Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

emjaycee

That’s not a reason to miss him to the Dragons mate. Even if they offered him say $1mil, the Eels I would hope could nab him for $900k (example numbers only) which the Rabbits I reckon sticking solid at $750/800k ish.

We don’t have to be at the top, a bit of money at that bracket if stuff all if it means he gets life at a much better club, culture and therefore working conditions which is most of his life.

If Flanno woos him over Ryles, it’s a f**king crime. It doesn’t seem like we are going to be that far off anyone when it comes to offering cash for a player we really want, but wooing any elite calibre player requires magic from any recruitment team.

Do we possess that?
A 10% difference in pay is huge.

Chipmunk

That’s not a reason to miss him to the Dragons mate. Even if they offered him say $1mil, the Eels I would hope could nab him for $900k (example numbers only) which the Rabbits I reckon sticking solid at $750/800k ish.

We don’t have to be at the top, a bit of money at that bracket if stuff all if it means he gets life at a much better club, culture and therefore working conditions which is most of his life.

If Flanno woos him over Ryles, it’s a f**king crime. It doesn’t seem like we are going to be that far off anyone when it comes to offering cash for a player we really want, but wooing any elite calibre player requires magic from any recruitment team.

Do we possess that?
The journo's reckon he's on $950k-$1m at Souths in 2026...you'd think Souths offer will be the same going forward.

Do we possess that?
$100k is a lot of money. You said yourself that it should be enough to get him out of Souths. In that case why wouldn't it be enough to sway him from us to the Dragons? Their coach has won a premiership. Ours is a rookie. Honestly, what can we offer that the Dragons can't? A shorter commute from Pagewood?

Stevie

A 10% difference in pay is huge.
You can’t be serious.

I’d laugh at a 10% increase offer to change organisations in my world.

They would too, you either need life changing increases (I’d suggest 30-40%+ is borderline life changing) to take on the additional risk, or a belief it’s life changing culture or significant personal development.

I don’t think we can hang our hat in Melbourne like “growth” development yet, but hopefully we sell a good dream.

You can’t be serious.

They would too, you either need life changing increases (I’d suggest 30-40%+ is borderline life changing) to take on the additional risk, or a belief it’s life changing culture or significant personal development.

I don’t think we can hang our hat in Melbourne like “growth” development yet, but hopefully we sell a good dream.
How much do you reckon Koloamatangi would give up to stay at Souths?

I don’t know what his deal is or what the facts are. But if we lose him to the Dragons, people need public hangings.
I don’t think there’s any difference between him leaving Souths for Parra and him leaving Souths for the Dragons. It’ll come down to money. We’re not a better club than they are. We lost Dylan Brown to the Knights ffs. If another club offers far too much we’d be crazy to match it.

Chipmunk

You can’t be serious.

So you wouldn't work doing the same job for a competitor of your current company for 10% more pay?

Chipmunk

I don’t think there’s any difference between him leaving Souths for Parra and him leaving Souths for the Dragons. It’ll come down to money. We’re not a better club than they are. We lost Dylan Brown to the Knights ffs. If another club offers far too much we’d be crazy to match it.
We're unlikely to ever win a bidding war. I'd also say we're unlikely to ever win a war for the same money more often than not.

Chipmunk

If we sign him for above $1m to beat the Dragons, people need public hangings

Context matters
I went to see the Bills play the Dolphin in Miami last month. Good experience, as it was a big upset for the home team. I was surprised at the amount of Bills fans at the game.

I've also been to a Bowl game with the Sooners about a decade ago.

emjaycee

You can’t be serious.

Context dude... he isn't a permanent employee of Souths, he is a contractor whose contract expires on 31/10/2026.

He has a chance to renew/extend at the same rate, or take a new contract elsewhere, for let's say 10% more.

In the real world hundreds of contractors move every month at the end of their contracts for a lot less than 10% more.

emjaycee

So is living on the beach, in a property a lot cheaper then Sydney....and less traffic.....

There are so many factors, then just, MON is shit, couldn't sell the eels dream......
No mate, the Greater West is the place to live. If O'Neill can't convince KK of that, he should be sacked immediately.

Stevie

So you wouldn't work doing the same job for a competitor of your current company for 10% more pay?
f**k no. 10% is absolutely nothing when you know your current environment. I’m not a big risk taker though.

Why does that seem hard to understand?

Stevie

I strongly disagree and believe our club is in a SIGNIFICANTLY better position to sell.

I’ll be very surprised if you disagree mate.

Chipmunk

f**k no. 10% is absolutely nothing when you know your current environment. I’m not a big risk taker though.

Why does that seem hard to understand?
I wouldn't even consider staying for 10 per cent for the same job and same conditions.

Under your initial scenario, Souths would pay him 800k/Parra $900k/Saints $1m

So, with that if you're choices to do the same job with the same conditions are what you get with your current employer or you get 12.5% more with another, or 25% more with another, what are you doing?

KK get a helicopter ride by the Dragons.

When KK came to Parra, Jim gave him a double on his favoured lawn mower. Then MON took him around his shopping trolley from his woolies days.

we know how to sign em!