Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sack Nathan Brown

Sime_11

Brown is fine, he's got more wins than Sticky, O'Brien, Holbrook & Barrett with a roster in worse shape.

dont sack him for the sake of it, unless you've got the real deal available and coming in - unfortunately Bellamy, Wayne and Robbo arent available atm.

was listening to SEN yesterday and Joel Caine was saying that Brown is the best speaker after a loss that he has ever seen and that deflects some of the spotlight off him

you’re correct with how the parasites in the media operate. The Raiders are running 15th and have been woeful, Ricky is best mates with Paul Kent though so there is barely a word about them. Similar how the Broncos barely cop anything on NRL360 these days because Ikin is running them
Tigers wearing it the most, but after 2 solid wins Bulldogs new target with Gus stepping over thr line again onto coaching apparently.

Rich102

Seriously.
Brown has brought in a lot of talent. His choices.
Got rid of "deadwood" like Hiku who had more attack than our whole current backline.
Has a gameplan all about defense. (How is that working out?)
At least he is setting records. (The wrong ones.)
I get that we don't want to keep changing coaches but don't let Mohawk pick the next one.
Ditto about picking ex-players because they can blow smoke up his ass. (What can you do for my club? FFS)
POS and Gus have a lifetime of stories to tell.

Penrose Warrior

Brown deserves a lot of flak for the ongoing failure to pick Aitken in the centres, which is where the major issues lie. Berry looks like an absolute headless chook, and Vailea has offered nothing.

JJ

Seriously.
Brown has brought in a lot of talent. His choices.
Got rid of "deadwood" like Hiku who had more attack than our whole current backline.
Has a gameplan all about defense. (How is that working out?)
At least he is setting records. (The wrong ones.)
I get that we don't want to keep changing coaches but don't let Mohawk pick the next one.
Ditto about picking ex-players because they can blow smoke up his ass. (What can you do for my club? FFS)
POS and Gus have a lifetime of stories to tell.
it's a hard one though, we hire flogs like Bluey, Elliott, McFadden, Kearney and Brown then it's only a matter of time before they are moved on, how long do you persevere with someone who is demonstrably not up to it??

As with many things, a lot of this comes back to the top level - the decision to shaft Cleary and got after Bluey started this, then playing up each of the others listed as some sort of saviour when anyone with half a brain could see they were second rate first grade coaches - and of course Kearney and Brown's records as first grade coaches speak for themselves, seriously would any other clubs hire either of them...

Fufu Andronez

We needed Brown to recruit us some top young talent and round out the squad and he has done that. He is a roster builder. He has done that, he's gotten our squad in a great position cap wise and roster wise for the next coach to come in and take over.

I think if we keep him for 2023 it will hinder our ability to attract a good coach. If someone was to come in at the end of 2022, for a 2023 start with the roster that we have currently and the clarity that we will be based out of NZ. That is a pretty attractive proposition.

We have the bones of a really good squad for 2023 (need some backs asap though). The right coach would definitely be able to make something of that side.

Spine
Reece Walsh
Ronald Volkman
Shaun Johnson
Luke Metcalfe
Wayde Egan

Pack
Mitch Barnett
Josh Curran
Addin Fonua Blake
Tohu Harris
Marata Niukore

Backs
Dylan Walker
DWZ

It would suck for Brownie because I'm sure he would believe that he is the man to take us the next level but history and results really go against that and for our first season back in NZ we need to have a big year hence why 2022 should be Brownies last. And Im normally a f**ken optimist when it comes to Warriors coaches but now even I can see that we probably need a change.

ZEROMISSTACKLES

Brown cant even coach 17 players to beat 15 Sharks. Its not like the Sharks are a unbeatable force either, sitting fourth on the table.

And just cos that ref rightfully sent off that fullback, it doesnt mean he was trying to help us. Complete opposite

Penrose Warrior

We needed Brown to recruit us some top young talent and round out the squad and he has done that. He is a roster builder. He has done that, he's gotten our squad in a great position cap wise and roster wise for the next coach to come in and take over.

I think if we keep him for 2023 it will hinder our ability to attract a good coach. If someone was to come in at the end of 2022, for a 2023 start with the roster that we have currently and the clarity that we will be based out of NZ. That is a pretty attractive proposition.

We have the bones of a really good squad for 2023 (need some backs asap though). The right coach would definitely be able to make something of that side.

Spine
Reece Walsh
Ronald Volkman
Shaun Johnson
Luke Metcalfe
Wayde Egan

Pack
Mitch Barnett
Josh Curran
Addin Fonua Blake
Tohu Harris
Marata Niukore

Backs
Dylan Walker
DWZ

It would suck for Brownie because I'm sure he would believe that he is the man to take us the next level but history and results really go against that and for our first season back in NZ we need to have a big year hence why 2022 should be Brownies last. And Im normally a f**ken optimist when it comes to Warriors coaches but now even I can see that we probably need a change.
It's well put when you look at it that way - there is the makings of a decent side (injuries permitting which along with travel, have killed us this year and last)

The issue with the spine is SJ is completely cooked, Voerman hasn't debuted yet and Metcalf has played 5 games. Walsh will just be out of his teens. To be fair, CHT has been pretty good this year. So if it's 1.Walsh 6. CHT 7.Voerman/Metcalf 9.Egan that ain't bad, but it'll need time.

Edge defence is a massive, MASSIVE problem. We need to recruit, big time. In fact, as manfully as DWZ tries, our quality on the flanks is pretty lacking full stop. Montoya when he's not throwing out gay slurs is more than a journeyman but not by much, DWZ does his best but is hardly dynamic, Pompey is a plodder, Kosi doesn't look to have a real big upside, Berry looks mentally fried and Vailea doesn't look much chop either.

Then yeah our pack looks good, probably short one quality prop. Bunty might need to step up, or again we need to buy well.

And it's the same old story, we can recruit well but we need to bring these young guys through better and bring them from raw talent to NRL quality. We just have no history of doing that. We need a coach who can.

ZEROMISSTACKLES

We are lacking some real leadership in the team.
Also a hell of a lot of footy brains.
Plenty of leadership towards dumb footy.

The Sharks only having 11 men...you would’ve thought we'd switch to a more expansive game. But no, we couldn't find an over lap if the Sharks had 9 men on the field.

Even AFB was frustrated.

Todd Payton on NRL360, poked by James Hooper about his choice between Cowboys and Warriors and being vindicated on making right decision. In the politest way to a wanker question he said the decision was based on family, lost sleep over it, but once made he slept fine.

Beavers Headgear

Todd Payton on NRL360, poked by James Hooper about his choice between Cowboys and Warriors and being vindicated on making right decision. In the politest way to a wanker question he said the decision was based on family, lost sleep over it, but once made he slept fine.
The same dickheads on that show were trying to get him sacked 4 weeks into his tenure at the Cowboys

Meth

This conversation is just a recurring nightmare featuring different surnames. Let's extend Brown's contract, then reactively sack him and bring in our new coach. Who will it be? Matt Parish, maybe?

Frailty

I posted this information in the 'next coach sacked' thread on the NRL page:
There are some really damn stats that really show how bad the Warriors have been:
- 16th in run metres
- 16th in offloads
- 16th in tackle breaks
- 16th in decoy runs
- 2nd most missed tackles
- 13th in line breaks, and 15th in line break assists.

This all points to a coach that has no idea to generate an offense that raises questions of the defence. In his full seasons in Newcastle (16-19), the Knights were ranked in the bottom 3 in the league in points for. This despite having an experienced halfback for those seasons (Hodkinson and Pearce). It's why the Warriors struggled against a short-manned Sharks team - because all the Warriors were doing was passing it wide without committing defenders.

It's damning that when Brown was asked post-game about the run metres stat he just put it down to possession. To a point that is true, but why aren't the Warriors getting more possession? Poor attack and seemingly bad defence.

I don't think it really matters too much who is in your team, because structurally it is flawed. It's not a matter of Johnson being done - he was part of a generally strong attacking Sharks team in the last few seasons.

Benek

Those stats are incredible, and you're exactly right. No excuses to be so poor with the forward pack we have.

It's also that we never build pressure. We must also be near the bottom in forced line drop outs, repeat sets, field position, etc. And that naturally means less posession.