Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Love how he fails to mention we were having Ron Massey cup players playing when Bareett was our coach yet we were still performing better.
The squad was so much inferior when Barrett was coaching the team. However competing at a better standard and more enjoyable to watch than the early part of the year.
In any case I'm looking forward to this year under a new coach, regime, ideas, tactics and a united team.
Go Eels 2025
Playing RMC players in first grade is what the smart clubs do mate.

Love how he fails to mention we were having Ron Massey cup players playing when Bareett was our coach yet we were still performing better.
Well you failed to mention we played easier opponents, so don't go throwing stones. These are all reasons that comparing small samples like this is apples and oranges. But don't kid yourself that Barrett is a better coach than Arthur's. Their coaching records over very large samples tells the story better than the two half seasons you can barely remember.

emjaycee

I like Moretti and hope he ends up a 100 game player, but realistically, is he any better than say Ray Stone?
IMO, there is probably a little bit of over enthusiasm on this site of late, in regards to him.

Lemon Squash

I like Moretti and hope he ends up a 100 game player, but realistically, is he any better than say Ray Stone?
IMO, there is probably a little bit of over enthusiasm on this site of late, in regards to him.
Yes I think he is.

Loved Ray but realistically very one dimensional player with the ball and full of errors. merkin could hit like a train though.

Moretti is no star but he is aggressive, has good leg speed around the ruck and can pop an offload. Has always reminded me of a young Nathan Brown.

Can be a very handy player for us.

84 Baby

That’s because you thought Momoisea was the next SBW!!!!

King-Gutho94

Stone was a better defender but Moretti has a higher ceiling imo.

Moretti was unfortunately part of that Covid player drain where he had no quality footy for 2 years.

He was 20 when covid hit which meant those 2 years he couldnt develop more then say someone is 20 now and can get a full season of cup.

I always like players that bring energy to the contest they might make the odd mistake but when there going at 100 miles an hour that's going to happen.

That's what it looks like with Luca. You need one of those in our team and I reckon it's no coincidence since Nathan Brown left our forward pack has looked lethargic lacking spark/energy and the results have been on the decline.

Its why Shaun Lane cops a lot of flak is because his body language always looks poor and unenthusiastic he would rather be anywhere else but on the footy.

Well you failed to mention we played easier opponents, so don't go throwing stones. These are all reasons that comparing small samples like this is apples and oranges. But don't kid yourself that Barrett is a better coach than Arthur's. Their coaching records over very large samples tells the story better than the two half seasons you can barely remember.

Incorrect
Under BA 5/10 against top 8 sides

Under Barrett 7/13

I left out Souths game as it's a 50/50

Where are you getting your stats from? Ive never checked most but they seem fabricated.