Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

How would it be beneficial?

Isn't it dependant on personnel/ system to use the extra possession to score the points?
It's easy to say 'just flop it out the back', but that's not a magic bullet....
I'm not saying it is a bad thing - just the fallacy is that 'we don't offload enough, and teams like the Dogs do it all the time and score hjeaps' - but the Dogs do it the same amount we did, and stink in attack anyway.

Clearly offloads is only one plank in a program of improved attack. Flopping the ball out the back on its own isn't helpful. If it is well structured and used judiciously then I can't see how generating second phase play wouldnt be anything other than beneficial.

If someone drops the pill when trying to offload is that really second phase play?

Stevie

One of our best tries last year against saints was from a great offload by mannah to get it going...
Half these tries aren't scored if it wasn't for benvan -Worth a watch

A couple of comments on that video.
Geeze he is a good player.
But boy Michael Jennings looks like he enjoys watching the kid. A few of those tries MJ is the first one there and looks generally besotted with the bloke. Great to see.

Glenneel

Eels averaged 11 offloads a game in 2016, the dogs also averaged 11. Sharks only averaged 1 more at 12 offloads a game.

Regarding our attack, are you able to tell me how many games our first choice spine combo ( 1, 6,7,9) played together last year ? Compared to the first choice combo for the Sharks / dogs?
I cannot believe that offloading stat for Parra. Regardless of that I said that our attack was poor before we had all our problems, the only player missing was probably Foran.What do you say about that Joshua?

oldmancraigy

Clearly offloads is only one plank in a program of improved attack. Flopping the ball out the back on its own isn't helpful. If it is well structured and used judiciously then I can't see how generating second phase play wouldnt be anything other than beneficial.

If someone drops the pill when trying to offload is that really second phase play?

So I guess we're saying kind of the same thing? It's not necessarily the offload which automatically improves the attack (the fallacy) - it depends on the attacking system itself.

Give Luke Kelly clean second phase ball on every tackle, and he'll still throw most of them to the fans won't he?!?

NRL club chairmen walk out as Todd Greenberg and John Grant backflip on funding

FOUR club chairmen have stormed out of a fiery meeting with NRL bosses after a breakdown in negotiations over future funding which threatens the worst split in the game since Super League.

Canterbury’s Ray Dib, Cronulla’s Damian Keogh, Melbourne Storm’s Bart Campbell and the Cowboys’ Laurence Lancini all walked out after 15 minutes.

They met at a nearby hotel to discuss their next move.

Those club bosses also have the support of Roosters boss Nick Politis, who is overseas but left them with his proxy vote.

Seven chairmen from other clubs remained in the room.

In a dramatic day at the NRL’s Moore Park headquarters, chief executive Todd Greenberg and commission chairman John Grant reneged on a deal done last year to fund the clubs 30 per cent more than the salary cap each year.

They told the chairmen that all previous agreements had been scrapped and they were now working on a new strategic plan on how to spend the $1.8 billion TV deal.

There was talk after the meeting that clubs would now issue a vote of no confidence in Grant as chairman of the commission.

The chairmen met recently with the NRL and could not agree on any of the 12 points on the agenda.

All 16 clubs end their participation agreements with the NRL next year, which has led to talks of a rebel breakaway group.

The NRL will shortly release a statement on the meeting.

http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sp...g/news-story/f179f5411c61bda478d1e7723fc13658
So they are over in England on a 3 week Junket only to return to renege on a deal they agreed to a year ago. It's f**king amateur hour, this is after they rushed through and f**ked the TV deal last year just so that bearded f**kwit could keep his job.

The commission has been a massive failure and besides pissing off Gallop have done nothing to improve the game whatsoever.

So they are over in England on a 3 week Junket only to return to renege on a deal they agreed to a year ago. It's f**king amateur hour, this is after they rushed through and f**ked the TV deal last year just so that bearded f**kwit could keep his job.

The commission has been a massive failure and besides pissing off Gallop have done nothing to improve the game whatsoever.
I reckon its not necessarily the worst thing that they have changed direction on whatever was discussed before, but they then front this without any alternative sorted out to present

I just dont know wtf these twits have contributed .... I dont mind the bunker, I think it mostly works ok and is a good concept - but its really just a glorified video referee from pre-bunker days, nothing earth shattering

Obscene Assassin

Has anyone heard from RLW47 recently? Haven't seen the big fella post for a while. Maybe he only posts when a new issue of his favourite magazine is out? Please RLW47 if you're out there get in contact, the mole is worried about you.

I, unlike a lot here and elsewhere, have been disappointed by Moeroa and his lack of offloading. We had a team of forwards (except for Ma'u, Edwards and Gower when picked) with no offloading skills and no variety. Just bash and barge footy, not very pretty to watch and not that effective.

BA has addressed that by bringing in 3 forwards (not Matagi) with offloading skills. Along with a lot of skills training in the pre-season I expect the forwards to play a much more exciting brand of footy this year, all we need now is for the forwards to be supported and hopefully our attack will improve as much as our defence did last year.
So does the fact we brought in new players with the required skills mean that those skills aren't as easy to teach as merkins seem to think?

Obscene Assassin

I just dont know wtf these twits have contributed .... I dont mind the bunker, I think it mostly works ok and is a good concept - but its really just a glorified video referee from pre-bunker days, nothing earth shattering

They spent a few million on that too, to come up with the idea that the video refs need more and larger screens. They took a "learning" holiday in the states.

I reckon its not necessarily the worst thing that they have changed direction on whatever was discussed before, but they then front this without any alternative sorted out to present

The problem is they rushed through and botched(IMO) the last TV deal so they could do this rushed deal with the clubs. It was only done so that bearded Twat faced merkin could keep his cushy job. No one does anything for the good of the game, all the while grass roots is continually neglected and expansion is just about dead and buried. But hey beardo and the Tood had a great 3 week trip.

He's an irritable tosser. Hopefully he's all good health wise but.
Don't agree Baz, I always enjoyed his contributions and thought he was a funny bugger. Maybe just because i agreed with quite a bit of what he said.

Don't worry mate you're right up there as well :sunglasses: