Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

You can not change the physical size of a player and the leg drive and how fast they accelerate.
Moimesea has tiny calves and looks thin. He has no leg drive at all or power.
Mataele and Morretti I've seen a couple of times. Very big boys who have raw power. They have the physical element to become NRL players if their attitude and other parts of game develop.
Moimesea I just don't think has anything to work with. I hope I am wrong.
Momoisea is a backup. Moretti isn’t even a backup. Mataele is a future first grader at the least. He could play Origin.

Errors can be fixed I think don't you? Physcoal size won't change. But you've seen more of him then me so probably a better judge.
On weekend
Morreti made 127 Mrs and 49 PCM
Moimesea made 35mtrs and 9 PCM.

According to stats 50 mins each
Moretti played in the middle so was able to get more involved. Momoisea was outside Brendan Hands, getting nothing.

He was. But really what is he meant to say? Perhaps he could be a bit more neutral. He does overhype a lot of players but he is dedicated and I can't say anything negative towards the guy as he puts a lot of effort into what he does for free.

I try and use his posts to get a sense of which players train hard or have put on size etc. Plus I reckon seasoned NRL players wouldn't try and impress as much in training drills so it's possible guys like Moimesea do stand out as they are going 100% vs Jnrs 75%
Sixties is focusing on the positives, as you’d expect from a fan. Why focus on the negatives when we can’t change them? All we have is hope.

Such a typically disingenuous argument - but then again, all defence counsel need to do is create doubt in the prosecution and you are a tremendous defender of everything Arthur!

For the record, I'm not personally throwing the baby out with the bath water after one loss.

However, even you know that if Makatoa was too much of a plodder to be trusted with fifteen minutes in a round one game then he shouldn't have been picked in the first place.

BA selected him - but then didn't trust him as a relief middle.

It's not even like he is a debutante, as he was a regular in BA's eyes most of last year.

It's this frequent and repeated inability to manage his bench that has many worried about our coach - but I suspect you know that and can actually see the point, yet refuse to do so publicly as it will damage your steadfast and heroic defence of the coach.
I’m sure there’s better coaches than Arthur. I just don’t think it’s any of us. Arthur might’ve been keeping Makatoa to rest Hodgson or Hopgood, but was never required. We don’t know the plan just based on what we saw. If-then contingencies rely on the occurrence of the if-statement. If you had any experience with this sort of planning/strategy you’d know that you need to run a large number of tests before you can know if it’s effective or not. Arthur’s record over a large number of games tells me he probably knows exactly what he’s doing.

I think he has plenty to work with. He’s tall and I reckon it’s less “he’s got small calves!”, more that he’s quite lean but of mostly muscle, from what I’ve seen he isn’t super slow and he apparently (although see below cause I have doubts) has a good motor.

The “highlight” of his debut though was a tired arm to hit Meaney(?) high after he was on field for about a minute. That’s shithouse application. Wouldn’t matter if your Addo-Carr fast or NAS big or have Kikau’s skill set, if you’re struggling to focus on the basics after a minute, that’s almost a write-off in itself. Benefit of the doubt because he’s a rookie, but he’s on thin ice.
He looks pretty quick for a forward, but yes, possibly has zero footy brains.

Given a shortened pre season for most and much was nuffy V nuffy maybe it was easier to stand out. The quality of our 2s was there to see on Saturday.
Two thirds (actually ten seventeenths) of that 17 was our threes. The only top thirty players were:

Loizou
Arthur
Makatoa
Rodwell
Momoisea
Rein
Ogden

Edit: got some pedants here today

Surprised the media has taken that angle tbh.

Would have thought they would be having a field day about how incompetent we are for not getting the deal done already.
The media just wants conflict mate. Whether we hate the club or the coach or the players, the media is happy as long as the fans are looking for somebody to blame. They’ll be selling heaps of ad space with this. The worst thing is that the Moses family are trying to use it to their advantage.

Delboy

Imo it was a fair penalty.
He placed the ball before rising which is and was always a penalty and behind the tackler, Hodgson moved back to marker the ball was touched. You can’t place the ball while still on the ground and almost a deliberate act to gain an advantage ( oh, it’s the Storm, they wouldn’t do that )

Now imagine if that had happened to Penrith, you may have a different opinion! As this one was wrong.