Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Soto

They were talking about Jenkins from Penriths reserves being a gun. Unfortunately someone else has signed him already (knights). I think MON was still trying to get The Panthers phone number so cant offer any blame there.
He's nothing special...on par with what we have already..I'm glad we didn't get him as we would be expecting too much of him but doesn't have that much more to his game than the incumbents and next blokes in line...we need an established 1st grader or absolute young gun ready to rip it up who's not getting a go in 1sts

Hindmarshisgod2

Tbf, bushy does run his ideas past the team, so I guess they all were part of the make your own way to the game decision.

Anyhow, I reckon we're cursed. And I'm serious. You cannot choke the way we have in the past and been rorted either by bad ref decisions or cheating teams just by bad luck. There is no balance. We have only had bad luck.....I never believed in the supernatural, but as I get older, my eyes are opening.

And if you think I'm a nutter, read up about the socceroos and their curse....

This was about the prep for the GF last year.
No training on the ground prior, no closing ranks and going into camp and no catching the bus to the game...the treat is as another game was an epic fail and it showed...
Fail to plan, plan to fail...
We could’ve done all that stuff and still lost. The most likely reason for our poor performance was backing up from Townsville, which Gould predicted prior to the preliminary final result. If catching the bus to the game was the magic bullet, everyone would do it.

JokerEel

Tbf, bushy does run his ideas past the team, so I guess they all were part of the make your own way to the game decision.

Anyhow, I reckon we're cursed. And I'm serious. You cannot choke the way we have in the past and been rorted either by bad ref decisions or cheating teams just by bad luck. There is no balance. We have only had bad luck.....I never believed in the supernatural, but as I get older, my eyes are opening.

Bloody which doctors!

Soto

Get Safran on the case now...Accor and SFS please...actually all the fkn grounds lol

T-Boon

I certainly dont want to go to a game where there is no kicking but kicking needs to get back to a skillful art rather than the crap house bomb set after bomb set offence we have now.

I think a touch footy ball would bring that forward.

emjaycee

Contributing factors and yep u guessed it penrith did all the above showing they were much better prepared
They are only seen as contributing factors because we lost. If we had won then the same activities would have been contributing factors to the win.

Not every team that wins the GF does these things, so the importance of them probably shouldn't be overstated just to meet some other agenda you may have.

Soto

They are only seen as contributing factors because we lost. If we had won then the same activities would have been contributing factors to the win.

Not every team that wins the GF does these things, so the importance of them probably shouldn't be overstated just to meet some other agenda you may have.
Lol...no worries champ. Basic fundamentals but suit your own narrative and agenda.

emjaycee

Rugby League should switch to a touch football footy. Promote slick passing and attacking kicks and demote negative kicking (bombs and directionless down towns).
Who is with me?
They are mate and I have posited this before (when the NRL bought Oztag).
The longer term strategy is to move to a version of Oztag and thus remove the risk of head injuries and concussion law suits. It's the long game of the NRL without a doubt.

emjaycee

Going into camp, training on the field prior and catching the bus to the game.
Wow keep defending BA for his epic eff up.
Are you on the payroll too?
I'm not defending BA for anything mate.
I just dont agree with your childish assertions that those three things are fundamental to professional footballers winning a game of football and that they made any difference to the 2022 Grand Final result.

Soto

I just dont agree with your childish assertions that those three things are fundamental to professional footballers winning a game of football and that they made any difference to the 2022 Grand Final result.
Lol...childish. they are facts not childish assertions. Poor preparation in the lead up and the game was lost before the Eels ran out. It wasn't another fkn game it was a GF
Please get over yourself mate and asserting yourself as being the authority on Eels and Rugba Leeg...other people hang on your every posts but not me mate...

Michael Jordan Lol GIF by ESPN

84 Baby

Lol...childish. they are facts not childish assertions. Poor preparation in the lead up and the game was lost before the Eels ran out. It wasn't another fkn game it was a GF
Please get over yourself mate and asserting yourself as being the authority on Eels and Rugba Leeg...other people hang on your every posts but not me mate...
Have you ever played a GF? Some players are better treating as life or death and some as treating as any other game.

Soto

Have you ever played a GF? Some players are better treating as life or death and some as treating as any other game.
I have. A few actually. Thanks for asking though. I know we did extra training during the week. I remember my coaches telling us it's not another game. It's special being in GFs. It's not another game.