Explain Panthers with Kenny and Tigers with Korisau.
Kenny is very underrated. Best defensive hooker in comp, has developed a run game. He isnt Harry Grant but he is in the top half around nowdays.
Explain Panthers with Kenny and Tigers with Korisau.
I agree and I also think Harry Grant has been pretty average this year. Despite the fact I cant stand him, I really think he is overrated at times. I'd take Api in a second over Harry.Kenny is very underrated. Best defensive hooker in comp, has developed a run game. He isnt Harry Grant but he is in the top half around nowdays.
As others have said, if we can jag a good dummy half, a forward leader, (we simply don’t have one. RCG is the closest thing to a forward leader) and two outside backs, we look a different side in my humble opinion.I get the clean out thing. But FFS we won't have a team if they all go. We don't even have a NSW Cup team right now.
I reckon you just pretend it doesn’t exist and carry on building your squad. Then if something goes wrong and the player needs to activate the option you deal with it when it happens. As I said, Welch did his ACL in round 20 and still took up his option. It didn’t seem to hurt Melbourne’s salary cap considering they won the comp the following year.One thing with player options. If you are waiting until Round 10 for a player to take it up, rather than knowing they are going back in November, you have less time to look for a replacement. That’s a definite disadvantage.
Talagi’s PO didn’t keep us in limbo. We assumed he wouldn’t be taking it. Then it expired and he still didn’t decide on his future until months later. The PO had nothing to do with it.That’s not the point. The point is the player gets extra time to keep us in limbo - we can’t plan ahead for losses. I get they can have some salary cap advantages but once your performance goes to shit, they exacerbate the issues.
Here’s what I think. In the hands of a skilled operator, player options are a useful tool. But MON seems to be anything but a skilled operator and has used them as a lazy negotiating tactic.I reckon you just pretend it doesn’t exist and carry on building your squad. Then if something goes wrong and the player needs to activate the option you deal with it when it happens. As I said, Welch did his ACL in round 20 and still took up his option. It didn’t seem to hurt Melbourne’s salary cap considering they won the comp the following year.
I reckon they just took it easy over the off season. Morale would be pretty low as well. At full time of round three it was looking good. Then we lost Moses, threw away the Tigers win, and then just capitulated for several weeks. It doesn’t say much about our leadership group.Gould doesn’t think our ‘aging squad’ is an issue. Reckons that most players at that age are still close to their peak and halves are just approaching it.
Well I don’t think we can buy our way out of this. We need to get the players we have performing better, which would be why we arseholed the coach. Ryles’ job will be to prepare them for 2025, and we can replace merkins in 2026 when their contracts expire.I was exaggerating but even of all the ones who played in GF, who cares? They’re currently presiding over us 50/50 getting another spoon, so we need to look if they are going to improve us in future or not. Currently I have Lomax, Moses, Hopgood and maybe RCG but cost is pushing that. I’ve got high hopes for Guymer, and I think Hands can fill a role. That’s 6 of 17 at best I have any confidence of improving us. Where do you propose we just buy the other 11?
How many Parramatta teams since 1986 have been in the top three defensive sides?How many team in the last 20-30 years who were outside the top 3 defensive teams have won the premiership in that year?
I think the quality of our external recruitment will match the amount of cap space available for new recruits each year. Just like at every other club.We don't have Gus at Parra mate who has done all the heavy lifting in assembling that squad. Remember we have The Glacier. We won't be signing the likes of Kikau, Mahoney, Crichton, Xerri, Addo-Car, Burton or even the widely anticipated from next year Utoikamanu any time soon mate.
I feel Lomax is going to be the last great signing and a fluke signing at that for a while. The bleeding on the field needs to stop first before players start to see us as a quality and viable option for them to advance their careers. Which will be very hard for a rookie coach without any runs on the board to do without a Gus like figure in his pocket to reach for and do the necessary hard yakka selling of a sh*t club to star players and in particular to their managers.
Never underestimate the power of a Glacier to sink even the most mightiest of ships.
Well I don’t think we can buy our way out of this. We need to get the players we have performing better, which would be why we arseholed the coach. Ryles’ job will be to prepare them for 2025, and we can replace merkins in 2026 when their contracts expire.
Yeah you’re right. Look at 2018. We sacked the coach and still struggled for years afterwards. No sorry, we kept the same coach, brought in MON and made the finals for four straight years, something our club hadn’t done since 2002.Yes you are probably right, but every off season that passes without improving our roster will only put us back at least 2 more seasons. It will be hard enough as it is getting things right from here on in with just fixing fitness, attitude and good coaching that will stimulate the players into responding positively as it is. Waiting for for the off season and a blow up or two between both Ryles and The Glacier, well then if Ryles is successful in getting him moved on, who will be his replacement and will he be a quality heavy hitter that can hit the ground running and has gravitas in the game?
Remember we are vying for the spoon mate. This has a massive baring on how players and their managers see us. We need to make all the right noise quickly or we will be faced with the same undesirable moniker as the Tigers and the Dogs before Gus got there to fix the joint up to be the current new success story of the NRL and most importantly a go to destination for quality players and their managers.
Forgive me but after years of failure I don't have enough confidence in our management to get things right, let alone very quickly.
The time is very much ticking on our club and every day that passes with negative press and a lack of quality leadership in so many areas means we are nailing more nails into the long term coffin we are lying in. We need to get out of that made to measure coffin now before it is to freakin late.
Most of us older fans have seen this movie to many times before and it never ends well. Eventually every other player, manager and club ends up sticking a stake through our heart and we are done for a decade or so. I hope this doesn't end up being like those times, but I am fearing it may just end up that way.
Unless they can unearth an unexpected gun HOF from God knows where, I hope they quickly realise the enormity of the situation we are in and bring in Brian Smith to do that role.
But I know it will never happen.
Our attack isn’t the problem ffs. Last year we were fifth in the NRL for tries scored. We are similar this year with Moses on the field. Our problem is our defence. That’s got nothing to do with all your shit about creative hookers and whatnot.@TheRam Building a good football side is like this.
It all starts with a creative hooker. They will touch the ball the most and need to know when to spread it.
You need a mix of experience and youth. The experience will keep things calm but moving in the right direction especially in wet conditions whilst the youth will add energy and joy. Keeps things fresh.
Your halves dictate the play. They need to know when to run and must have a good touch.
On the outside you need speed and power whilst in the middle you need a few workers who can go all day. They will plug the holes.
And whoever is at the back is equally important. They could have 2 or 3 people cuming at them at once and have a split second to take the tight option, I mean right option. Whoops.
I need a glass of water to cool down.
Right now we have about 12 star fish who have one move and one move only. Chase the collision.
How many team in the last 20-30 years who were outside the top 3 defensive teams have won the premiership in that year?
2001, 2005, 2007 from memory and in those years we were terribly unlucky not to have won a comp. All great sides.How many Parramatta teams since 1986 have been in the top three defensive sides?
Our attack isn’t the problem ffs. Last year we were fifth in the NRL for tries scored. We are similar this year with Moses on the field. Our problem is our defence. That’s got nothing to do with all your shit about creative hookers and whatnot.
This isn’t the place for f**ken jokes ffs!!It was a joke.
Penaut
Brian Smith managed it 6 times in his 10 year stint.How many Parramatta teams since 1986 have been in the top three defensive sides?
He’s about as creative as Adam SandlerKenny is very underrated. Best defensive hooker in comp, has developed a run game. He isnt Harry Grant but he is in the top half around nowdays.