Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sack Flanagan

Crush

The better questions might be

Are we progressing under S F or are we treading water at best or maybe even going backwards

Is sticking with Cake, K F, C T who are all spuds restricting further development of younger players?

Have we become a club that accepts close losses as a recipe to roll out the same team just in hope that maybe we win next time?

Does our general kicking game look like Hunt never left?

Has our mental weakness resurfaced as we show no ability to ice a game?

Did S F sign a lot of spuds in the last 2 years and are those signings coming home to haunt him?
I just feel like all these questions are a little premature, it’s very early days this season, I’d be happy to start asking these questions at seasons end .

These questions are equally relevant now as they would be at the end of the year.

No reason to not ask them as the season progresses as then you’ll know what we’re dealing with.

We are either improving as a team or not and individuals are improving or they’re not.

If some things improve as we go along then tick them off and remove them from the list.

Crush

These questions are equally relevant now as they would be at the end of the year.

No reason to not ask them as the season progresses as then you’ll know what we’re dealing with.

We are either improving as a team or not and individuals are improving or they’re not.

If some things improve as we go along then tick them off and remove them from the list.
OK sure, then let me put my 2 cents in.
Are we progressing under Flano? Yes we are, this year we seem to have more versatile attacking options, we are scoring in a number of different ways, we aren’t just kick for the winger and hope. Our GL defence has been better than last year, although we seem to tire at back end of game which ultimately lets us down.
Flanno would be ropeable that we let those 2 games slip through poor concentration and lack of belief, if we’d win them we aren’t having this conversation.

Sticking with players, this will become a problem if we continue to lose and are sticking with players after Origin. Flanno is conservative somewhat here but it’s round 6, I’m still OK with the pick and stick given the narrow losses at this stage.

A club that accepts losses? No I don’t think so at all, they’d be spewing and working hard to rectify.

General kicking game, it’s not great, it’s pretty much Ben Hunt level but we do have more options this year which takes some pressure off.

Mental weakness, 100% we are. This is an area that Flanno will be judged heavily on and should be, we need to be more confident and not clock in and out of games.

Flanno signing spuds, I don’t think so at all, I’m happy with the recruitment. Some are better than others but he’s done a good job in my eyes.

Unlike many, I still believe that we have the team to succeed, it’s a rebuilding process and it’ll be bumpy ride but let’s hope Flanno can turn around this poor start and we can climb up the table.

Sacking Flanno would put us back years, it would be a terrible decision.

Are we progressing under Flano? Yes we are, this year we seem to have more versatile attacking options, we are scoring in a number of different ways, we aren’t just kick for the winger and hope. Our GL defence has been better than last year, although we seem to tire at back end of game which ultimately lets us down.
Flanno would be ropeable that we let those 2 games slip through poor concentration and lack of belief, if we’d win them we aren’t having this conversation.

Sticking with players, this will become a problem if we continue to lose and are sticking with players after Origin. Flanno is conservative somewhat here but it’s round 6, I’m still OK with the pick and stick given the narrow losses at this stage.

A club that accepts losses? No I don’t think so at all, they’d be spewing and working hard to rectify.

General kicking game, it’s not great, it’s pretty much Ben Hunt level but we do have more options this year which takes some pressure off.

Mental weakness, 100% we are. This is an area that Flanno will be judged heavily on and should be, we need to be more confident and not clock in and out of games.

Flanno signing spuds, I don’t think so at all, I’m happy with the recruitment. Some are better than others but he’s done a good job in my eyes.

Unlike many, I still believe that we have the team to succeed, it’s a rebuilding process and it’ll be bumpy ride but let’s hope Flanno can turn around this poor start and we can climb up the table.

Sacking Flanno would put us back years, it would be a terrible decision.
Agreed. Flanno is our man and he will be our long term. Early days, and he is trying to rebuild our culture.
If we go 1 - 6 or 2 - 6 will you still stay the course?

Rebuild culture all you like but getting players and the team to improve is his actual job as us winning games.

Crush

If we go 1 - 6 or 2 - 6 will you still stay the course?

Rebuild culture all you like but getting players and the team to improve is his actual job as us winning games.
I’ll be staying the course all year, if we crash and burn this year then next year the pressure will be on.
But I’m confident that we won’t, we can turn this around into a successful season, early days

since77

I’ll be staying the course all year, if we crash and burn this year then next year the pressure will be on.
But I’m confident that we won’t, we can turn this around into a successful season, early days
Like you I’m trusting Flanno will get us where we want to get to.
For us long suffering fans it’s like watching a ship at sea trying to turn around - painfully slow.

Flanno still has two huge non negotiable issues to fix or he’ll fail -

1. The front row. I said in the off season that we could sign the best backline in the comp and it would be pointless if the front row is still p#ss poor. It’s the worst front row in the comp and we’re no hope until it improves.

2. The mental weakness. Two unforgivable losses after being up by 12 points mid way through the second half of two games. Unless Flanno can break the losing culture in the players minds he’ll fail.

It also hurts to think that with just a few extra brain cells the team could be on 3 wins and ensconced in the top 8. Instead the season is already on shaky ground.

BrissieDragons

Look back at 1999 season we were also 1-3 by the start as well. See here.

The team we had was full of superstar players, the new culture, two merged coaches working together and that. We turned out better than expected by seasons' end.

Think about possibly turning points this year we have few star players playing in new culture with us. Those new players have winning culture mindsets and premiership experiences as well.

Takes time, including our youth which Flanno is letting them to play which is a huge bonus for what we after for many years.

Our winning culture will come.

What did we get from our coach this week.
More Cake, Ilias, Sloan & K F.
No Finau, no Loko, no LKT, no Lawson.
Sele & Eisenhuth not only spuds but now mashed too boot.
All topped off with a one year extension to the slowest winger ever to play for us and complete silence re a key junior forward
FMD this is beyond frustrating.

SEAT 1A

Staying the course.

Got bullish with the preseason however, one win one loss seems to be hanging around this year.

The positive for the year is taking out the bye, we would be in the same position. Another big game with the Titans, same differential and they have also had a bye.

Guler back soon and Klem getting back on the bike.

Only negative, May going great at the Tigers and would have liked to see Latu resigned.

I'm Hornby

Are we progressing under Flano? Yes we are, this year we seem to have more versatile attacking options, we are scoring in a number of different ways, we aren’t just kick for the winger and hope.
Your assertion is frankly preposterous, and it conveniently overlooks our current standing of 15th in the NRL for points scored. I strongly urge you to revisit the statistics on tries scored this season to date—hardly an inspiring tally.

Our attacking prowess offers little beyond a predictable third-man-out-the-back maneuver from Gutherson to one of the wingers, a strategy that lacks dynamism. You yourself conceded earlier this season that our attack is ponderous, a rare point of agreement between us.

Spazer

Your assertion is frankly preposterous, and it conveniently overlooks our current standing of 15th in the NRL for points scored. I strongly urge you to revisit the statistics on tries scored this season to date—hardly an inspiring tally.
That is with a bye. We are 11th on average for tries scored and that's with games against bulldogs and melb who are both strong defensively. In fact, we're tied 5th for average linebreaks.

On a sidenote, we are 2nd last for average missed tackles, which is very surprising.

redv13

That is with a bye. We are 11th on average for tries scored and that's with games against bulldogs and melb who are both strong defensively. In fact, we're tied 5th for average linebreaks.

On a sidenote, we are 2nd last for average missed tackles, which is very surprising.
Doesn’t suit his agenda mate. Even our defence has improved compared to last year. Haven’t been lapped either. Last year when we lost it was usually by a bit, not 8,1, and 1. Still a little early to be writing the season off. Lots more games to be played and hopefully it’s a solid victory tomorrow night

Slippery Morris

12 months ago in Round 6 Saints were -F/A -36 with 106 points for and 142 against. 3 wins 3 losses. 12 months later 18 F/A with 100 against (Improvement of 42). and 118 for (2 converted tries) but only 2 wins 3 losses. However the losses last year were floggings 38-0 v Dolphins, 46-24 Cows and 30-10 v knights. This year 2 losses were games dominated by Saints for 60 mins then they put the cue in the rack and lost by 1 and 2 points. And the other loss is to the team undefeated who capitalised on 20 minuets (10 before and 10 after halftime) when Saints had JDB off for HIA and Couchman ruled out and it was all chaotic in the middle with the ref allowing a couple of forward passes. It was 6-4 Saints way before then. Saints were not the better team but compared to last year would have been flogged instead lost by 8.

