Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Rumours (signings, sackings & other NRL stuff)

Not really. I'm just comparing pricetags.
He has a better all round game imo and cheaper. Think about it, if Jarome did leave us and we got this bloke, we could afford another marquee player and secure our best players.
I'm not advocating getting rid of Luai, just saying that now we have attracted some decent players we could reshape our roster if need be, if Luai bugs off
We have to stay one step ahead in the rcruiting department and noone is bigger than the team.
I’m not one of the JL critics per se.

I think he could have had a better 2025, but he got distracted.

Hopefully he can knuckle down. We need him at full pelt.

And when he’s focused and in the zone, he is extremely capable and can be of the best footy players of the round for any side.

He’s still very much marquee.

Nutz

I’m not one of the JL critics per se.

I think he could have had a better 2025, but he got distracted.

Hopefully he can knuckle down. We need him at full pelt.

And when he’s focused and in the zone, he is extremely capable and can be of the best footy players of the round.
That's a given mate. Not my angle though. We paid huge overs to get a guy that would attract good players, particularly the Samoan lads and as you said, he's got more to offer.
I'm just saying that if he would ip and leave we wouldn't lose any momentum signing the young rooster and have a war chest as well... win win imo.

That's a given mate. Not my angle though. We paid huge overs to get a guy that would attract good players, particularly the Samoan lads and as you said, he's got more to offer.
I'm just saying that if he would ip and leave we wouldn't lose any momentum signing the young rooster and have a war chest as well... win win imo.

I reckon Luai is a marquee player but he didn't perform to the level he needs to last season.

I don't think we signed him for attracting quality players. I think we signed him to be a huge part of a team that makes the finals and competes to win the comp.

If we get to that level he is worth it. If not he isn't.

He is meant to be our game winning half and he has proven himself so many times. He just has to do it again.

Nutz

I reckon Luai is a marquee player but he didn't perform to the level he needs to last season.

I don't think we signed him for attracting quality players. I think we signed him to be a huge part of a team that makes the finals and competes to win the comp.

He is meant to be our game winning half and he has proven himself so many times. He just has to do it again.
I do, I think his Samoan influence was a part of the 2 May's recruitment. Also Turuva and it's continuing with Penrith young gun Jack Attard. We were apparently close to signing To'o too.
Richo had a connection with the Panthers and was instrumental in getting Luai knowing that the pennies would drop so to speak.
Before signing Luai, we didn't have a good enough roster but since getting Luai our roster is in better shape.

I think we signed him to do both, it would have been noted by every player in the comp that he was coming here and I believe it has delivered on that side of things, now we just have to get some solid consistency, and we're almost there.

How has he delivered on that ?

I do, I think his Samoan influence was a part of the 2 May's recruitment. Also Turuva and it's continuing with Penrith young gun Jack Attard. We were apparently close to signing To'o too.
Richo had a connection with the Panthers and was instrumental in getting Luai knowing that the pennies would drop so to speak.
Before signing Luai, we didn't have a good enough roster but since getting Luai our roster is in better shape.
I think the record shows that It was Benji who closed the deal with Terrell.

Terrell had a falling out with Robbo and Co because he wasn’t able to keep with some training regimes due to a family matter that he considered was more important.

He felt frustrated and there were words.

He spoke to Benji, Benji showed true and meaningful sympathy with his position and Terrell feels the love and signs.

And as far as I know, he hasn’t squibbed or been a philanderer at training.

And has blown all the other forwards off the park.

So his recruitment and performances reflect quite well on Benji, one of his successes.

Credit where credit is due.

I’m not sure it is a Samoan thing as such.

The signing that are here or coming, I don't think we would have been considered by a few of the current new & older signings, without a marque coming here, not with our record at least.
It wasn't only him, but I believe he was a big part of it.

Who has he signed ? Api, Turuva, Skelton, KPP, Hunt or Bird ?

I think none of them.

I think we signed both May boys but I don't think it was Luai that got them here.

I think if we signed him to sign other players it was a terrible decision and it's an outright failure.

If we signed him to get us to the finals and play a role in that then let's see what happens.

So his recruitment and performances reflect quite well on Benji, one of his successes.

Benji has been able to recruit players. At the same time he has lost Stef and Galvin.

