Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Running Appreciation thread

Red Bear

Yeah halves tend to work like that, i've shave ~5 minutes off my time each half i've done.

Blowing up has never been the problem, i usually cant judge how hard to go out, once i get to halfway i tend to kick a bit harder and finish strongly.

Running a ten km run on Sunday nearby, should be good.

SpaceMonkey

knocked out another 12km tonight, starting to feel fairly comfortable doing that sort of distance, will prolly try for 15-16 later in the week. Feeling way more confident about C2S now, though i can't see myself doing it particularly quickly.

God-King Dean

I got an exchange for my Vibram Five Fingers.

1. My right foot slightly geniused. On the left I land mid-sole, on the right I land on the lateral side of my foot. Wearing the Vibrams exaggerated the lateral landing & I started to get pains in my foot, then eventual in my knee. This was just from walking around the house.
2. Sprinting was an issue. Didn't feel comfortable & didn't feel like a could take off.

Exchanged them for the Nike Free 5.0. I went for them rather than 3.0 because it has a higher heel-to-toe ratio, so I figure that will help my geniused right foot.

Wearing them right now, we'll see how she goes. If they go good I'll try to 3.0 next.

Danish

I've used the 3.0s for the past 2 years GKD and they are freaking awesome.

Take a bit of time getting used to compared to other shoes I am told, but TBH I wasn't fit enough when I first bought them to run anything more than a few hundred metres at a time anyway so my feet got used to them fairly easily and by the time I could actually run 4-5km without stopping I'd been using them for a couple months already.

The Nike 5.0s look pretty good to me as well though. Been thinking of getting a pair of them specifically for long distances as my ankles start to get a little sore running anything over 30km and I'm thinking the extra cushioning might help that.

Red Bear

Good luck mate!

Any goal time in your head of just go hard and see what happens?
Sub-40 is the aim, havent really raced 10km before though. Raced 6.5 km in a tick under 25 minutes in february though and im fitter now than I was then, plus the course is easier than my training runs and I can knock out just under 10 km in 45 minutes doing them. So should be able to do sub 40 relatively comfortably

Red Bear

gah, 40.40. Didnt feel great the whole run, legs a bit heavy. Bit annoying, was running very well 2 1/2-3 weeks ago but seem to have lost a yard of pace since then. Frustrating but oh well.

SpaceMonkey

Cool and overcast today, looks like running weather. Thinking I might have a crack at 16km this arvo, new territory for me.

Cliffhanger

Good luck!

I was supposed to do 20 ks this morning but a wound on my foot got infected yesterday and I can barely even walk, so annoyed.

But have been running heaps lately. Would doing two runs a day be too much?

Danish

Running twice per day is fine. All that really matter is the distance you are covering.

You are only supposed to increase distance by about 10% per week so providing you aren't trying to increase your kms by too much you'll be fine.

I am only aiming for about 60km per week or so at the moment so can get that done with 1 run per day, but a few people are talking to me about doing one of the 100km ultras next year as a team so if that gets taken up then running twice per day will probably be required!

Danish

gah, 40.40. Didnt feel great the whole run, legs a bit heavy. Bit annoying, was running very well 2 1/2-3 weeks ago but seem to have lost a yard of pace since then. Frustrating but oh well.

Unlucky mate... although 40.40 is still a tremendous time! Beats my PB by a good few mins thats for sure :)

We are hitting running season now anyway so will be easy enough to have another crack soon enough. I'm sure you'll get it next time out

SpaceMonkey

You are only supposed to increase distance by about 10% per week so providing you aren't trying to increase your kms by too much you'll be fine.

Oops, I ended up doing 21.5km today, never did more than 14 before. Was aiming for 16 but just kept going, I accidentally the half marathon.

Red Bear

Yeah, I wanna do the North Face 100 k next year, and I need to kick up my training.

Running twice per day is fine. All that really matter is the distance you are covering.

I am only aiming for about 60km per week or so at the moment so can get that done with 1 run per day, but a few people are talking to me about doing one of the 100km ultras next year as a team so if that gets taken up then running twice per day will probably be required!
I am also looking at TNF100 next year (probably after Canberra)

Not sure how much training you can really do for it, at the end of the day it'll just be about getting your intake right the whole time and it's not like you are going for speed in that particular race. A friend got 85km through this year which was a pretty fair effort

Danish

The main training I'd want to do is to basically just get some good LONG runs under my belt through the bush as practice.

Would probably want to get a bit of survival type training going on as well, as in basic first aid etc.

Cliffhanger

Went for a run this morning despite the infection I have in my foot, I was running like a genius and it was so painful.

Typically I am pretty anti antibiotics and pain killers. Wish my foot would just sort itself out.