Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

You are right, it was the players stupidity that cost poor Brad.

this has Seymour Skinner vibes
Were the players good in 2022 and poor in 2024? The fact is we can see the players failing. We have no way of knowing how much their success or failure is down to coaching because it's not evident on the field. So blaming the coach is letting the players off the hook.

if they have kids that are say, 12 to 18 and still at school, the peer group mostly follows NRL and go to the footy with their mates, then they start to follow the footy and their local team as it is part of their new culture. These people would be first generation "converts" and when they mature they produce second generation NRL fans/players
Like the Delpechitras ffs!

chiefy1

Were the players good in 2022 and poor in 2024? The fact is we can see the players failing. We have no way of knowing how much their success or failure is down to coaching because it's not evident on the field. So blaming the coach is letting the players off the hook.

The coaching system was a failure especially the wide defensive structures. Even in 2022 season teams like Souths embarrassed Brad's defence and he's never fixed the issues.
Brad was just an ordinary coach, who got along well with the players who tried hard for him, but when the shit hit the fans- brad had no answers. His 30% finals record proved that ba was a very ordinary coach. He's only ever beaten bum teams in finals games, and had one good win against the cows who've done nothing since.
Brad's efforts based collision based style was never going to win huge games.
Also the bs plan he had in relying on nuffie rejected players hogging development positions in reserve grade was ridiculous. It was all planned by arthur to buy him time, as in his eyes risking developing players in first grade may have cost him his Job.

TheRam

You can't appeal the High Court merkin

Here you go merkin.

Also I just read this from your own link merkin...

E The High Court Decision​

After the Full Court of the Federal Court had overturned the original decision of Justice Finn, News Ltd was granted special leave to appeal to the High Court. By a majority of four to one (Gleeson CJ, McHugh, Gummow, Callinan JJ; Kirby J dissenting), the decision of the primary judge was restored.

1. The Majority Gleeson CJ commented on the organisation of sporting competitions, noting that, like most sporting competitions, both the Super League competition and the Winfield Cup run by the ARL were, of their nature, exclusive as they were not open to any club which wished to join the competition.[34] Thus, if a greater number of clubs wished to compete than competition organisers were willing to accept, exclusion was inevitable.[35] His Honour also pointed out that rugby league was only one form of sporting contest that competed for the attention of the public[36] , and that the need for the united competition was based on commercial reasons.[37]

Glenneel

The "facilities" metric which Souths nabbed is because of the Heffron Park COE. It looks big, but part of THEIR funding model is that it is a community facility and must be shared with the people of SE Sydney. So, much of the indoor space is common.

The eels COE is funded differently.

View attachment 97657
Eels COE also sharing with community. There appear to be 2 distinct sides with probably one side just for Eels and other side for community.

Glenneel

I'd say the game changed and BA failed to adapt. More mobile forwards became the new metric and we had the big, slower forwards. Also he had huge holes in the roster where the priority was the forwards at the expense of the backs. The backs were so neglected that he bought Morgan Harper in which everyone knew was a poor player. Also the roster had huge holes such as insufficient backs, insufficient speed and no cover for several positions such as fullback, winger, centre and the halves (did I miss any position?).

With Ryles that has been corrected with coverage for ALL positions along with speed. Defence is now a priority and hopefully manifests itself on the playing field. Fix our defence and we become competitive and with our ball playing forwards we should be very good in attack. Due to the above I highly doubt we'll be poor next year (hopefully).

Glenneel

Talking about coverage for positions I've listed the positions below with players for each position (only players in top 30 listed). Other players are available from development list (able play from round 1) and lower grades with approval of NRL.

Fullback: Iongi, Papalli, Lomax
Winger: Dunster, Papalli, JAC, Lomax, Russell, Simonsson
Centre: Simonsson, Papalli, Russell, Peninisi, Lomax
Halves: Moses, Brown, Hawkins, Papalli
Middle: Hopgood, Ofanengaue, Paulo, Moretti. Matterson, Tuivalti,
Lane, Greig, Williams
Edge: Cartwright, Williams, Tuilagi, Moretti, Doorey, Matterson.
Lane, Mataele, Guymer
Hooker: Hands, Lussick
Development List: Kautoga, Keir, Pryke, Richard Peninisi

King-Gutho94

I cant wait for Ryles era to officially start.

