Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Dragons in for Carney
By The Mole
September 21, 2016

THE DRAGONS have targeted Todd Carney as the man to breathe life into their attack in 2017.

According to L’Independant Carney and Dave Taylor have officially been released and are free to pursue opportunities elsewhere.

The Dragons, who pursued Carney back in 2011 before he linked with the Sharks, are believed to be extremely interested in the 30-year-old’s services and are set to meet with him and his management when he touches down in Australia later this week.

Carney was sacked by the Sharks for misconduct in 2014 and the NRL would need to approve his return to the competition before any agreement with a club is reached.

The Dragons view the Dally M medal winner as a great potential partner for club captain Gareth Widdop in the halves. The only hesitation from the club’s point of view is not his off-field behaviour but rather his health.

Carney has managed just 26 appearances in two seasons for the French Super League outfit. And the Red V will require the playmaker to undergo an extensive medical before any deal is reached.

The Dragons officially shot down rumours that the club is interested or pursuing troubled playmaker Kieran Foran but did confirm they will do all they can to re-sign young gun Luciano Leilua.

The club recently acquired Rabbitohs hooker Cameron McInnes and Titans flyer Nene Macdonald for 2017.

http://rugbyleagueweek.com.au/drago...d=778402254793474048&adbpl=tw&adbpr=236216311

Fanbase

Dragons in for Carney
By The Mole
September 21, 2016

THE DRAGONS have targeted Todd Carney as the man to breathe life into their attack in 2017.

According to L’Independant Carney and Dave Taylor have officially been released and are free to pursue opportunities elsewhere.

The Dragons, who pursued Carney back in 2011 before he linked with the Sharks, are believed to be extremely interested in the 30-year-old’s services and are set to meet with him and his management when he touches down in Australia later this week.

Carney was sacked by the Sharks for misconduct in 2014 and the NRL would need to approve his return to the competition before any agreement with a club is reached.

The Dragons view the Dally M medal winner as a great potential partner for club captain Gareth Widdop in the halves. The only hesitation from the club’s point of view is not his off-field behaviour but rather his health.

Carney has managed just 26 appearances in two seasons for the French Super League outfit. And the Red V will require the playmaker to undergo an extensive medical before any deal is reached.

The Dragons officially shot down rumours that the club is interested or pursuing troubled playmaker Kieran Foran but did confirm they will do all they can to re-sign young gun Luciano Leilua.

The club recently acquired Rabbitohs hooker Cameron McInnes and Titans flyer Nene Macdonald for 2017.

http://rugbyleagueweek.com.au/drago...d=778402254793474048&adbpl=tw&adbpr=236216311
he will do good for stgeorge, just what they need

Forty20

It also helped those 3 got over's for 5 years and are now happy to play for a little less. They are still profiting of their cheating IMO and will continue to do so till those stains on the game are gone. And their nut job coach.

No arguments from me there mate, Melbourne put themselves nearly an entire decade ahead of the competition (setting Smith,and Slater up for life) with how well they rorted the cap and how little they copped for it. I guess you could say the quality of their cheating was reflective of the standard to which they operated their club - just like with Parramatta.

Sad but true mate.

Yep. The salary cap is all about risk management. There are guys that you can bank on for consistent performances (be it on a spectrum of great to average) and they are paid accordingly but if you want to stay ahead you need to be able to hit with some regularity on those bigger gambles.

The Storm, you can argue, are the exception that proves the rule. They can afford to take far more risk-averse recruitment decisions because they have fielded an Immortal-tier hooker, a borderline Immortal-tier halfback and an arguably over-rated but still outstanding fullback. It is a club setup that probably won't be seen ever again.
Yep, the teams at the top don't really need to take big risks because the status quo benefits them more than weaker clubs.

The other way to get an advantage is by timing contracts so that you're getting the most value out of the most players at the same time. Obviously this requires good luck as much as good management.

It also helped those 3 got over's for 5 years and are now happy to play for a little less. They are still profiting of their cheating IMO and will continue to do so till those stains on the game are gone. And their nut job coach.
They got their overs but they were still free to chase bigger money when they came off contract. I suppose their loyalty to the Storm came from somewhere, and it might've been the money. Or maybe inertia kept them there.

lingard

Even if we got Hunt, I still think we lack in the backline. That's where the Hoff might be great for us in utility value.
Between Gutho/Semi/Taka/Jennings they all have injuries in their past (as most players do) and our next off the plate are pretty depressing.
BTW If we did get hunt I reckon that pushes Taka to bench and Gutho to centre. Although I think its great to have your best 13 on the paddock I just don't think Gutho is a winger wheras he is a pretty good centre.

I think Gutto's best position is centre; and Hoffman prefers to play fullback. I'm still not 100% convinced about Bevan French at fullback - he might be great, he might not.

Pazza

Hoffman at fullback would do me in.

You think Gordon's playmaking was bad. This bloke has a complete inability to pass the footy.

lingard

Yep, the teams at the top don't really need to take big risks because the status quo benefits them more than weaker clubs.

The other way to get an advantage is by timing contracts so that you're getting the most value out of the most players at the same time. Obviously this requires good luck as much as good management.

Which is why it is extremely difficult to get a team of honest, hard-working $300,000 players all at the same time. Which is why most clubs need at least one star or superstar in order to win the comp.

Joshuatheeel

Which is why it is extremely difficult to get a team of honest, hard-working $300,000 players all at the same time. Which is why most clubs need at least one star or superstar in order to win the comp.

I would argue neither Sharks or the raiders have a real superstar but a bunch really good quality NRL players.

Really?

Barba, Gallen, Maloney, Fifita, Graham, Bird are rep quality players. Valentine Holmes is a superstar of the future and pretty close now.

Hodgson is a rep player, the best hooker in the game on form, absolute superstar. Leilua, Croker, and Rapana are in superstar form and could easily play rep football. Papalii is a rep player, so is Whitehead.

The thing both these sides did is build sides that may not have an absolute "best in the game" in their position, but five or six guys who could be talked about as being in the second best tier of players, many of them identified early. I think BA is taking a similar approach.

Stevie

Well good news if true, but geez, oh geez I hope he isn't pencilled in to play fullback as reported. I think he'd be awesome on the wing with French at fullback.
Personally I think the idea of swapping fullbacks in attack and defence is rubbish.

Stevie

The more I think about it though. I think Hoffman will play wing but be first on standby to cover Taka and Jennings who can be known to pick up and injury.

TBH I'm surprised the Hoff found us an attractive proposition. Yes we are on the up and a 3 year deal provides job security, but there is no guarantee that he will be playing FG or if he is, in his preferred FB position.

Gee he provides us with wonderful 1,2,3,4,5 depth though.