Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

At the end of the day - How hard is it to kick a ball? With an off season of practise I am sure Gutherson would be fine

Joshuatheeel

At the end of the day - How hard is it to kick a ball? With an off season of practise I am sure Gutherson would be fine

I reckon a lot of players that make it into an NRL 25 squad would be able to kick pretty decently, it's just putting it to practice in a high pressure NRL game ( e.g. making a kick with 3, 100 kg plus forwards, sprinting to you, ready to put you on your back/arse).

Along with putting it into right place, not out on the full / dead / straight to the winger/fullback. This all comes with a lot of practice.

Noise

I reckon a lot of players that make it into an NRL 25 squad would be able to kick pretty decently, it's just putting it to practice in a high pressure NRL game ( e.g. making a kick with 3, 100 kg plus forwards, sprinting to you, ready to put you on your back/arse).

Along with putting it into right place, not out on the full / dead / straight to the winger/fullback. This all comes with a lot of practice.

I think he is talking about goal kicking. And I tend to agree with him. It is certainly a skill that can be learnt. Even I can pot one over from the corner on occasion and I do f**k all kicking

I came onto the site for a bit of footy chatter in the off season and all I get is 2 kids in kindergarten having a hissy fit in the sand pit over who has the dump truck.
As adults (I think) I'm sure you can do better, maybe see who has the bigger dick or who can piss higher up the wall!

That's what happens during the season....

In the off season everyone is off refining their arguing skills and don't really want to give too much away.

Yeah I'm sure all the 80% goal kickers just needed one off season to get that good.

TBH I think we glorify our NRL players a little to much. Half the players are just big blocks of muscle who are super fit that run forward. A guy pops and offload and he is a superstar.
Go back I the 90s and guys with the Skill of Bryce cartwright was common for lots of forwards. Unfortunately most nowdays are much the same. Hit up tackle and wrestle.

Why are teams so convinced a half has to kick? I am surprised coaches haven't found other guys in the team that play other positions that can kick well. You teach a guy like KE a short kicking game and Manu for example and you have an element of surprise.

Obscene Assassin

TBH I think we glorify our NRL players a little to much. Half the players are just big blocks of muscle who are super fit that run forward. A guy pops and offload and he is a superstar.
Go back I the 90s and guys with the Skill of Bryce cartwright was common for lots of forwards. Unfortunately most nowdays are much the same. Hit up tackle and wrestle.

Skill of cartwright? Do you mean doesn't want to run hard, overplays his hand in attack and horrible in defence? I'm glad that we've moved on from that.

I came onto the site for a bit of footy chatter in the off season and all I get is 2 kids in kindergarten having a hissy fit in the sand pit over who has the dump truck.
As adults (I think) I'm sure you can do better, maybe see who has the bigger dick or who can piss higher up the wall!

You're critising the standard of here compared to there?

It's been heaps worse than this.

Although, I wish Bigfella would come back and liven things up a bit.

Skill of cartwright? Do you mean doesn't want to run hard, overplays his hand in attack and horrible in defence? I'm glad that we've moved on from that.

More exciting to watch, also keep in mind bulk of last season was playing in halves.

Why are teams so convinced a half has to kick? I am surprised coaches haven't found other guys in the team that play other positions that can kick well. You teach a guy like KE a short kicking game and Manu for example and you have an element of surprise.
Plenty of halves wouldn't even be in first grade if not for their kicking. Everyone else has so many demands on their running and tackling that their time is wasted practicing kicking the ball.

Soren Lorenson

Chris Sandow wants to come back to the NRL. We need an established half with a kicking game. Who knows his manager's phone number???

But seriously, does anyone think a club will go there? Dragons?

Noise

Chris Sandow wants to come back to the NRL. We need an established half with a kicking game. Who knows his manager's phone number???

But seriously, does anyone think a club will go there? Dragons?

Dragons have already come out and made a statement saying they are not interested