Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

I really like Moretti hey. Last night I noticed he seemed way bigger than I realised. How old is he?

I was told in the off season that Ryles was really a fan of him.

If he is young he is obviously still growing. He is a handful it seems and he plays hard.

probably considered a late bloomer but yeah I agree he's a better player this year and anotgher off season with Ryles could make him close to elite.

It’s this bit here that I like Ryles. We haven’t been going out to sign an RCG clone because we’ll work Tuivati/Moretti into that role or a Brown stop gap because they’re not going to be appreciably better than Hawkins or even Papalii.
External signings are going to be higher level walk ups like JAC & Walker or younger players to give them opportunity like Iongi, Kautoga or TDS.
Your good mate Pou will say every team needs backups but I’ve always been a believer of getting your 17 set and developing your own backups (who may also transition into that 17). Short term it’ll be shit while we watch Iongi throw a wild speculator over sideline in our own half, or Kautoga spill his lollies consistently, or TDS knock on then boot the ball away to give away 7 tackles. But gradually we’ll either weed out those mistakes or weed out those players. And while that’s happening we’re looking more at the Niukore, Papalii, Samrani stage backups I.e. young, and not the Morgan Harpers and Frank Pritchards.
I never said we need to buy backups, just that we need them. Underdone youngsters like Guymer and Renisini are our backups right now. Next year it could include merkins like Pryke and Latu. It’s very exciting. But these guys aren’t any better than Morgan Harper, and prior to this year (i.e. when Harper was on the books), they weren’t even ready to be backups. At least Harper was.

85 Baby

I never said we need to buy backups, just that we need them. Underdone youngsters like Guymer and Renisini are our backups right now. Next year it could include merkins like Pryke and Latu. It’s very exciting. But these guys aren’t any better than Morgan Harper, and prior to this year (i.e. when Harper was on the books), they weren’t even ready to be backups. At least Harper was.
In general Morgan Harper is going to want more money than Arturo Milano-Stephano though and his likely average output is only going to be slightly higher but someone like AMS’s potential top output is higher. Season to season it’s probable that the younger player’s average is also going to close the gap and even be better. Signing someone like Harper is only going to be a very short term, very minor bump, that’s only going to be effective when your cap distribution is inefficient as it is (e.g. player injured or suspended) and year on year that’s actually going to degrade the squad as the players he’s superseding get less development opportunity. When you’re entrenched at the pointy end then those decisions may be worth the risk, but to get there you do that by entrenching the other 29 squad members. The only exceptions I have are key positions such as Hawkins at halfback because he’ll have a more important role than an outside back or prop, or a longer term vision role such as Rankin where the benefit they are providing isn’t to the NRL side but to helping those development players

Tiger5150

What that list actually tells me is how many shit coaches we have in the game.

Your got Shane Flanagan at 9th and the Dragons have won 6 games with a roster he decided needed to win now.

I still have Wayne Bennett ahead of Flanagan the Dragons have won the same amount of games with a injury toll that wasn't as bad as Souths.

Madge has a rockstar roster and yet there battling to make the top 8.

When they truly should be top 4.
Its a pretty arbitrary list. Im not sold on Benji but I dont see the clear difference between what he is achieving and what a fair few of the coaches above him are doing. TBH I do probably rank Ryles higher, but on actual achievements (games won, F/A etc) there is a struck match.

Watching Xavier last night.

If his brother we are keen on is anything like him it would be a massive coup.

I thought you were referring to the one at the Broncos atm.

But is it the 3rd brother Basil.
john cleese play GIF

In general Morgan Harper is going to want more money than Arturo Milano-Stephano though and his likely average output is only going to be slightly higher but someone like AMS’s potential top output is higher. Season to season it’s probable that the younger player’s average is also going to close the gap and even be better. Signing someone like Harper is only going to be a very short term, very minor bump, that’s only going to be effective when your cap distribution is inefficient as it is (e.g. player injured or suspended) and year on year that’s actually going to degrade the squad as the players he’s superseding get less development opportunity. When you’re entrenched at the pointy end then those decisions may be worth the risk, but to get there you do that by entrenching the other 29 squad members. The only exceptions I have are key positions such as Hawkins at halfback because he’ll have a more important role than an outside back or prop, or a longer term vision role such as Rankin where the benefit they are providing isn’t to the NRL side but to helping those development players
Yeah I guess

King-Gutho94

Its a pretty arbitrary list. Im not sold on Benji but I dont see the clear difference between what he is achieving and what a fair few of the coaches above him are doing. TBH I do probably rank Ryles higher, but on actual achievements (games won, F/A etc) there is a struck match.
Yeah looks pretty arbitrary

You look at the quality in the game though atm its pretty shit - Everyone after Bennett i reckon are out of there depth.

Ill go through the list and give my judgement for 2025

Ricky Stuart - Coach of the year the smug merkin but the raiders are exciting i love watching them play. Ricky has let them off the leash.

Ivan Cleary - Coaching as good as ever. If he wins 5 in a row i would put him past Bellamy in terms of modern day greats behind Bennett.

Craig Bellamy - Be nice if he retired has the roster to win it. Melbourne have been off for a lot of the year but still bank wins.

Cameron Ciraldo - Turned things around now being hailed as the next great super coach. I guess we will see in September.

