Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours (signings, sackings & other NRL stuff)

Nutz

Agree, but do we get these new signings without Benji?
Yep, blokes Like Jarome was a huge fan of Benji growing up.
I think the group of Api, Luai, Turuva and Benji are on the same page. I still have a feeling that Benji will attract more good players, maybe May???
Sometimes a toxic culture can take years to clean up.
This hard stand with preseason fitness is brilliant and will probably take another season to finally stick in the players' heads. Boot them out if they don't buy in.
Players in Melbourne who haven't adjusted to the strict 1%ers effort areas and discipline would stand out like a sore thumb.
Tiger05 has a point about the coaching concerns and the main point that should be addressed is our defensive coach. It just hasn't worked for years. I don't think Morris is the guy for this role and has to take ownership too for the spoons.
We know the hardest thing about playing the game is defense. It's like doing 80min of 10m shuttle runs with a tackle and wrestle thrown in. I argue that anyone who thinks it's easy are nutz.
The first thing a team stuffs up in a game is due to defensive fatigue which effects concentration, missed tackles, leaving gaps by not getting in position etc.
Apart from a defensive stratergy that the coach implements it's all up to the players when the game starts.
The coaches can't tackle or run. The players should be be hugely accountable.

Nutz

@Tigerm Now that I've recovered and off Endone, am I right this time by saying we are a big chance of snagging May now that it appears Papenhuyzen is heading to the dogs.
laughing-emoji-emoticon-very-happy-smiley-face-character-hard-tears-shooting-out-70646719.jpg

Nutz

It's a good point. He seems to be signing plenty of players. Our problem is getting some players off our books.

If he can actually get the coaching side right he might be a huge part of turning this around.
Tiger, you often hear people quoting "the team with the best roster usually wins"
Atm, this applies to us.
I think it may have been you (unsure) when it was said during this season that Benji needs to fix up his running of the side regarding subs and team selections. I agree with this. This is huge and experience is needed.
However 90% or thereabout of the result rests on the players shoulders.

Tiger, you often hear people quoting "the team with the best roster usually wins"

I agree with this.

I think it may have been you (unsure) when it was said during this season that Benji needs to fix up his running of the side regarding subs and team selections. I agree with this. This is huge and experience is needed.

I don't think it was me stating the subs being wrong or the team selections. My take was when he told the guys to just play footy for the end of season last place play off last year it was terrible coaching.

I'm hopeful the guy learns from last year.

Atm, this applies to us.
Disagree on the thesis because players are more or less supposed to be implementing coaches game plans and it’s ultimately up to the coach to instil fitness and defensive guys.

I think the load is shared 50/50.

Exhibit A would be SGI who over achieved and had a great season with virtually no new signings.The key difference was coaching.

How he handled Lomax was instructive.

Benji got too many things wrong last season to give me much hope and Hodgos record is regrettable to say the least.

We had the opportunity to appoint accomplished coaches from outside of the club but the snout was too firmly planted.

Richo has to take his share of the blame.

Benji is the least experienced coach in the NRL, daylight second.

We’ve got another rough year ahead. Hopefully an improvement, but no top 8 on the horizon atm anyway.

Nutz

I agree with this.

I don't think it was me stating the subs being wrong or the team selections. My take was when he told the guys to just play footy for the end of season last place play off last year it was terrible coaching.

I'm hopeful the guy learns from last year.
Yeh gotcha, I remember you saying that. It was inexperience that he even made that statement.
If I was coach I would implement a basic, simplistic game plan and training regime but done with 100% effort and under duress.
Sometimes you have to flog a dead horse as long as you can resuscitate them and hand out the rewards later ;)
Quality players have done the hard work beforehand and know what to do.

Nutz

Disagree on the thesis because players are more or less supposed to be implementing coaches game plans and it’s ultimately up to the coach to instil fitness and defensive guys.

I think the load is shared 50/50.

Exhibit A would be SGI who over achieved and had a great season with virtually no new signings.The key difference was coaching.

How he handled Lomax was instructive.
Any coach will tell you that their job was practically done after training had finished during the week.
The game plan was rehearsed over and over and over and .........
Their role is huge midweek.
Just before the game you will see the players in a huddle and most of which is said is re-enforcing the game plan....kick chase, support etc etc
Players have to own it come game time.
I agree with a loss is largely due to diverting away from the game plan but as I said it's the players who play the game.

Any coach will tell you that their job was practically done after training had finished during the week.
The game plan was rehearsed over and over and over and .........
Their role is huge midweek.
Just before the game you will see the players in a huddle and most of which is said is re-enforcing the game plan....kick chase, support etc etc
Players have to own it come game time.
I agree with a loss is largely due to diverting away from the game plan but as I said it's the players who play the game.
Our discipline was rubbish all year. No one learned anything. Coaching issue.

Nutz

Our discipline was rubbish all year. No one learned anything. Coaching issue.
Now that I agree with.
But you have to understand that quality players are easy to coach, they buy in to what's required then go out on game day and get the job done without daddy holding his hand.
The best roster is made up practically entirely of these type of players.
It's these type of players that the Storm knows will buy in, have no excuses and get the job done.
Half time is also another area where a good coach shines but after they run out onto the field it's up to the players.
An NRL coach shouldn't have to teach. All the footy stuff is prior learning.
His job is to assemble the roster of players that will get it done.

Tiger Ted

There is some interesting stuff going on, thats for sure.

We have one spot for next year, hopefully for May.

What I find most interesting is us trying to offload Douehi and Sullivan. Surely if we are being so proactive above this we must have other signings waiting? We cant go into January players short. Zero interest in Sullivan out there, but the dragons might take Douehi if we chip in.

I would happily play their entire freight to have them both far away from our grade team.

I have a feeling Bird plays center for us, were skinny there.

Honestly, if we get May thats probably our best recruitment session for some time, if not ever.

Its going to come down to the coaching next year. Hopefully Hodgo helps
Hodgo’s coaching career encompasses an unsuccessful stint with Hull fc who sacked him & assisting the arrogant fraudster Eddie jones as the wallabies defence coach.Hes also an ex team mate of Benji’s hence y he should never have got the job.Our coaching staff r deadset abysmal.Ive lost total confidence in the sickly Richo after that cringey statement to the bum Brooks plus the signings of an injury prone Bird & another unmerited old boy to the coaching staff.Additionally that trip to the UK proved to be futile.

It's a good point. He seems to be signing plenty of players. Our problem is getting some players off our books.

If he can actually get the coaching side right he might be a huge part of turning this around.
He’s basically 2 seasons older, if he’s not learning now, I don’t think he’ll be here by the end of the ‘25 season.