Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Like I said - there is a need for these same two to perpetually defend BAs legacy, simply to ensure that they can claim to have been right in their staunch defence of the BA era these past two years

in some respects I reckon they are secretly hoping we miss the eight next year to justify that it had nothing to do with BA being there too long, but rather we are just an under resourced club with no luck and institutional failure.
Nobody has said that, however your faction DID want us to get the spoon this year. It was stated on this forum.

Every day you are throwing petrol on the fire, fanning the flames and then blaming others for the fallout. Then having the hyde to call others trolls.

This is not Desperate Housewives of League Unlimited, FYI.

84 Baby

Having breakfast watching the today show this morning.

I couldn't help notice on the sport report that the poor old wallabies got beat again over night.

This Suaalii revival that was supposedly going to superchange success for Rugby in Australia lasted what 1 week.

Maybe some of those union clowns spilling there loads over a few tap on passes can get back under the dooner again.

I think PVL will be strutting around with a little wry smile again this morning.
There was a point the commentators were talking up his aerial ability after he competed for a kick, attempted to tap it back but had air swing

84 Baby

lol the media were trying to talk up them winning the grand slam after beating a woeful Wales team. Not even the top sides of the late 90's could do that. This Wannabe's team is barely bundy cup level.
To be fair they gave it more of a crack than I expected. And to be fair I think Suaalii is big part of that. But I also think that shows just how far even international union has fallen behind league

TBH I’m not sure why NRL fans have the upsets with union right now. I think PVL stirs them up and they take the bait.

Tiger5150

No, I asked you to clarify your position. You're so happy with our recent recruitment yet haven't even seen how well they'll go.
FzzEU1_acAMoRfQ.jpg

Implying it’s always a bad thing is doing the same thing but in the opposite direction.
That’s right. It illuminated the absurdity of the statement. Like when someone says “No matter what, the club did the right thing”, the best response is “No matter what, the club did the wrong thing”. Both claims are absurd, but it’s the second one that shone a light on the first.
You were right the second time when you said it can be good or bad.
I wasn’t trying to be right the first time.

Like I said - there is a need for these same two to perpetually defend BAs legacy, simply to ensure that they can claim to have been right in their staunch defence of the BA era these past two years

in some respects I reckon they are secretly hoping we miss the eight next year to justify that it had nothing to do with BA being there too long, but rather we are just an under resourced club with no luck and institutional failure.
If we make the eight, how will that say anything about Arthur’s tenure? We made the eight under him too, about half the time. Since 2019 after the club got some stability in the front office, it was more than half the time.

Winning footy matches is a team endeavour, and the coach isn’t the only thing we are changing next year. The roster has had a significant turnover, like it did after 2018. That led to significant improvement, without even changing the coach. I’m certain if we had sacked Brad Arthur after 2018 you would have attributed our massive improvement to that instead of the roster clean out. And in hindsight we know you would’ve been wrong because we kept the coach and improved massively anyway. The same thing could’ve happened next year.

I’ve never said we shouldn’t replace Brad Arthur. If the board believe they’ve found someone better then I trust them. It’s their call, and they know what the club needs. Certainly better than any of us do. But they didn’t sack him because he was a shit coach. They kept him for so long because he was pretty good.

Nobody has said that, however your faction DID want us to get the spoon this year. It was stated on this forum.

Every day you are throwing petrol on the fire, fanning the flames and then blaming others for the fallout. Then having the hyde to call others trolls.

Faction??? lol wanker words as usual.

Yeah peoplethat thought the coach was well past his used by date and needed to go?? Looks like the board are part of that faction as well. The Huggers faction is finally much smaller and much more sadder.

Legal Eel

Ridiculous comment about the spoon, nor is there any faction.

still fighting political battles.

the simple fact is that Ryles has been proactive and I think he has started his tenure well - and he has shown the limitations in BAs approach, which in my opinion shows BA should have been let go at the end of either 2018, 2020 or 2023 and someone else would have done better things with this squad

I have a different take on Pou, at least.
I don’t think he defends BA for the sake of defending BA.
For the most part, his underlying claim or foundational view is the club (as a collection of ever changing individuals within changing power, financial, and organisation dynamics, as opposed to some continuous and unchanging entity) hold knowledge and expertise that us merkins do not. And any views that we hold are formed from a position of inferior knowledge and expertise.
He will argue against what he perceives as arguments made without all knowledge and facts, and without accountability, as well as what he perceives as lazy or simplistic or reactive sack-the-coach ‘arguments’.
In addition to that, he states regularly that resources (money plus other things like location, connections, management etc) and luck play a big part in success.
He clearly likes to make those arguments, draws on stats to support those arguments where he can, and will argue his point(s) tirelessly and in a way that some will not like.
In essence, and assuming I’ve got it right, his foundational claim is right and is an easy position to defend; no one here has the necessary inside knowledge and/or expertise. Luck plays a part as do resources.
But obviously that doesn’t mean he’s always right in every instance or isn’t guilty of making false assumptions; it’s possible for others to have information, expertise, or just see the obvious (BA was stale and needed to go) and still end up being right, despite the absence of all inside information.
Additionally, stats don’t tell us everything (I don’t think he’s ever said they do), can be misused (a claim made against him), and premierships are not all or predominantly won on luck (which he hasn’t said either).
And clearly, despite always having more and better information, the club can still make the wrong decisions and can mismanage whatever resources are at their disposal.
I get his point of view (for the most part) but don’t see the point in arguing at length details I may differ with, even if I think they are wrong.
Anyway, I think he might have said in one of his many posts, but after the fact, BA needed to go.
And I don’t think he wants us to fail or not make the top 8.
ffs merkin are you my alt?!?

Yes Arthur needed to go, in the end, but merkins had been making that claim since 2018. They were wrong then but they were right this year. The only definitive proof he needed to go was the fact the club sacked him.

They did indeed want us to get the spoon. They also think winning the preliminary final in 2022 was bad for the club. These same losers project their own attitude by claiming we want the club to fail under Ryles, as if we support coaches rather than the club.

Every statement has implications for other statements. That’s how logic works.

Which is why when I say you can’t judge the club’s decisions without having all the information they’re using to decide, I get “So you’re saying no matter what, the club did the right thing?”

The key takeaway by my detractors is that I’m defending the club, no matter what. The assumption is that I believe all their decisions are great. That’s an incorrect assumption, but a reasonable one for a bunch of frustrated dopes who want someone to blame for every loss. Which is why I get variations of “So you’re saying…” and another valued opportunity to clarify my position and restate my opinions.

the simple fact is that Ryles has been proactive and I think he has started his tenure well - and he has shown the limitations in BAs approach, which in my opinion shows BA should have been let go at the end of either 2018
Arthur was also proactive after the disastrous 2018 season, which was the last time we lost most of our games. If we hadn’t been so poor there would have been no need to burn it all down, just as there wasn’t a need after the 2019-2023 seasons.

Faction??? lol wanker words as usual.

Yeah peoplethat thought the coach was well past his used by date and needed to go?? Looks like the board are part of that faction as well. The Huggers faction is finally much smaller and much more sadder.
Ridiculous comment about the spoon, nor is there any faction.

still fighting political battles.

the simple fact is that Ryles has been proactive and I think he has started his tenure well - and he has shown the limitations in BAs approach, which in my opinion shows BA should have been let go at the end of either 2018, 2020 or 2023 and someone else would have done better things with this squad
No factions. It you guys not us. Nice try losers.

sally kohn gaslight GIF by The Opposite of Hate