Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

FWIW I think Blaize will be exposed like that delicious Portuguese bird on the weekend. At least he should be if Manly play well. DCE is no fool so he, Turbo and coach will have done their homework and seen how undeveloped and not NRL ready the kid is and will have or at least should have cooked up a game plan or two to stretch and strip our numbers out wide, especially when we tire and can't scramble quick enough to cover the unfolding play.

What I would have done is put Asi in and had him and Brown train all off season in different scenarios of interchanging between centre and 5/8th. Asi is by far the most talented and NRL ready back cover we have for cover. So we needed to make sure that if we were ever in this predicament and everyone but blind Potates could see that it was a real possibility since we have so little outside back depth, that they and the whole team were familiar and ready for it. Like Cooper Cronk says, to fix a weakness you train till you are dreaming it in your sleep and it becomes instinctive and second nature to you.

But no, instead what we have is lets throw in a junior that is weak and hesitant in traffic under the high ball and not a powerful body by NRL standards for the collision both in attack and defence and against one of the fastest if not the fastest and most powerful teams in the league. Sure he maybe a great talent of the future, but he isn't ready now and I fear we will be handed our arses come Sunday and the poor kid will sadly be a significant contributor towards that outcome.

I don't blame the kid, Potates should know better.
This did not age well. You OK Rammy ? All jokes aside you must have liked what you saw ?

Glenneel

Saw the W-T game and a few observations.
Their D has improved from previous seasons particularly when for the first 20 mins Cronulla had over 60% of the ball. They scrambled well and defended the edges well also.
Their attack comes from Galvin and Koriosau who was brilliant and gave a 15 out of 10 performance in first half. Need to be viligent when he has ball otherwise will cave us up. Seizer has a good kicking game and that is about all.
Need to lock the ball up to stop offloads.
Bula their fullback is good and elusive and we'll need to defend well against him.
Should be a good game and will test us being down on troops.

Stevie

Saw the W-T game and a few observations.
Their D has improved from previous seasons particularly when for the first 20 mins Cronulla had over 60% of the ball. They scrambled well and defended the edges well also.
Their attack comes from Galvin and Koriosau who was brilliant and gave a 15 out of 10 performance in first half. Need to be viligent when he has ball otherwise will cave us up. Seizer has a good kicking game and that is about all.
Bula their fullback is good and elusive and we'll need to defend well against him.
Should be a good game and will test us being down on troops.
If we are fair dinkum we will put them to the sword with a barnstorming performance from our forwards and Dyl and Guth to be in their element.

oldmancraigy

If we are fair dinkum we will put them to the sword with a barnstorming performance from our forwards and Dyl and Guth to be in their element.

Let's be fair, we don't have a great kicker in the halves. So the territory game will be in their favour. It will mean they have more attacking chances.
Perhaos we need to be a bit conservative at times and open up in the backend of each half.

84 Baby

I feel as long as we can limit the damage Korisau does (he can still do a lot against us), Staines & Tupou can break us but Tigers aren’t Smugs or Manly in getting to the edges, so I expect this game to be played right up the middle on both sides. That means kicking game will be a decent factor so Drown and Lussick need to be on

Worth a listen to the short anecdote that 60’s shares on the lastest TCT pod about Blaize during the off season when they were doing a full contact game.

He was FB and Sivo was charging down the touch and Blaize jumbled him up in that quintessential fullback tackle into touch. Another time Sivo was running straight at him, Blaize ran towards him and Sivo ran over him and scored, but with Blaize wrapped around his chest and ball. Gutho ran to Blaize and gave him huge praise.

Worth a listen to the short anecdote that 60’s shares on the lastest TCT pod about Blaize during the off season when they were doing a full contact game.

He was FB and Sivo was charging down the touch and Blaize jumbled him up in that quintessential fullback tackle into touch. Another time Sivo was running straight at him, Blaize ran towards him and Sivo ran over him and scored, but with Blaize wrapped around his chest and ball. Gutho ran to Blaize and gave him huge praise.
Why listen if you just told us what they've said? Thanks for the summary.

King-Gutho94

Did we need to call a priest for Blaize like the chooks had too with Tedesco when sivo ran over him.

Gazzamatta

I reckon its about time you became TCTs Special Guest Gronky.
Ya gotta be a million times better than Spiro buddy. 😁

Gazzamatta

I wouldn't mind starting my own podcast. @Therwhat do you reckon? Just the two of us. The odd special guest from on here.
I've tried listening once to that spiro. Not my cup of tea. I enjoy 60s training reports.
Go for it mate. Id pay to listen to you V Gronky. Money to be made dude.