Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours and Stuff

26 - 0 And Martin,Henry,Tago missing due to injury.
The Broncos just won the comp. Let's not pretend the Panthers are suddenly better. Brisbane just had an off night, like us. The reason they only lost by 26 points is that they have the best roster in the game.

I think people were pissed because he clearly still needs time to develop (he can be really good). A longer term deal means he could realise his potential at the club. However a one year loan deal means hes going to use a good portion of this year figuring it out. If were going to use this year to let him do that why wouldnt we just do that with joash or lorenzo which is what i was bitching about when the one year deal happened.

Never played a full season first grade but people acting like he was going to win us games or elevate us into top 6 which is ridiculous. Invest our time and effort into our youth who are here long term is my belief. Its how other teams in many sports grow to become long term dominant clubs for short term pain. I think pezet would make a good back up for moses tho if we did elevate Lorenzo but i doubt he wouldve come to play reserve grade
He only needs to be an improvement on the next guy to be worth it, and I'm certain he will be. That's why the Broncos offered him a long contract while Talataina isn't even top 30 until next year.

Talataina will be a more dangerous attacking player than Pezet but he might never be as good at kicking and defence. He missed 4 tackles from 15 attempts against Melbourne's reserve grade side on Thursday. How many would he have missed against their NRL team? And to say well we got flogged so he might as well have played is flawed logic. There will be plenty of close games this year and Pezet/Talataina could be the difference between a win and a loss in all of them.

TheRam

yeah this kid is good very good and doesn't lack an ounce of courage and ticker but his execution can be very poor at times...we need to keep him down there as long as we can but we may need to make a tough call by round 10 because the current 6 has shown f**k all in 2 trials and 1 game.

Look I'm no Pezet lover by any stretch, but Moses looked like garbage out there too. The halves weren't our problem in that game, it was our ruck and lack of forward grit that then sets the tone for everything else. Then add the refs obvious lopsidedness for the majority of the game when it counted and the result was written.

The team that took the field that night was at best a top 10-7 side if all went our way. We just don't have the top notch front rowers with mongrel or very high work rate and tenacity. Until our R&R really realise this and live and breath it to the point of scouring all of the freakin world if they have to to get said beasts, then I won't be expecting anything less then the big blowout scores against us when things go against us like they did in Thursday night, with so many dubious calls by the ref. I mean look at the Warriors vs Roosters game. The roosters had very little possession too for varying reasons and they other than a brief 10min period where they scored a couple of tries, but then possession went back to the Warriors and it was a blowout scoreline too and the Roosters roster is way better then ours was on Thursday night.

The problem lies in if you can't get close to even possession against a switched on opposition, then in the six again era, you will probably be cactus. Only the very best and elite rosters can withstand 10 to 40 min onslaughts with very little continual possession for themselves. And we are way short of being an elite roster at this point.

I know I keep harping on it, but until we get at least 3 quality (and mostly with size) front rowers then we will always get blown away by the better teams. Look at Bellamy, 2 grand finals where he go beat due to not having real quality and size up front. So what has he done, well you don't have to look much further then his bench on Thursday night, 4 genuine gorillas on the bench to pick from. As soon as I saw his bench compared to ours, I sensed we were in trouble if things went against us. Players like Grant thrive with a loose and exhausted ruck. Then the rest of our line just disintegrates all over the place and everyone then just ends up looking ordinary due to loosing their collective heads and panic sets in and the game plane goes out.

Size does matter not just in the bedroom. If you want to pound the opposition into submission, young and agile size, size and more size. Not old and limp fatties either.

Look I'm no Pezet lover by any stretch, but Moses looked like garbage out there too. The halves weren't our problem in that game, it was our ruck and lack of forward grit that then sets the tone for everything else. Then add the refs obvious lopsidedness for the majority of the game when it counted and the result was written.

The team that took the field that night was at best a top 10-7 side if all went our way. We just don't have the top notch front rowers with mongrel or very high work rate and tenacity. Until our R&R really realise this and live and breath it to the point of scouring all of the freakin world if they have to to get said beasts, then I won't be expecting anything less then the big blowout scores against us when things go against us like they did in Thursday night, with so many dubious calls by the ref. I mean look at the Warriors vs Roosters game. The roosters had very little possession too for varying reasons and they other than a brief 10min period where they scored a couple of tries, but then possession went back to the Warriors and it was a blowout scoreline too and the Roosters roster is way better then ours was on Thursday night.

The problem lies in if you can't get close to even possession against a switched on opposition, then in the six again era, you will probably be cactus. Only the very best and elite rosters can withstand 10 to 40 min onslaughts with very little continual possession for themselves. And we are way short of being an elite roster at this point.

