parra pete
Surprised David Furner, Matty Elliott names haven't been mentioned for the Wests coaching position..
He and Drown have absolutely had media training. Always “I love this club but it might be nice to play somewhere else one day”Well he and his bestie have playing together as one of their goals.
Clubs without juniors recruit where the juniors are. Why would they do otherwise? It's not like we can stop them. Can you imagine someone trying to tell @hindy111 he can only do electrician work in his local area? Sydney is a big place with a lot of people selling hand wired amplifiers, and a lot of NRL clubs competing for Sydney local juniors.
I'm sure we already have options for 2023, including re-signing Arthur's. I'd say there's no chance we will go into the pre-season without our 2023 coach sorted.It’s not what the players demand, it’s them knowing what the future holds so they can make a decision.
Eels - Drown/Gutho/Mahoney/Paulo/Marata/papa, we really want you to sign for 2023, here is our offer.
Player - who is the coach?
Eels - don’t know, haven’t decided
Player - when will a a decision be made
Eels - soon
Player - If BA isn’t staying, who is the club looking at
eels - don’t know
player - well I wouId at least like to know before deciding on my future for the next 3 tears
eels - we will let you know soon
player - well I have a really good offer and I need to decide in the next 2 weeks. I really want to know who the coach is
eels - a decision won’t be made in 2 weeks. Does it really matter if you don’t know who the coach is ? J
player - FFS
If madness to think the club will be able to re-sign players without confirming the coach.
Who from our club is responsible for hiring these merkins?
Seriously, that would only happen in a serious way at a crappy club, with weak management, a weak roster and a history of going from one bad coach to another. We are none of those things now. Our management should easily know how to play this. Don't be a sucker to the click bait of the media. Learn to think for yourself and know when you have a strong hand to play.
In other words we are a mansion on the hill with a great many bedrooms with ensuite bathrooms for everyone to have their own, multiple living areas, and entertainment rooms, including a theatre room, Jacuzzi and large swimming pool at the back with massive BBQ area and a tennis/basketball court. As for the over the top modern kitchen, well the players never have to enter it because the live in 24 hours chefs never stop making meals. Oh and I nearly forgot, cleanup is a non issue due to the live in maids and laundry personnel that take care of your every need.
That is the type of shiny bauble we are at the moment and our management should be making sure the players and their managers know it too. If they're not they're not doing their job properly.
It's not about shedding anything, it is about being able to bring in the best people to the organisation - the same people that are in demand at other clubs. There's nothing holding us back that needs to be scapegoated, but rather something missing that we need to get the better staff. Maybe we just need to spend more, which means we need more funding. We are quite stable and attractive to sponsors these days so the PLC's lost income should be offset somewhat by increased sponsorship revenue. But clubs with private owners will be thriving these days, because rich merkins have all increased their wealth during the pandemic. Clubs owned by entertainment venues, not so much.Yeah thanks mate. I get it. We have been at it for a while now. When do you think we will shed the mediocrity?
I didn’t say it was an unreasonable demand but who the coach is is something outside the players purview so yes it’s a demand.Demand? It’s about knowing who your “future boss” is….the direction of teams playing style….etc etc
You really reckon players don’t care about who the coach is?
additionally why wouId we even want to re-sign any of our players without the input of the new coach if BA is moved on….gee how professional is that. Not giving the new coach the option of putting his own squad together.
direction for 2023 needs to be determined ASAP….
If we're an elite club doesn't that mean Maguire should be able to win a premiership here?
This truism has been wrong for well over a decade. The four NRL clubs left in the finals all spend plenty on junior 'development' (poaching), ever since the likes of Brian Smith showed them the way over 20 years ago.Hell the competition shouldn't be all that hard to get better people in since so many of our NRL clubs have and do neglect this side of the game as we all know and just try and buy their way out of trouble.
Club | Titles since 2012 |
---|---|
Penrith | 2 |
Cronulla | 1 |
Easts | 1 |
Manly | 1 |
New Zealand | 1 |
Souths | 1 |
Wests | 1 |
Parramatta | 0 |
---|---|
Penrith | 2 |
Wests | 2 |
Canberra | 1 |
Cronulla | 1 |
Easts | 1 |
Illawarra | 1 |
Parramatta | 1 |
---|---|
Newcastle | 3 |
Parramatta | 3 |
Manly | 2 |
Cronulla | 1 |
The only thing we have in common with the 'junior nursery' is geography. We don't own any of the players. Plus there are clearly diminishing returns in recruiting too young or the likes of Penrith, Souths and Easts would have won a Harold Matts title in the past ten years.We are one of the strongest junior nurseries in the league that I am sure if we resourced it right and asked some of the better operators to be part of, they would jump at the chance.
But but but that’s all we can afford apparently………. We just don’t have the money to match with the top clubs. Just need to face facts. BA forever!!!coming to think of it, Parra is not desperate at the moment... so they wouldn't be hiring a crappy coach.
Demand? It’s about knowing who your “future boss” is….the direction of teams playing style….etc etc
You really reckon players don’t care about who the coach is?
additionally why wouId we even want to re-sign any of our players without the input of the new coach if BA is moved on….gee how professional is that. Not giving the new coach the option of putting his own squad together.
direction for 2023 needs to be determined ASAP….
He also has win a premiership with the Eels as a goal
Nope. I see them about the same.You don't think 2021 Eels are a better side than 2019/2020 ?
Surprised David Furner, Matty Elliott names haven't been mentioned for the Wests coaching position..
BA’s ability to develop players and identify “cheapies”……and a footy GM managing the financial side…How on earth did we get to be as good a roster as we are? Witchcraft?
Mahoney and Moses’ form as well as the addition of Papali’i make this side way better than 2020.Nope. I see them about the same.
Of course I was just guessing mate. I was responding to your post that said:Now you are just guessing.
I'm sure if we were to eventually replace BA it would be with someone the players would be happy with. If we were to go with a junior coach, Ciraldo would be at the top of the list at this point. If an experienced coach, Flanno is my pick of who is available right now.
And the drop off by Sivo, N Brown, D Brown (in attack, defence always good) and Lane plus Opacic for most of the year instead of Mennings makes the side about the same.Mahoney and Moses’ form as well as the addition of Papali’i make this side way better than 2020.
It's not about shedding anything, it is about being able to bring in the best people to the organisation - the same people that are in demand at other clubs. There's nothing holding us back that needs to be scapegoated, but rather something missing that we need to get the better staff. Maybe we just need to spend more, which means we need more funding. We are quite stable and attractive to sponsors these days so the PLC's lost income should be offset somewhat by increased sponsorship revenue. But clubs with private owners will be thriving these days, because rich merkins have all increased their wealth during the pandemic. Clubs owned by entertainment venues, not so much.