Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Gutho to centre next year, put your house on it.
As much as merkins criticise our outside backs, I think we might have too many to fit in the top 17.

1. Iongi
2. Sivo
3. Penisini
4. Simonsson
5. Lomax
6. Drown
7. Moses

I'm not convinced Gutherson is a better outside back than Sivo or Simonsson. Yes he's a better footballer, but his strengths are his work rate and footy brain. These aren't as useful in the outside backs as they are in the spine. I reckon Sivo and Simonsson are both more explosive than Gutherson, and this is what's needed at wing and centre. Gutherson's strengths are wasted at centre. He is better suited to the spine, which should include the 'middle half' role that many teams use.

Glenneel

Their strike rate is about as good as me at Chardies on a Friday night.
Mate, you're so pissed you can't tell the difference between the trannies and the real girls. The trannies know you're not gay and you're too old for the girls so just keep looking.

Glenneel

As much as merkins criticise our outside backs, I think we might have too many to fit in the top 17.

1. Iongi
2. Sivo
3. Penisini
4. Simonsson
5. Lomax
6. Drown
7. Moses

I'm not convinced Gutherson is a better outside back than Sivo or Simonsson. Yes he's a better footballer, but his strengths are his work rate and footy brain. These aren't as useful in the outside backs as they are in the spine. I reckon Sivo and Simonsson are both more explosive than Gutherson, and this is what's needed at wing and centre. Gutherson's strengths are wasted at centre. He is better suited to the spine, which should include the 'middle half' role that many teams use.
Gutho is a defensive rock and would fix the defence on whichever side he plays. Just needs a good preseason learning the trade there. And yes he is not that explosive but we need better D out wide!

lucablight

2009 is an outlier. If it was that easy to replicate, Daniel Anderson would’ve had a longer career. If you’re expecting lightning to strike a second time you’ll continue to be frustrated. Has the great Wayne Bennett ever taken a mid table team to a grand final in all his years of coaching? Daniel Anderson got very lucky, and so did the Storm on grand final day.
I agree it’s an outlier. Unlikely doesn’t mean impossible though.

Given we finished the season in 8th, I would say we were the 8th best team in 2009.
Just because we made it to the GF doesnt improve our overall ranking after 24 rounds... semi's are basically a different competition which only the 8 best teams throughout the year get to play and with a little bit of luck, any of the 8 teams get through to the GF, and some may even win it on the day.

Not true. Teams can have soft draws, injuries, no luck, lots of luck. Whilst sides can slowly gel and click come end of year.
We where the best side in 2009 once we gelled which took half a season.

Gutho is a defensive rock and would fix the defence on whichever side he plays. Just needs a good preseason learning the trade there. And yes he is not that explosive but we need better D out wide!
I've shared my opinion on our edge defence. The edges are put under pressure when the middle doesn't hold up. Look at how many breaks are made by wingers compared to through the middle: https://www.nrl.com/stats/players/?competition=111&season=2024&stat=30

It's not because every team's edges are full of poor defenders. It's because that is where the one-on-one contests and overlaps (one-on-zero) occur. If we fix our middle, the edges will be fine.

oldmancraigy

1. Iongi
2. Sivo
3. Penisini
4. Simonsson
5. Lomax
6. Drown
7. Moses

Footy talk involving a personal opinion?!?

Love it! More pls.

It will be very interesting to see what the 2-5 is for next season. Sivo was brilliant the last couple of weeks, but leaves me unconvinced he can be a FG winger from a defensive frame of reference. There will always be that fear in the back of the mind (replaced by wild confidence when he gets the ball 10m out)

It will be interesting to see if Gutho can add any weight to his frame to play through the middle. I think you're spot on as to his possible role next year. We shall see

I agree it’s an outlier. Unlikely doesn’t mean impossible though.
Sure, but it does mean you shouldn't expect it. Wayne Bennett has been coaching since 1987 and has never gotten a team into a grand final with fewer than 14 regular season wins. Bellamy hasn't done it either in over 20 years. Interestingly, that 14 win grand final season was 2009.

Joshuatheeel

I've shared my opinion on our edge defence. The edges are put under pressure when the middle doesn't hold up. Look at how many breaks are made by wingers compared to through the middle: https://www.nrl.com/stats/players/?competition=111&season=2024&stat=30

It's not because every team's edges are full of poor defenders. It's because that is where the one-on-one contests and overlaps (one-on-zero) occur. If we fix our middle, the edges will be fine.
And thus Gutho's mobility, work rate and fitness, would be better suited to the middle for us.......if he isn't playing a spine position...

Stevie

1. Iongi
2. Sivo
3. Penisini
4. Simonsson
5. Lomax
6. Drown
7. Moses

Footy talk? Posing some questions for discussion.

f**k me, more of this please Pou.