Recruitment and retention isn't so easy. It's also a team effort.

I think though Benji has significantly out-performed Madge when it comes to recruitment and retention. I have to give the new administration credit as well.

They’ll be folk lining up on members day to kiss the feet of JL, to laugh with Birdy, to pretend to pull Skels hair, to ask KPP what playing for England is like.

But my sole objective will be to put my arms around Terrell May in an Uber fan thank you hug…and never let go!

IMG_0904.jpeg
Luv u.

Benji has been able to recruit players. At the same time he has lost Stef and Galvin.

Recruitment and retention isn't so easy. It's also a team effort.

I think though Benji has significantly out-performed Madge when it comes to recruitment and retention. I have to give the new administration credit as well.
Madge was still fighting with one arm tied behind his back.

With Terrell, I think Benji was honest with him when he said family were very important. He’s made public statements about that.

The stars aligned. I think we were all a bit shocked but happy.

I think there is some truth in that getting good players on board helps.
The players that put a lot of weight on making finals and things.

It’s a very tricky business as you say.
And can be very cut throat.

Just as an aside, I’m wondering if Dave Fifita will ever make it back. Too much praise too young?

A curious case that one.

Who has he signed ? Api, Turuva, Skelton, KPP, Hunt or Bird ?

I think none of them.

I think we signed both May boys but I don't think it was Luai that got them here.

I think if we signed him to sign other players it was a terrible decision and it's an outright failure.

If we signed him to get us to the finals and play a role in that then let's see what happens.
Luai hasn't signed anyone, but I believe players look at who's in the team, before they even think about moving into a club, Luai made a big statement for the club by coming here, obviously believing in the direction and others would have been less hesitant about coming here, Benji deservedly gets most of the credit for them signing though.

I think there is some truth in that getting good players on board helps.

It's critical. You can't win without a quality squad. I think Benji was (maybe he still is) a very inexperienced coach and he has probably made heaps of mistakes.

I also think we look better than we have in a long time.

It's recruitment and retention.

We've also lost players like Galvin, Stef and Papali'i. Our recruitment has been great.

Just as an aside, I’m wondering if Dave Fifita will ever make it back. Too much praise too young?

I wonder as well. There aren't many players with his physical attributes.

League isn't an easy game. I don't know why some players take that step up from being junior superstars to becoming marquee players.

Walsh to me appears a moron, he was getting rag dolled at the start of the season and looked ordinary. He is right now looking like the best player in the game.

I wonder as well. There aren't many players with his physical attributes.

League isn't an easy game. I don't know why some players take that step up from being junior superstars to becoming marquee players.

Walsh to me appears a moron, he was getting rag dolled at the start of the season and looked ordinary. He is right now looking like the best player in the game.
Yeah, big Dave there’s been many theories out there. Des was obviously going through a slump, a bit like Madge, but the expectations of the Titan board were sky high with the squads on offer.
Big Dave loses his desire and slowly drowns and then we get a bit of a random like Shibersaki who ramps up “beyond his abilities.” His rise to footy eminence has been astonishing.

When League is probably one of the hardest games on earth. The range of skills, physical attributes and mental qualities required to play well is enormous and the situations and circumstances players have to contend with is extremely demanding. How some of the players get up after being subject to the force of a car accident is amazing.

Walsh is young and immature off the field, but his positioning and reading of the game during play is outstanding. It’s Cleary like. Whether he can continue the computational excellence, we will need to see.

Us experienced fans, we’ve all seen the fad players come and go. Walsh has a long way to go to be a Cleary or have the sustained excellence of a Yeo.

I think Dave has got into a serious rut, I think he’s closed the mental hatches, the operation to open them again won’t be easy.

And of course, I stand by Des. I don’t think his journey is over. I hope not anyway. I’d love to see him here post Benji. Benji can slip into a recruitment role if need be.

Richo’s tenure is only for a few years longer. I think that’s his overall plan.
If we jag the premiership, I think it would be mission accomplished.

I remembered when we pounded young Shibbers into cup and almost destroyed his career, so a soft spot.

I don’t think I would have selected him for international footy, but one the ones you don’t mind getting wrong.

I’d be happy to get my assessment of Benji wrong as a coach, but I can’t see him finding a way atm.