Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Timana

The Dogs don’t make sense to me other than the opportunity to be coached by a coach clearly focused on development and the allure of Gus who could sell ice to eskimos.

Gus has a history of this though. It’s gotta be linked to a massive ego . He fired Ivan Cleary when they’d worked themselves into a top 8 side I’m sure Galvin is a piece he wants at the club and will figure things out a long the way but to me that completely disrupts this season , Galvin doesn’t take them to the next level now and the disruption to that side over the next 18 months will be big . It seems a step backwards for them .

& like you said .. the pressure on Galvin to come into that situation . If he doesn’t hit the ground running and improve them .. that’s a lot to put on a 19 year old kid establishing himself in the league and finding his game .

I could be totally wrong . I just think Isaac has Chammas and Buzz and whoever else running around in circles and wouldn’t be mad about it . Parra makes more sense in a lot of ways . This theory could look dumb by the end of the weekend but I just reckon he signs with Parra and the tigers can’t claim it was always a done deal which may help him down the track depending on what Isaac wants out of them.
Though I do think Gus goes and buys all the good 'uns and if they don't work, he gets rid of them

Soto

If the Dogs land him it will be the biggest rort ever.
The fact they have an influential media personality as their GM is BS of the highest order.
Not to say we probably haven't played by the rules but almost certain the dogs haven't either.
If we don't land him we should also ban Isaac as well.
From all reports and inferences, Galvin was linked to parra via meeting with Mitch earlier this yr for sushi, photos of parra jersey in the media, reports of junior training with Eels and Wenty I believe.
It's become a circus and for all sundry just want it done regardless of the outcome

Hey circular boy, didn’t you say we would need to pay top dollar and more than the Tigers were offering?
I was talking about Farnsworth. As for Galvin, I doubt we would be paying much less than the Tigers were offering. More likely is that we have offered more. But if there are other clubs in the race (and why wouldn't there be?) then what the Tigers were offering is no longer a factor.

AnonymousLurker

i don’t know why people keep believing and falling for the GUS coolaid. He is the biggest liar in the game and uses his role at channel 9 and other media spots to his advantage

don’t know why players fall for his BS too, he had history of players not finishing contracts , he is worse than Issac Moses that everyone has a freak out about when his clients leave early

anyway watch the dogs implode whether Galvin starts with them this year or next , as few players who will be affected stop falling for the family club bull he spins to them

emjaycee

Interesting take from Grimmace and correlates with what I have been hearing...maybe.
But surely the idiots in our head office don't have the brains to think of this kind of action.

Soto

If Galvin signs with the Dogs then how do they fit him in their cap, what position does he play and why would he literally back flip on coming to the Eels?
Chammas seems to be doing all the reporting here but him and Moses dislike each other...just nothing makes any sense

Das Hassler

I hope he goes to the Dogs this year and the club goes to shit because he has unsettled the playing group...

Chrighton is still friends with Those merkins at the Tigers that he used to play with as well so it couldn't be a good vibe.

Yep...and you can include Burton and Kikau...they're all very close friends with Luai ..Api and Turuva so you can bet if he goes there his baggage will have arrived before him ...my bet is Gus has been aware of that and he'll be with you

Grimmace

Wouldn’t that also be Ryles or am I reading playing Iongi, Kautoga, Tuivati, Smith and even others wrong?
100% but its also a lure for Ciraldo especially since his development has been a part of 4 Penrith premierships and taking the Dogs from last to first. Ryles and Parra are on their way though imo.

The Dogs have based their success on a willingness to scrap and fight for everything , work hard for each other and be disciplined with and without the ball. All things Galvin has yet to develop into his game. It doesn't make much sense other than stockpiling assets and figuring it out which I can't see as best for Galvin at this stage of his career.

84 Baby

100% but its also a lure for Ciraldo especially since his development has been a part of 4 Penrith premierships and taking the Dogs from last to first. Ryles and Parra are on their way though imo.

The Dogs have based their success on a willingness to scrap and fight for everything , work hard for each other and be disciplined with and without the ball. All things Galvin has yet to develop into his game. It doesn't make much sense other than stockpiling assets and figuring it out which I can't see as best for Galvin at this stage of his career.
Ok Gus no need to spruik them anymore. Also Ciraldo was only at Smugs for 2 titles

eels_fan

I think we’ll likely get an idea from Ryles tonight when he is invariably asked in the post-match presser.

On Wednesdays coaches presser he said he couldn’t say too much until the process takes place around a formal release etc. we now know that is official, and that Ryles and/or MON/Jim have met with Galvin in the last 24 hours, so that secrecy is no longer required.

I also feel Ryles has about the worst poker face in league, so if he knows where things are at, we’ll know.