Andrew Webster - Has done a fine job with the warriors - probably on the 2nd tier of quality coaches atm.

Kristian Woolf - Doing great stuff with the Dolphins - Gets the fins into the finals his probably regarded close to Webster's level.

Craig Fitzgibbon - Done okay at the Sharks but his finals record is woeful and backing Nicho to the hilt is stopping them to taking the next level. This year has been same/same

Jason Ryles - Jury is out for some but has been the ballsy rookie head coach we have seen in a long time. Cleaning out the deadwood and the speed which he has done it. All signs are positive we should be better next year.

Michael Maguire - Well Mr Cranky hasn't won a final since 2014. Has a small shelf life before he tires out the players. I would have thought a prelim final is the bare minimum with that roster. They sacked Walters to get a premiership winner to toughen them up but they still look soft as butter when you take it up to them.

Trent Robbo - Has won 3 comps he can clearly coach but he does have the benefit of quality roster most seasons plus just gets them to play "Roosters Footy". Roster should be playing finals even if it was a rebuild year.

Wayne Bennett - Been called too old but still the greatest coach of the modern era for mine. Just doesn't have the cattle anymore and a horrifc injury crisis.

Anthony Seibold - A clueless coach who can't man-manage players - Manly players want him gone - Won't get another gig in the NRL once he is punted.

Benji Marshall - Jury is still out - Next year will make or break. Should have been pushing for finals then the Galvin shitshow happened.

Todd Payten - Has 5 x SOO players there been borderline disgraceful this year. Underachieved with that roster since 2022

Shane Flanagan - Won a premiership but his blind loyalty to nepo kid Kyle will be his undoing. Needs to move him on. Doesn't seem like he can develop young players and needs seasoned veterans to play the style he wants. Dragons are in win now mode and only managed 6 wins with an ageing roster.

Des Hasler- Lost the plot a bit about to sail in the sunset - Been a great career just hasnt panned out on the Gold Coast

Adam O'Brien - A Useless bush coach dope with literally no idea will be gone next year - Never to coach in the NRL ever again

Tiger5150

Yeah looks pretty arbitrary

You look at the quality in the game though atm its pretty shit - Everyone after Bennett i reckon are out of there depth.

Ill go through the list and give my judgement for 2025

Ricky Stuart - Coach of the year the smug merkin but the raiders are exciting i love watching them play. Ricky has let them off the leash.

Ivan Cleary - Coaching as good as ever. If he wins 5 in a row i would put him past Bellamy in terms of modern day greats behind Bennett.

Craig Bellamy - Be nice if he retired has the roster to win it. Melbourne have been off for a lot of the year but still bank wins.

Cameron Ciraldo - Turned things around now being hailed as the next great super coach. I guess we will see in September.

Andrew Webster - Has done a fine job with the warriors - probably on the 2nd tier of quality coaches atm.

Kristian Woolf - Doing great stuff with the Dolphins - Gets the fins into the finals his probably regarded close to Webster's level.

Craig Fitzgibbon - Done okay at the Sharks but his finals record is woeful and backing Nicho to the hilt is stopping them to taking the next level. This year has been same/same

Jason Ryles - Jury is out for some but has been the ballsy rookie head coach we have seen in a long time. Cleaning out the deadwood and the speed which he has done it. All signs are positive we should be better next year.

Michael Maguire - Well Mr Cranky hasn't won a final since 2014. Has a small shelf life before he tires out the players. I would have thought a prelim final is the bare minimum with that roster. They sacked Walters to get a premiership winner to toughen them up but they still look soft as butter when you take it up to them.

Trent Robbo - Has won 3 comps he can clearly coach but he does have the benefit of quality roster most seasons plus just gets them to play "Roosters Footy". Roster should be playing finals even if it was a rebuild year.

Wayne Bennett - Been called too old but still the greatest coach of the modern era for mine. Just doesn't have the cattle anymore and a horrifc injury crisis.

Anthony Seibold - A clueless coach who can't man-manage players - Manly players want him gone - Won't get another gig in the NRL once he is punted.

Benji Marshall - Jury is still out - Next year will make or break. Should have been pushing for finals then the Galvin shitshow happened.

Todd Payten - Has 5 x SOO players there been borderline disgraceful this year. Underachieved with that roster since 2022

Shane Flanagan - Won a premiership but his blind loyalty to nepo kid Kyle will be his undoing. Needs to move him on. Doesn't seem like he can develop young players and needs seasoned veterans to play the style he wants. Dragons are in win now mode and only managed 6 wins with an ageing roster.

Des Hasler- Lost the plot a bit about to sail in the sunset - Been a great career just hasnt panned out on the Gold Coast

Adam O'Brien - A Useless bush coach dope with literally no idea will be gone next year - Never to coach in the NRL ever again
Cant disagree with much of that. Not that it matters but any assessment of Benji for this year will undersell the massive changes he has made to the culture of the club, which i hope sets us up for the next couple of years. Similarly Benji was able to offload Bateman, Sullivan & Klemmer to clear out massive deadwood in the club. Im yet to be convinced that benji is good enough at the "X's and O's". I have a pipe dream that Payton gets rissoled soon and takes up a gig as an assistant to Benji.