Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Your mistake is thinking it's possible to make 30 good choices. Every NRL club has nuffies on the roster. Every single one. Cini and Momoisea both played more first grade for other clubs than they did for us, so there was no harm. They didn't stop us picking better nuffies when we needed to bring a backup into the team. AMS, Tago and Mulitalo were all preferred to Cini, and Momoisea was behind such stars as Doorey and Murchie. To complain about a team's backups is barking up the wrong tree. It's our senior players who let us down these past two years, not a couple of blokes who combined for three NRL appearances.

well we only really made 27 choices over the last couple of years because we didn't bother to fill the roster, remember? ...that's why we had to pick nuffies like Tago and Mulitalo...can you tell me another club that needed to tap into their third tier feeder squad? ( in actualy fact, I think Dan Keir played a trial for wenty )

if you were smart enough and had the right eye for detail you could actually make 30 decent choices which include 6 or so on potential alone.

King-Gutho94

I'm sure it's why the coach was sacked. For the previous five years he got the best out of the squad, even in 2023 with all the unavailable players. But last year they were just garbage across the board, as soon as Moses went down. It's like they lost their self belief, or maybe I'm just projecting, because that's when I thought the season might be over. After such a good won against Manly too.
The tigers loss at home with 70% of the ball on the tryline in the 1st half and no one having a clue how to score a try against the worst defensive side in the comp.

Was the back-breaker of the season.

Whatever self belief they may have had without Moses got destroyed from that horrible loss.

Quality coaches can still get there nuffies to perform to the ability or sometimes slightly above there potential with simple roles and a positive mindset to get the best out of them.

Jack Murchie was playing decent footy at the warriors on the edge playing outside Shaun Johnson running into holes.

Hence why i thought we signed him and liked it at the time.

He turned up to Parramatta and BA decides to play him in the middle completely against what his strengths were at the warriors as a player as an edge hole runner with his height and build.

As you can see below 78 games in his career in all grades he started in the back row on an edge out of the 84 in the starting 13

Yet we turn him into a middle forward - dumb coaching and you wonder why some players turn into nuffies when they are played out of there positions of strength by coaches who can't adapt and out of the depth as much as the players.

View attachment 98497
We already had edge forwards though. Murchie played where we needed him during an injury crisis. In reserve grade he played nearly every game out wide. We just never needed him there in first grade, because we had Cartwright, Davey, Doorey, Lane and Matterson ahead of him.

Cloeel

His documentary had a bit of a defeatist attitude about him.

Fair enough there is more important things in life then a game of footy and it doesn't/shouldn't define you as a person.

But i reckon ever since he has gone into this psychology stuff he has lost his that will to win edge you need on the field out there.

Lets be honest most players are ruthless with the competitiveness and the environment it brings & i reckon Lane has lost a bit of that since his off-field venture into that space.

The most ruthless individuals at the the top of the food chain aren't sitting around worrying about there feelings and being "Mindful".

You sacrifice "balance" to be the best in any given domain.

well we only really made 27 choices over the last couple of years because we didn't bother to fill the roster, remember? ...that's why we had to pick nuffies like Tago and Mulitalo...
Would it have been better if Tago and Mulitalo were on top 30 contracts instead? What is the actual difference? They are backups either way, and why give top 30 contracts to any more nuffies than you have to? It won't suddenly turn them into first graders.
can you tell me another club that needed to tap into their third tier feeder squad? ( in actualy fact, I think Dan Keir played a trial for wenty )
At least half of them I'd say. Just from last year's top four, the Storm and Chooks used these nuffies:

Storm
Bradley
Powell
Russell-Smith

Roosters
Dockar-Clay
King

From the bottom four there was Parramatta, as well as Souths and Wests:

Rabbitohs
French
Shibasaki
Teaupa

Tigers
Casey
Johannssen
if you were smart enough and had the right eye for detail you could actually make 30 decent choices which include 6 or so on potential alone.
Well half of the top four teams last year still had to pick nuffies from outside the top 36 because the nuffies inside the top 36 weren't sufficient. Looks like it's not as easy as it seems from our armchairs.

The tigers loss at home with 70% of the ball on the tryline in the 1st half and no one having a clue how to score a try against the worst defensive side in the comp.

Was the back-breaker of the season.

Whatever self belief they may have had without Moses got destroyed from that horrible loss.
Agreed, our kicking game was poor, and Talagi was a poor substitute for Moses. His next game in the halves for us was also his last, when we got belted by Canberra the following week. Sorry merkin, if you want to stay you'll be playing in the back five.

Rocket man

@Stagger eel is that the same Lane that copped 3 injuries in the same year and only managed 10 games in 2023?
Being a little bit harsh on his 2023 form mate, although there aren't many excuses for 2024 except everyone played shit so he wasn't on his own there.
RCG struggled after breaking his jaw while at Penrith. Lane had three injuries as you said. Maybe he was a little gun shy.

King-Gutho94

JAC 4 game ban is now only 2 game ban for parramatta.

1 for the Semi final last year
1 for the All-star game

You know what seeing the Dogs lose that final was worth JAC coming back a game later for us as it meant the dogs didn't get through deeper into the finals last year where he could have served more of that suspension.

And speaking to a lot people in the off-season i dont think many people have cheered for Manly as hard as they did that afternoon to see those other arseholes from Belmore back-door it out of the finals.

I don't watch NFL any more, so maybe things have changed, but there definitely used to be star defensive linemen (e.g. Reggie White, Bruce Smith) in a way that offensive linemen weren't celebrated. I suppose pass rushers are a lot more visible.

You still have start defensive linemen, such as Aaron Donald - but they're not in the media's/public's eye to the extent that defensive backs are.

Everyone waxes lyrical about how good Sauce Gardner is - but it's probably because given the position he plays, he can run a pick-6 with ease, which viewers love seeing.

A defensive linesman is rarely going to run a pick-6 - but they do the grunt work to allow the rest of the secondary to do their jobs properly.

Stevie

f**k I’m excited to finally see what sort of side we are come round 1. So many changes I think every Parra supporter is chomping at the bit to cheer us on.

One thing I’m confident of, we’ll be “us”, the type of “us” that Ryles believes will challenge and I reckon he’s a smart guy which is something I hope will bring us all together win, lose or draw.

It’s so close now, bring it on!

JokerEel

f**k I’m excited to finally see what sort of side we are come round 1. So many changes I think every Parra supporter is chomping at the bit to cheer us on.

One thing I’m confident of, we’ll be “us”, the type of “us” that Ryles believes will challenge and I reckon he’s a smart guy which is something I hope will bring us all together win, lose or draw.

It’s so close now, bring it on!

It's great..

There is chat that Guymer is going to be in the second row.