Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Joshuatheeel

Tallyn da silva is overrated

Coinakis and Smith is our rotation in 2027
Da Silva (20 this year) is only 12 months older than Coinakis (19 this year). He hasn't even played flegg yet. While Da Silva, has already played 21 NRL games and in his 3rd season of NRL.

More confident at this stage, Da Silva will have a long NRL year with Coinakis being another overrated junior (but I do hope he makes it and kills it for the eels).

I reckon the Gutherson decision was made before we signed Ryles. Probably before we sacked Arthur’s.
No it wasn’t. We were happy to keep him for his final year but could not guarantee him the fullback spot. He then asked to be released as he had secured a 3 year deal which we refused to match.

That’s what happened. He agitated for an early release and we respectfully obliged.

T-Boon

I am tired of these topics.
Lets discuss the top 10 Aboriginal players in the game today. Who are the top 10 - in order? I'll be back in at about 6pm to check on how the list and debate about said list is progressing. Ta.

Yeo has a superior passing/organising game to Galvin, is 20kg heavier, can and does play in the middle, great defender and is worth whatever Pamfers pay him. These two things are not alike.
Sure but Yeo can’t play in the halves. And if Galvin ever moves to the middle he will be worth what he gets. Just playing in the middle won’t mean he isn’t worth big money. Yeo (a former centre) is proof of that.

Sensitive much, your schtick is to imply everyone has no footy knowledge except you. Then you respond to a a post that suggests you don’t know everything.
Implying stuff about ‘everyone’ isn’t a personal attack. Plus the actual smart ones don’t assume I’m talking about them. If you think I’m talking about you, that’s a you problem.

Tiger5150

Sure but Yeo can’t play in the halves. And if Galvin ever moves to the middle he will be worth what he gets. Just playing in the middle won’t mean he isn’t worth big money. Yeo (a former centre) is proof of that.
Was Yeo signed for >$1M as a half and then get moved to the middle? If not, what is Yeo proof of again?

Da Silva (20 this year) is only 12 months older than Coinakis (19 this year). He hasn't even played flegg yet. While Da Silva, has already played 21 NRL games and in his 3rd season of NRL.

More confident at this stage, Da Silva will have a long NRL year with Coinakis being another overrated junior (but I do hope he makes it and kills it for the eels).
See above. You might be the smartest poster on here.

No it wasn’t. We were happy to keep him for his final year but could not guarantee him the fullback spot. He then asked to be released as he had secured a 3 year deal which we refused to match.

That’s what happened. He agitated for an early release and we respectfully obliged.
The point is we decided we didn’t want him at fullback before Ryles got here.

JokerEel

Or the Tigers overrated Da Silva and brought him through too soon......

Tiger5150

TDS is still a young kid has a long way to go and a lot of development to do in his game and physically (physically he has really come on this year), but he has not been brought through too soon. He is undertaking the perfect development path apprenticeship at the moment, learning form the best in the game atm and playing in short 20min bursts where he gets to develop his game (particularly in defence). It genuinely is the best opportunity for him but like a lot of these young kids, they dont want to develop they want it all now and is supposedly telling the club he wants 80mins.

Where it might be correct that he has been brought through too soon is that by him and his mate Lachie getting the big star bright light treatment so soon, they become impatient and want that top tier billing more quickly.

If Latu wasnt injured, Galvin wouldnt have got his debut last year.

Soren Lorenson

Nah he goes alright. To be fair they haven't chucked him in the deep end and he's learning off one of the sneakiest merkins around. They needed someone young and impressionable there, Liddle was too good to hang around waiting for Api to retire.

It's a big headache for clubs that these old playmakers aren't retiring when they would have been anticipated to. It's stuffing their succession planning.