You can already feel the buzz talking to other Parra fans even outside of this forum how pumped everyone is for a big season.

The sun is slowly peaking through those gloomy clouds that have been hovering over for a while.

While there was sadness & disappointment of losing Gutho & RCG who are club legends i think the positive & ruthless decisions made will make stronger long-term.

I never thought one of the dumbest front rowers i saw play in the mid-2000s could be the coaching saviour for this great club.

Do you think we’d have Gutherson instead of Iongi and RCG on the books if Brad Arthur was still the coach? If your answer is yes then it absolutely does say things about the differences between the coaches.
Arthur has moved players on before, including Tim Mannah who Arthur initially kept as co-captain after Stuart gave him the captaincy in the final three games of 2013.

We announced this year that we wanted to replace Gutherson at fullback, while Arthur was coach, and it later came out that we wanted to use Talagi there. This explains his selection at fullback in reserve grade to start the year.

But even if it was going to be harder to convince Gutherson, Sivo and RCG to f**k of while Arthur was coach, it doesn’t say anything about his coaching ability. It just means his relationship with them was getting in the way of roster management, not that he couldn’t coach. In fact after 11 years in the NRL he would be a better coach than when we signed him. He’s certainly not too old.

Ricky Stuart deserves credit for the 2002 premiership. He had the Roosters playing very well that season. The Knights were just a better team than the Roosters in 2001. Murray also got a relatively average Cowboys side to a grand final against a much stronger opponent (ironically against Parramatta). Brad Arthur never achieved any upsets of that magnitude during his coaching career (although he came very close in 2021 against the Panthers).
[/QUOTE]
The difference between a two point win and a two point loss is just a bounce of the ball, a borderline referee decision or a key injury.

King-Gutho94

The type of narcissist Ricky is he didnt deserve the luck that fell his way in 2002.

Graham Murray harshly was flicked in 2001 despite making the finals after getting the Chooks to the GF in 2000.

Andrew Johns did his back in week 1 of the Finals of that season which ruled him out of the finals.

Back then Knights couldnt win without Joey. Its a shame this injury didnt happen 12 months earlier.

The Bulldogs were kicked out of the comp with 2 rounds to go they were runaway minor premiers and were going to win the comp over the cap. Yet again if they were caught 6 months like Melbourne in 2010 then Ricky never wins a premiership.

Then they got the Warriors on GF day now no disrespect to that warriors side.

But i reckon DA overachieved with that side who most had never played in a GF before.

With all those freakish things could occur in a 6 week period he lucked in.

The Roosters probably should have won in either 2003 or 2004 they were more dominant in those years then 2002 but lost on GF day.

Legal Eel

Also nothing that happens next year will say anything about Brad Arthur's coaching. The 2025 squad is quite different from this year's squad, just as 2019 was better than the 2018 squad.

To achieve more than Arthur, Ryles will need to win the comp. And if he does it in his first year he will be up there with Hagan and Stuart for rookie premiership winning coaches. Did Stuart's first year at Easts prove that Graham Murray couldn't coach?
You really know nothing.

the squad is different and poised for success BECAUSE of the change in coach.

Only an imbecile would deny that - I don't believe you are an imbecile but you appear determined to out yourself as such.

Legal Eel

Sounds like a conversation had by the Gadigal peeps 200+ years ago.
No, it doesn't.

Sounds more like a post written in 2024.

Just out of curiosity, exactly how many conversations amongst the Gadigal from 200 years ago were you privy to?

Keep covering yourself in Champagne socialist woke glory every chance you get.

T.S Quint

I may be misreading you, but you appear to be waiting until next year before you enjoy "laying the boot in"?

Each to their own I suppose.
Plenty of boots to go around, if you choose to wait I'm sure you won't miss out.

I’m not really one for boots.
More of a thongs guy.