Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

AnonymousLurker

Every tigers supporter reckons he's shit anyway. Can't tackle, shit kicking game, him and his dad are disruptive...
One tigers supporter (with contacts within the club apparently) stated to me Galvin's dad sprayed Bunji in the the dressing room after a game...sounds like stories being made up to paint them as villains.
I ask them Soooo why did the Tigers offer him $1m a season. (Not that I think he's worth that much)??? Crickets...
Extremely salty...I say clearly there is a massive problem and best for both parties to go their own way...no-one wants to stay at a toxic workplace..
Might take a sign to the parra tigpies game next yr just reading...
Toxic Tigers
Ofcourse they are toxic

they released the worst press release ever and as weidler said they were the ones leaking shit all over the place like the Benji can’t coach part and that is believable as Chammas was the one breaking all this shit and he is on Issac’s shit list

ARL Commission sound out Kevin Walters for Perth Bears role
After interviewing Brad Arthur and Mal Meninga, the NRL have now approached former Brisbane coach Kevin Walters as they look to appoint the first head coach of the Perth Bears.

This masthead can reveal the NRL has made a secret approach to Walters, who has rocketed into the frame to take charge of the Perth Bears for their entry to the big league in 2027.
Walters has been added to a four-man shortlist that includes former Parramatta coach Brad Arthur, Australia mentor Mal Meninga and Souths legend Sam Burgess.
Well-placed sources say Arthur remains the frontrunner for the post after he and Meninga were formally interviewed by the NRL – which owns the Perth licence – on Thursday.

BA probably has the best resume for this job.

When you consider what we went through in 20116/17 he stood by and rebuilt the playing roster with f**k all money and no support staff and got us to the finals the following year. He's probabaly ideal to get them off the ground.

See where they go from there, if they do well and get into the finals then I'd be aiming higher in the coaching ranks.

Stevie

Here lies the problem with all of these shows / podcasts these days. It’s like drinking in a pub full of lobbyists. Every conversation is tainted with bias or agenda.
Of course it is, but to use that as a reason not to listen to generally good footy chat you’re missing out mate.

I zoom up and down the M1 three or 4 times a week so that’s min 3 hours a day in the car for me. I can honestly say the footy podcasts make the trips so much easier. I listen to them, have a laugh and think about footy instead of worrying about traffic or the impending day of meetings I gave coming up.

The Matty / Cronk 30min podcast with a review on what caught their eye is super technical and I love it, I learn heaps actually.

I love bloke in a bar, their proper footy discussions are brilliant.

I also love the journos podcast as it definitely shows they are mostly all odd characters but important in the fabric of our game.

If you love your footy, you should embrace the fact there is SO much content.

I do.

Stevie

PS I really want to grab Taylan May. I’ll back out staff to have him ripping and tearing and he’d add a level of intimidation we don’t have currently. There is plenty of room in the centre for a great powerhouse that is fast. Imagine him with Lomax on the outside.

I used to love the Rugby League Digest podcast. It was f**king amazing. It’s the only non-cybersecurity podcast I would make time for. These days I am trying to find time for a snippet of my Audible backlog before the next damn cyber podcast drops.

Of course it is, but to use that as a reason not to listen to generally good footy chat you’re missing out mate.

I zoom up and down the M1 three or 4 times a week so that’s min 3 hours a day in the car for me. I can honestly say the footy podcasts make the trips so much easier. I listen to them, have a laugh and think about footy instead of worrying about traffic or the impending day of meetings I gave coming up.

The Matty / Cronk 30min podcast with a review on what caught their eye is super technical and I love it, I learn heaps actually.

I love bloke in a bar, their proper footy discussions are brilliant.

I also love the journos podcast as it definitely shows they are mostly all odd characters but important in the fabric of our game.

If you love your footy, you should embrace the fact there is SO much content.

I do.
I don’t boycott them. I’m a big consumer, I have just learnt to take what most of them say with a grain of salt. That’s a shame TBH, because I would have hoped that if Anasta or Graham or journos from Nine or Fox say something, it could be mostly believed. Not tainted because they have an allegiance to a club, are delivering a narrative from a manager, have a fued with a coach etc.

Or Hooper or Mole, who just make stuff up cos they are lonely.

What do you reckon Pou, would you hitch your wagon to him for the right price? I certainly would.
From a talent perspective, he would walk into our 13. But team chemistry is a delicate and supremely important factor, and I don’t know enough about any of it to know at what price he is worth the risk, if any.

Shit answer I know, but any signing carries the risk of a 2018-style implosion. More so for guys like him.

Taylan May would a big risk.

Addo-Carr had some off-field baggage, but he's shown throughout his years in top flight rugby league that he is a positive influence on the field, vocal, and a player who energises his teammates.

Not sure we could say that for May...

JokerEel

Taylan May would a big risk.

Addo-Carr had some off-field baggage, but he's shown throughout his years in top flight rugby league that he is a positive influence on the field, vocal, and a player who energises his teammates.

Not sure we could say that for May...

Yep JAC and May 2 complete different humans in one's not a f**k wit and one is

Timana

Btw Samrani to the back row was a very astute idea, and I am so impressed that Ryles (1) gave credit to Brown, and (2) actually took his advice.

This isn't a dig at BA, btw - I'm just saying that Jason Ryles impressed me as a leader, and I'm chuffed he's our coach.
He is acting like a General Manager which is great. He know's he is not the specialist in all areas and needs advice in each area and he makes a decision as to whether to let it get implemented.

BA was stubborn. I still can't get over, it hasn't worked for a few years now but it has to work this year.

What did Einstein say again about repeating the same thing and trying to get a different result?

He is acting like a General Manager which is great. He know's he is not the specialist in all areas and needs advice in each area and he makes a decision as to whether to let it get implemented.

BA was stubborn. I still can't get over, it hasn't worked for a few years now but it has to work this year.

What did Einstein say again about repeating the same thing and trying to get a different result?
Do you even know what he was referring to? If you've ever done any punting or even played a game that involved rolling dice, you'll know that when it comes to probability you absolutely can repeat the same thing and get a different result. Brad Arthur might not be Einstein, but next to you he sounds like it.

And Ryles finally confirms the great contract mystery....Samrani is train and trial...
I'll update the squad succession thread.

Edit: He's listed as development contract in the squad succession thread, meaning he was probably announced or reported that way on NRL.com. He is currently listed on the NRL signings tracker as one of 29 merkins in our top 30. Are you certain Ryles said he's on train and trial?

King-Gutho94

Btw Samrani to the back row was a very astute idea, and I am so impressed that Ryles (1) gave credit to Brown, and (2) actually took his advice.

This isn't a dig at BA, btw - I'm just saying that Jason Ryles impressed me as a leader, and I'm chuffed he's our coach.
Ryles said yesterday he wanted someone next to him who has been a coach before and to lean on in the box. And it just happened to be Brownie was available.

I think Nathan Brown has proven he is an okay coach but nothing special.

But I am sure his experience in the coaches box to point ideas at Ryles while he is in the heat of the moment is invaluable.

Rylesy is showing more animation in recent weeks which is great to see.