Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Cleary's late success after a very mediocre first 14 years supports all my opinions and makes you look stupid. But but but eLeVeN yEaRs!!!
Cleary was very mediocre lol, have a look at the quality of some of the teams he coached and Look at the squads of Bea Arthur. That was an utter embarrassment with the squad that we had in 2018 that we won a spoon.

Ricky was a germ but he left the place in a much better place than when he found it. A negative f/a and less finals wins than contract extensions sums up what a plodder your bald hero really is.

Zoso

I think we'll win about half our games, which might be enough to get into the top eight. We just need to get some luck and win most of the close ones.
Mitch Moses said in his first interview as captain that the team are training longer and being coached in little details (adding that most people would find hard to understand those details).
*If* we win more than 50% and win some tough games as well, I reckon the players and coaches might put those wins down to training, coaching, and new recruits, not luck.

King-Gutho94

For me it's about the team not giving up and having some grit. I don't care if we lose and put in 100%. It's those 40+ smashings that are a worry
23 times under BA in 264 we conceded 40+

My maths has that at 1 every 11.48 games.

On average 2 per season.

No premiership side wins comps conceding 40+ 2 times a year.

I still remember garbage performances like the Dogs beating us by 30 when they were stone mother last in 2022.

No top 4 team gets flogged like that by a side that's sacked there coach already and running last.

King-Gutho94

Cleary was very mediocre lol, have a look at the quality of some of the teams he coached and Look at the squads of Bea Arthur. That was an utter embarrassment with the squad that we had in 2018 that we won a spoon.

Ricky was a germ but he left the place in a much better place than when he found it. A negative f/a and less finals wins than contract extensions sums up what a plodder your bald hero really is.
Ivan's shit you only have to look at his resume compared to Brad Arthur

Ivan = 4 premierships
Arthur = 4 finals wins

Your taking BA every day of the week.

JokerEel

On average 2 per season.

I still remember garbage performances like the Dogs beating us by 30 when they were stone mother last in 2022.

No top 4 team gets flogged like that by a side that's sacked there coach already and running last.

Defense and consistency was just never a strong point by BA unfortunately..

If we had them in check we may have jagged a premiership with the quality of player we had.

JokerEel

Ivan's shit you only have to look at his resume compared to Brad Arthur

Ivan = 4 premierships
Arthur = 4 finals wins

Your taking BA every day of the week.

The Panthers system helped Ivan alot in his second round..

I think of he had a chance at the Warriors again he would copy that system.No idea why the Wahs aren't a powerhouse with the country to choose from.

BA started to build his win percentage but just never had the consistency.

King-Gutho94

Defense and consistency was just never a strong point by BA unfortunately..

If we had them in check we may have jagged a premiership with the quality of player we had.
Jagged a premiership mate we had a squad good enough to beat Penrith 5 times between 2020-2023 more then any other team.

Now one resident expert will put that down to superior coaching which is a load of BS.

Ill throw you an example we didn't have Jake Arthur in any of those 5 wins yet he was in the 17 for the 2 x finals losses against them as a backup on the bench which was a load of shit at the time and will remain so till the day i die.

BA thought he could win a comp with 16 blokes with his son clinging on for the ride. Shows the arrogance of the turd.

We had a good enough squad we just didn't have the right coach to harness that consistency and deliver in big moments.

Up one week down the next.

We lacked attention to detail with the basics and brought a pub/bush team mentality which might get you to week two of the finals but never ruthless enough to win a comp.

JokerEel

Jagged a premiership mate we had a squad good enough to beat Penrith 5 times between 2020-2023 more then any other team.

Now one resident expert will put that down to superior coaching which is a load of BS.

Ill throw you an example we didn't have Jake Arthur in any of those 5 wins yet he was in the 17 for the 2 x finals losses against them as a backup on the bench which was a load of shit at the time and will remain so till the day i die.

BA thought he could win a comp with 16 blokes with his son clinging on for the ride. Shows the arrogance of the turd.

We had a good enough squad we just didn't have the right coach to harness that consistency and deliver in big moments.

We lacked attention to detail with the basics and brought a pub/bush team mentality which might get you to week two of the finals but never ruthless enough to win a comp.

Agree totally BA I think was just too stubborn or stupid to understand that defense wins premierships.
In all the years never had the average points against per game low enough to be a threat.

On his sons I'll say he totally f**ked Jake up..
In 2021made his debut everyone loved him should not have seen first grade at all in 2022. Even with injuries to Moses or Brown.

Same as Matt he should have been in Flegg last year not fast tracked to CUP.

I am going to watch Leeds this year with interest to see if he has made any changes to his coaching style..

chiefy1

Let's wait and see if it improves our win rate. Under the current mob we are at about 55% with Arthur's and Barrett.

Yep, but you fail to mention the bushies 4 from 12 finals record at 33% , which is the worst final series record in the history of the game ( more than 8 finals appearances). How he lasted 10 seasons is a dead set miracle. But don't mention this to Pau Pau, as he will be frantically searching through his bs ba stat book all night just to spin another post to his advantage lol

The Predictor

Agree totally BA I think was just too stubborn or stupid to understand that defense wins premierships.
In all the years never had the average points against per game low enough to be a threat.

On his sons I'll say he totally f**ked Jake up..
In 2021made his debut everyone loved him should not have seen first grade at all in 2022. Even with injuries to Moses or Brown.

Same as Matt he should have been in Flegg last year not fast tracked to CUP.

I am going to watch Leeds this year with interest to see if he has made any changes to his coaching style..
Brad was all about nepotism and self preservation!

The following merkins from the supposedly great 2018 squad never played NRL again:

Auva'a
French
Hayne
King
Matagi
Pritchard
Scott
Vave
Williams

Plus Hoffman and Mannah each only played ten more games after 2018. That's how good the 2018 squad was. The team was packed with nuffies and old men because that's all we could afford after the salary cap scandal. But but but what an embarrassment all those gun players ran last.

Mitch Moses said in his first interview as captain that the team are training longer and being coached in little details (adding that most people would find hard to understand those details).
*If* we win more than 50% and win some tough games as well, I reckon the players and coaches might put those wins down to training, coaching, and new recruits, not luck.
Of course they're not going to put it down to luck. They need to believe they are in control of their destiny. Never mind the other 16 clubs whose squads all think they control their destiny. These merkins need to focus on what they can control and pretend good and bad luck don't exist. Their job is to play footy, not understand the things they can't control. That's our job.

On average 2 per season.

Isn't this a reflection on our players? Surely they own some responsibility for their performances.

Penrith was far superior to us over that period as proven by their performance across the entire season, not just in a couple of games against us. What this tells me is that Penrith took it easy against us in those games where we beat them. The superior quality of their squad is proven in their win rate, points differential and Origin representation. The fact we beat them five times in nothing matches isn't data, it's pub trivia.

Yep, but you fail to mention the bushies 4 from 12 finals record at 33%
Because 12 games isn't a statistically relevant sample. Ricky Stuart's record in his first 12 finals matches was 75%. Is he really that good? It's a meaningless sample of games. Bellamy is 2 from 9 in Origin. If he coached another 3 Origin games he would be 5 from 12 at best. It's just not enough of a sample to even out the randomness of superior opposition, missing players, bad calls, and the bounce of the ball.