Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

Was injured all season and played with injuries every game. he only played 3 NRL games and only 3 games in reggies coming back from injury. You said he was ordinary last year, he wasn't, he was simply injured....but you know that because you were really paying attention?
He doesn’t watch eels games let alone any other club. He’s the forum fraud who trolls and flogs himself stupid over stats.

Delboy

Well, even though it’s a faster game than in the past, if you don’t win the forward battle it’s tough to win. The bench was light and small and with only Junior looking like an alpha forward it was not surprising we made little headway , particularly in the second half. We didn’t seem to get over halfway, tough to comment on the officiating but he obviously is influenced by the crowd in big games as we saw when he did SOO, the 6 agains may have been needed but if the Dogs tactics didn’t warrant more in that regard its amazing.

Dylbro has become a shadow of his previous worth since signing the big deal. Has hardly broke a tackle with his running game, and while defence is OK , feels like if he isn’t injured he’s playing not to get hurt.

The team battles all day, but the depth is a worry, basically need a back hooker/utility , at least one above average prop, a strike second rower and a centre who does the basics well. Russell is an example of that, he just lacks a second gear in attack.

Recruitment is the core of ongoing success as we wait for our juniors to mature, this off season is crucial.

King-Gutho94

Well, even though it’s a faster game than in the past, if you don’t win the forward battle it’s tough to win. The bench was light and small and with only Junior looking like an alpha forward it was not surprising we made little headway , particularly in the second half. We didn’t seem to get over halfway, tough to comment on the officiating but he obviously is influenced by the crowd in big games as we saw when he did SOO, the 6 agains may have been needed but if the Dogs tactics didn’t warrant more in that regard its amazing.

Dylbro has become a shadow of his previous worth since signing the big deal. Has hardly broke a tackle with his running game, and while defence is OK , feels like if he isn’t injured he’s playing not to get hurt.

The team battles all day, but the depth is a worry, basically need a back hooker/utility , at least one above average prop, a strike second rower and a centre who does the basics well. Russell is an example of that, he just lacks a second gear in attack.

Recruitment is the core of ongoing success as we wait for our juniors to mature, this off season is crucial.
Moretti & Matto were big losses yesterday.

They have made a difference coming off the bench so far this year.

Sutton is a cat but i thought our discipline was poor though yesterday.

Not saying the Dogs were perfect either and the fact Sutton gave us a few cheapies/square ups in the last 5 mins was pretty frustrating.

In terms of edge back rower

Kelma is a liability whatever threat he may be on the edge in attack is made redundant by his shithouse defence.

If he isn't good by now in defence he never will be. You can't have a edge backrower who can't tackle consistently.

I suppose Kautoga has his critics and i was probably one of them early but his defence overall stacks up. His attack seems limited but has got some offloads away in recent times.

In the end, the end when you sign reserve graders you get reserve grade results.

We are 6-8 quality players to be competitive. They need to fast track a few of the juniors between now and next offseason. We aren’t making the finals so let’s fast track it.

and sign Tino!

Timana

Do you like Jack on the right edge instead? I watched Kautogoa yesterday and he was very good, in particular in defense. Smashed Galvin too.

If he can keep playing mistake free, happy to keep him.

I reckon we need more middles, even alpha ones as Jnr can't handle it alone and I don't think he has much longer in the game. Sam will be good to get back and I would throw Kelma into the middle.

Timana

Moretti & Matto were big losses yesterday.

They have made a difference coming off the bench so far this year.

Sutton is a cat but i thought our discipline was poor though yesterday.

Not saying the Dogs were perfect either and the fact Sutton gave us a few cheapies/square ups in the last 5 mins was pretty frustrating.

In terms of edge back rower

Kelma is a liability whatever threat he may be on the edge in attack is made redundant by his shithouse defence.

If he isn't good by now in defence he never will be. You can't have a edge backrower who can't tackle consistently.

I suppose Kautoga has his critics and i was probably one of them early but his defence overall stacks up. His attack seems limited but has got some offloads away in recent times.
We were offside alot coz we struggled with the doggies mistake free footy as well as the kiraz offloads which allowed then to get 10 extra metres and a rollon and good field positions.

I wish we would reintroduce offloads. Not for every player, just a select few.

We aren't a mistake free footy team like Dogs and Panfers. We don't have that mental side in us.

We are risk takers.

85 Baby

We were offside alot coz we struggled with the doggies mistake free footy as well as the kiraz offloads which allowed then to get 10 extra metres and a rollon and good field positions.

I wish we would reintroduce offloads. Not for every player, just a select few.

We aren't a mistake free footy team like Dogs and Panfers. We don't have that mental side in us.

We are risk takers.
I think you’re correct but from the wrong angle. I think in attack we’re taking plenty of risk in attack (albeit we are still slow in our attack which probably adds to the risk factor). Several times we spread it and it was heart in mouth with how quickly we had to catch and pass. Those types of plays regularly wind up with a knock on/forward pass/ball over sideline. We pass at the line which even riskier of a spilled ball or a Hopgood no look pass to the ground.

Where we don’t take risk is in defence. I don’t necessarily mean a defender shooting out of line to put a big hit on (although when was last time we’ve seen that) but as a team we let the opposition get over the advantage line because it is “safer” and we’re “safer” in that we appear to conserve energy in defence to be “more effective” in attack (which like yesterday is useless if that still means the opposition is starting their set on halfway).
I mentioned it elsewhere that we don’t have momentum shifters outside maybe Walker in attack. We certainly don’t have any in defence.

LyonHeart

Literally everyone thinks that about their players and their teams, except maybe Broncos fans.

Are you literally suggesting Tigers are protected species in the NRL. Not my experience.

Counterpoint, Moses put on report but no case to answer?
It was absolute BS he was put on report for that tackle