Saints should be on 10 points with 4 wins, a bye and 1 loss equal with the Storm. Which is frustrating but more of that blame is on the players not Flanno. They are the ones that put the cue in the rack. I am pretty sure Flanno did not say it's all good boys you can relax now the game is over with a 2 try lead. He put players on the last 20 he trusted to lock the game up instead they allowed soft tries to equal the game. No coach would tell a team to relax, it's over red rover on the 60 min mark. On top of that Saints in 2025 have a new spine and the halves are rated the worst pairing in the NRL. Everyone questioned where Saints tries would come now that Hunt and Lomax are gone and Saints have actauly scored more.

BrissieDragons

12 months ago in Round 6 Saints were -F/A -36 with 106 points for and 142 against. 3 wins 3 losses. 12 months later 18 F/A with 100 against (Improvement of 42). and 118 for (2 converted tries) but only 2 wins 3 losses. However the losses last year were floggings 38-0 v Dolphins, 46-24 Cows and 30-10 v knights. This year 2 losses were games dominated by Saints for 60 mins then they put the cue in the rack and lost by 1 and 2 points. And the other loss is to the team undefeated who capitalised on 20 minuets (10 before and 10 after halftime) when Saints had JDB off for HIA and Couchman ruled out and it was all chaotic in the middle with the ref allowing a couple of forward passes. It was 6-4 Saints way before then. Saints were not the better team but compared to last year would have been flogged instead lost by 8.

Saints should be on 10 points with 4 wins, a bye and 1 loss equal with the Storm. Which is frustrating but more of that blame is on the players not Flanno. They are the ones that put the cue in the rack. I am pretty sure Flanno did not say it's all good boys you can relax now the game is over with a 2 try lead. He put players on the last 20 he trusted to lock the game up instead they allowed soft tries to equal the game. No coach would tell a team to relax, it's over red rover on the 60 min mark. On top of that Saints in 2025 have a new spine and the halves are rated the worst pairing in the NRL. Everyone questioned where Saints tries would come now that Hunt and Lomax are gone and Saints have actauly scored more.
Exactly, and you see that we have improvements this year especially with worst halves pairing in the league! I would rather than them over a superstar half because if we do we will be worst for other positions. Hunt is one case where we have shit recruitment and poor forwards performance.

This year, our forwards are dominating more which is nice to see. Reminded me of 2008-2009 period.

Egan will be a rookie of the year thanks to Flanno.

Was just talking to a friend in Brisbane who told me that Ben Hunt is struggling to fit in with the team. I reckon they are starting to see what we saw the last couple of years, not a team player. He and Walsh aren't clicking, and if Reece isn't happy....changes will have to be made. After all, he rules that club now.

Just waiting for Hunt to start his whinge during Origin camp about not wanting to go back to club training now, because they are mean to him.

Mojo

Was just talking to a friend in Brisbane who told me that Ben Hunt is struggling to fit in with the team. I reckon they are starting to see what we saw the last couple of years, not a team player. He and Walsh aren't clicking, and if Reece isn't happy....changes will have to be made. After all, he rules that club now.

Just waiting for Hunt to start his whinge during Origin camp about not wanting to go back to club training now, because they are mean to him.
There both flogs IMO. Totally predictable. Two emperors with no clothes riding in the same chariot!

sammymills

fantastic analysis Thanks Slip

sammymills

I hope he crashes and burns hard. Your comment assumes he will be picked for origin, im not so sure.

since77

He did a couple of typical Hunt things that drove Dragons fans mad while he was here in the game against the Roosters Including a useless last tackle play.