Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Incorrect

He is assistant coach at the cowboys this year ..... should we put some coin on em?
I've thought for a while now that he would end up making a great coach one day.... We shall wait and see I guess...

It's interesting, he had come back to Sydney and agreed to do some part time work with the Roosters but ass soon as the Cowboys/Payton found out he was available and looking for a chance, they offered him an assistant gig straight away. He's obviously held in high esteem by plenty of knowledgeable footy minds....

King-Gutho94

his GF winning attributes began with us when he captained our Reggies to a GF win.
Cant help bad luck we let him go for Brett Finch. Who was punted 4 weeks into the following season.

Almost similar to Willie Tonga being let go and Jamie Lyon walking out after 1 game in 2004 while Tonga went on to win a premiership for QLD & Australia in one season at the Dogs.

lucablight

Maloney is just a winner.

Has there been a place he went too where it wasn't successful.

Warriors made a GF, Roosters & Sharks won premierships.

You could argue Penrith benefitted from having him there for 2 years while he missed out on all the success.

I am sure that winning mentality he installed in 2018/2019 helped drive the dynasty in past 4 years.
Parramatta

Cant help bad luck we let him go for Brett Finch. Who was punted 4 weeks into the following season.

Almost similar to Willie Tonga being let go and Jamie Lyon walking out after 1 game in 2004 while Tonga went on to win a premiership for QLD & Australia in one season at the Dogs.

Jamie Lyon was an epic f**k up.IMO he was up there with Hindmarsh and Hayne as far as best players we've produced.

Cloeel

I've thought for a while now that he would end up making a great coach one day.... We shall wait and see I guess....

My uneducated opinion is -

He seems to wear thin wherever he goes; after a few years. He has a big personality.

However there is no doubt there is a certain finesse about him that is conducive to the success he and the teams he has played for have had.

I look forward to seeing how he transfers these successes from his playing career into his coaching career.

then Finch won a comp...

obviously Hagan didn't rate Maloney enough.

King-Gutho94

Jamie Lyon was an epic f**k up.IMO he was up there with Hindmarsh and Hayne as far as best players we've produced.
Yep its a shame he probably would have been what Gutho is to us now.

Brian Smith had plenty of falling outs with players who went on and had successful careers.

For all Brian's strengths tactically his man management left a lot to be desired and seemed to prefer yes men he could manage and control over especially in the leadership.

no one really knows the dynamics of what occurred back then but one things for certain, Cleal had his grubby paws all over it.
I think it's a big reach to imply that the whole thing was a gambit for Cleal just to get Lyon to play for Manly...

Bottom line, Lyon left us (justifiably if some stories of what went on are to be believed) for Wee Waa, then had a deal at St Helens where he excelled, and then after doing his "time" (that he would have been under contract with us) was free to sign with the highest NRL bidder.

84 Baby

I think it's a big reach to imply that the whole thing was a gambit for Cleal just to get Lyon to play for Manly...

Bottom line, Lyon left us (justifiably if some stories of what went on are to be believed) for Wee Waa, then had a deal at St Helens where he excelled, and then after doing his "time" (that he would have been under contract with us) was free to sign with the highest NRL bidder.
My issue with that is whatever “caused” him to leave were likely there the season before (which would have given us time to try to keep Tonga), or in preseason (which would have given us time to try to salvage a season better) or training the week before round 1 (which would’ve at least given us better prep for that f**ken disaster). Regardless of reasons, his timing was a weak gutted dog move.

I'd be looking in the direction of coach Smith for timings... and am not so sure the reasons would have been there the season before.

Agree totally Tonga would have been a wise retention andwas disappointed when he signed elsewhere... but not many rosters can carry three starting-level centres (Lyon, Vaeliki and Tonga) and afford to leave one out each week.

he wasn't the most endearing coach we ever had..

I reckon you can make a up a decent team of blokes that couldn't cop him as a coach.
My mate who has quite a bit to do with a heap of former players, has run into quite a few former Eels. They disliked playing for him, he was either loved or hated and not much inbetween. And as you have said there was a lot of talent that just couldn’t cop him.

King-Gutho94

My mate who has quite a bit to do with a heap of former players, has run into quite a few former Eels. They disliked playing for him, he was either loved or hated and not much inbetween. And as you have said there was a lot of talent that just couldn’t cop him.
I would imagine getting heaps of text messages playing mind games with the team a night before a game wouldn't help.

One of Mums family friends got married the Saturday of the 2001 GF weekend.

Nathan Cayless was supposed to be in the groomsman party but had to pull out because of the GF a day later.

My mum got told years ago that Cayless and co were getting hammered with text messages the night before the GF from Brian just about rubbish or trying to pump up the players.

No wonder we looked nervous wreck at the start. You don't need the coach bombarding you with messages a night before a major game.