find buying already made stars a bit boring. But every club does it at times. You have too.

So that is our balance. I reckon it is a great balance. Some big names, some juniors, some unearthing off other clubs talent and some guys needing a 2nd chance.
I would say that if we didn't buy RCG we wouldn't have performed as well last year (and this so far) when compared to say having Alvaro there in his stead.

Just regarding future juniors, pencil in Miles Martin, a rangy lock, in SG Ball I think. A Ray Price type of player imo and if stays consistent will definitely be an high quality NRL player.

I am shocked no one agrees re Brown. Geez I must be watching a different game.

ps suck shit Manly and Chooks.
I think there are a few who agree. But many are just fixated on the supposed 4th tackle thing.

I recall alot of people getting all uptight about resigning Gutho a while back too. Thankfully we got that one sorted out - and it was a good job from the club to not just fold and give in .... hopefully we can get Brown signed aswell.

I think there are a few who agree. But many are just fixated on the supposed 4th tackle thing.

I recall alot of people getting all uptight about resigning Gutho a while back too. Thankfully we got that one sorted out - and it was a good job from the club to not just fold and give in .... hopefully we can get Brown signed aswell.
Tell him to get f**ked then give him a cuddle.