I know I keep harping on it, but until we get at least 3 quality (and mostly with size) front rowers then we will always get blown away by the better teams. Look at Bellamy, 2 grand finals where he go beat due to not having real quality and size up front. So what has he done, well you don't have to look much further then his bench on Thursday night, 4 genuine gorillas on the bench to pick from. As soon as I saw his bench compared to ours, I sensed we were in trouble if things went against us. Players like Grant thrive with a loose and exhausted ruck. Then the rest of our line just disintegrates all over the place and everyone then just ends up looking ordinary due to loosing their collective heads and panic sets in and the game plane goes out.

Size does matter not just in the bedroom. If you want to pound the opposition into submission, young and agile size, size and more size. Not old and limp fatties either.
You admitted our problem was a lack of possession then still carried on about lack of size.

TheRam

You admitted our problem was a lack of possession then still carried on about lack of size.

Because, without quality size, you will rarely ever get the momentum back from a team that is dominating you in the ruck and a ref that only sees one teams infringements. You will never gas them the way they gas you.

Come on mate, it ain't that hard, or are you trolling me again you CO*K!

Because, without quality size, you will rarely ever get the momentum back from a team that is dominating you in the ruck and a ref that only sees one teams infringements. You will never gas them the way they gas you.

It's all about physical presence across park. Look at Penrith from no 1 thru to 19. Every single player is super fit and chiseled balls of muscle.
The smallest guys are Edwards, Too,Blaize,Cleary who are all capable of busting tackles and hitting hard.
It isn't full of skillfull or electric players. Just strong and fit.

Lets look at some of our guys

Ionghi,Jac,Pezet, Joash, Russel,Kelly,Simmonson, Hopgood, Moses,Guymer,JDB, Smith,TDS,Walker.

Ionghi,JAC,Moses,Walker get a pass due to high levels of skill.
But to many guys who have weak hit ups in the side and no physical presence at all.

You need guys who hit hard and tackle hard. Adding Morreti and Tuivati helps. As does JAC. Still 2 or 3 short

T-Boon

What we should do as rugby league intellectuals is get really specific about what we did wrong / badly in the ruck. No cliches.

Timana

I think people were pissed because he clearly still needs time to develop (he can be really good). A longer term deal means he could realise his potential at the club. However a one year loan deal means hes going to use a good portion of this year figuring it out. If were going to use this year to let him do that why wouldnt we just do that with joash or lorenzo which is what i was bitching about when the one year deal happened.

Never played a full season first grade but people acting like he was going to win us games or elevate us into top 6 which is ridiculous. Invest our time and effort into our youth who are here long term is my belief. Its how other teams in many sports grow to become long term dominant clubs for short term pain. I think pezet would make a good back up for moses tho if we did elevate Lorenzo but i doubt he wouldve come to play reserve grade
For this year only, would he be better than footy Dean

Timana

Rcg a few years back. I miss him. To an extent Nathan Brown. Jnr would be a much better player if he had their fire

I actually wouldve loved nas here

What we should do as rugby league intellectuals is get really specific about what we did wrong / badly in the ruck. No cliches.

Look at our starting middle

Jnr - I'll just pass
Hopgood- I'll just tackle or offload
JDM - Ill be the 3rd man in to flop

Atleast Kutoga and Williams run with some purpose....

TheRam

It's all about physical presence across park. Look at Penrith from no 1 thru to 19. Every single player is super fit and chiseled balls.

There I fix that sentence Hindy.

Chiseled balls gets you 4 in a row. You heard it here first. Hindy back to Mr 100%.

TheRam

Rcg a few years back. I miss him. To an extent Nathan Brown. Jnr would be a much better player if he had their fire

I actually wouldve loved nas here

Even when we had RCG and Junior, we were still down at least one more fire brand FR. You need that rotation otherwise you eventually run out of puff and allow the opposition to recover and come back at you.

Delboy

Even when we had RCG and Junior, we were still down at least one more fire brand FR. You need that rotation otherwise you eventually run out of puff and allow the opposition to recover and come back at you.
It’s all,about list management, Storm manage to find the big , agile forwards . Most clubs seems to do,it better than we currently do, and yet the person called list manager seems made of Teflon.
Need better eyes out there and then an ability to actually sign them.

Pazza

It’s all,about list management, Storm manage to find the big , agile forwards . Most clubs seems to do,it better than we currently do, and yet the person called list manager seems made of Teflon.
Need better eyes out there and then an ability to actually sign them.

#resources

Penrith won four premierships with a small pack. The reason was that they controlled the ball, and when they didn't, they could still defend their mistakes. Big boppers are great when they don't have to make many tackles. Less great when they do.