Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sack Adam O'Brien

What’s the excuse for the first 17 rounds?
In short its been the spine. Cogger has been especially bad for 90% of his time here and Sharpe is in his 1st year as a half. Add to this the fact that Crossland is a great squad player but a below average attacking hooker and you get the results we've seen so far in 2025.

Gamble being in and out like a tampon and Hastings being as broken as a chair at a Jenny Craig clinic have also been significant factors.

We 100% need an experienced and physically capable half in 2026. We went and got that in Brown.

We need a smart, creative hooker which is still up in the air right now

My initial reaction was “Hurray!” But then I read that Blake Green is being considered as his replacement for 2026. WTF? Isn’t he responsible for our abysmal attack? Or at least partially responsible. Honestly if Green takes over I think we’re getting more of the same next year.

So let’s say there weren’t already red flags around Green due to the fact that he’s the attacking coach already. But wouldn’t it be better for us to bring a new voice in? Like what’s Blake Green going to say to the team next year that he’s not already saying this year? Either he’s a good attacking coach and the team isn’t listening to him or they’re not capable of delivering, or he’s just a bad attacking coach and what we’re seeing is his plan. Either way I can’t see how it changes next year.

Honestly normally I’d be optimistic about a new coach coming in but this would be a very uninspiring appointment given how things have gone over the last few years, aside from a 10 week run in 2023.

Haffa

Need 34 points to avoid being the worst attacking team in NRL history. Wests in 99 did get to 285 in 24 rounds. That’s how dire their coaching is.

it won’t be Green

SamSepi0l

The timing is hilarious too. Lucas, KP and Sharpe all out for the year. POS openly admitted we're having to punt on middles to fix the cap. But now the pressure is on. Clown show.

Apey

The timing is hilarious too. Lucas, KP and Sharpe all out for the year. POS openly admitted we're having to punt on middles to fix the cap. But now the pressure is on. Clown show.
Sorry mate, he's a dud.

No way it'll be Green though. I'll be here laughing with you if it is. Not even we're incompetent enough to promote our attack coach after being a historically bad attacking team... right guys?

Knight Tales

News Ltd and Fairfax both reporting on it. My hope is Willie Peters but I reckon it’s Hannay. According to Triple M Hannay is the number 1 choice of titans and NQ. So he must be ready to go.

Omg it might actually be happening everybody

Omg... it's like Christmas, but I actually get a present here.

Then you read that the leading candidate is the other bloke responsible for our attack and your heart sinks. We are uniquely stupid if it plays out that way. There's literally two guys in the world that can fairly take heat for the way our attack works (or a couple more if you want to shit on our halves some more too)... and we're going to get rid of one to replace him with the other?

Grandpa Joe

Blake green taking over as head coach has me worried

hasn’t he been our attack coach the last few years?

Saying it is concerning would be an understatement, John Morris would be my pick, did very well with sub par Sharks team when in charge and seemed to have a bit of mettle to him.

To me we need to get a coach who will stand up and stop being run by Ponga's clique.

Apey

I'd like to think if it was Green it was just a stand-in type thing for a year, looking for a silver lining here - just because I do believe we are stupid enough. At least we'd soon find out who was responsible for our attack lol.

HarVeeGee

I mean AOB was about as heralded and hyped of an attacking assistant as anyone in the past decade, that was his whole appeal. Then as a head coach, the guy who the buck actually stops with, he's been this dour, conservative guy who responds to adverse situations by screaming "DON'T YOU KNOW WHO I AM?" to randoms at the races, or by saying the fans don't know anything about rugby league. The dude is wound tighter than my belt at an all-you-can-eat pancake breakfast and that comes out in the nervous, robotic footy you see our guys play where they're clearly second-guessing themselves constantly.

NFI if Blake would have what it takes, but at least he's in the building and people at the club deal with him every day. So they're relying on their experience with him as a bloke in their judgement of if he's got the right stuff, not on propaganda from agents or this or that assistant's good mates in the media.

SamSepi0l

The team Performance this weekend will be interesting. I pray for whoever gets this gig.
I don't know what people realistically expect for the run home? We're playing a top 4-6 side this week and missing our 3 best players, playing a 3rd string fb, trotting out Cogger voluntarily and have no bench middles. In any other sport I follow fans can understand when/why things just suck sometimes. NRL seems to always be expecting miracles and piss and moan when they don't happen.