Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Steady their old mate. BA made him the player he is. He was released by the Dogs as a junior and we made him basically on the brink of becoming an origin player but it wasn’t to be because of an injury he sustained.
I Always questioned why he didn’t run the ball. Now we know. He was predictable when he played for one long pass after another unless he kicked from dummy half. He’s now running and I blame the coaching tactics.

emjaycee

I Always questioned why he didn’t run the ball. Now we know. He was predictable when he played for one long pass after another unless he kicked from dummy half. He’s now running and I blame the coaching tactics.
What would Rheed running the ball have done to help us win the GF last year, because him not running it is what helped us get there in the first place mate?

So I watched yesterdays 100% Footy and for once Gus Gould made a good point. Apparently both Luai and Edwards are free to talk to other clubs from 1 November and he was asked who the priority should be. He said, Luai because halves are more difficult to come by and that Penrith are flush with fullbacks, centres and wingers coming through.

Assuming that happens do we make a play for Edwards? He is the type of player BA likes and would suit our structure especially if Gutherson is either moved on after this current contract or moves to the centres.

Edwards is 27 and would be Gutherson’s age now (29) in 2025 assuming we have to wait that long. I’d only do it if we could get him a year early. If not I’d try and buy a specialist centre/winger and another prop.

DaveMc

So I watched yesterdays 100% Footy and for once Gus Gould made a good point. Apparently both Luai and Edwards are free to talk to other clubs from 1 November and he was asked who the priority should be. He said, Luai because halves are more difficult to come by and that Penrith are flush with fullbacks, centres and wingers coming through.

Assuming that happens do we make a play for Edwards? He is the type of player BA likes and would suit our structure especially if Gutherson is either moved on after this current contract or moves to the centres.

Edwards is 27 and would be Gutherson’s age now (29) in 2025 assuming we have to wait that long. I’d only do it if we could get him a year early. If not I’d try and buy a specialist centre/winger and another prop.
I rate Edwards very highly, but I’m not sure how he’d go outside the Penrith system. And that’s not a knock at all, I think he suits their gameplan perfectly, but I’m not sure he would slot in nearly as well here, or anywhere else.

I’d be looking for an upgrade on our current outside backs and another strong prop over another fullback. Funnily enough, after never really rating him while he was with us, I reckon we’re missing Kaufusi a bit. Another player of his ilk, and preferably a bit above him, would be really handy.

I rate Edwards very highly, but I’m not sure how he’d go outside the Penrith system. And that’s not a knock at all, I think he suits their gameplan perfectly, but I’m not sure he would slot in nearly as well here, or anywhere else.

I’d be looking for an upgrade on our current outside backs and another strong prop over another fullback. Funnily enough, after never really rating him while he was with us, I reckon we’re missing Kaufusi a bit. Another player of his ilk, and preferably a bit above him, would be really handy.
Curtis Sironen could be turned into a good prop.

Soto

Sirro is a 2nd rower or ball playing lock.
He would be a good pickup. Get his brother too.
I would seriously go hard for Connor Treacy. Excellent pace, versatility and could be the perfect 14 or fill in at 1-6 and 9