Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Saints V Manly 2004, R25

Hornby4Cptn

Fox are showing a replay of the massive comeback from Saints at Kogarah in 2004 to beat Manly. Tuesday night at 9.30 on Fox Sports 2.:D

RedVGooner

oh still remember watching that game, watch it up to half time then didn't bother watching the second half until i flicked it on the 65th minute and witness one of the greatest comebacks, certainly ill be tuning in tomorrow night

BigNormProvan

I was sat on me Pat Malone in the Opher Tavern in Orange watching this game. 'Had a Saints cap on and got some serious grief from some bum, bar-flies, who had watched the score blow out, they were giving me some real jive, but showing no interest in the game. I gave them some jive as I left....

Barfly: So how'd it end-up champ?

Big Norm : Kiss my arse, buddy. And get a job.

The only other regular season game that comes close was a win over West's at Jubilee in about '89 or '90 when Walford (the fully blown freak) went 95mts and under the Jubilee end crossbar. I'm pretty Noelly Goldthorpe played lock for the maggies that day

Big Norm

Southernsaint

Those who left early deserve an uppercut. That was one of the best times to be with the Army on the Hill ever!!

i was watching this game in crown casino....

left after manly scored just after half time... so didn't find out the result & thought we got pumped..

went and had a couple of consolation beers & then sent a congrats message to a mate who follows manly... he replied in a not too nice manner cause he thought i was taking the piss..

drake

Those who left early deserve an uppercut. That was one of the best times to be with the Army on the Hill ever!!
I nearly left. The guys I went with all piked and went home.
Thank Tinga I didn't; he was firing up the team I, and I was ashamed and headed back onto the hill.

Best match I've attended. The army was going off.

I even wrote a 2 bit forum sevens piece for it.

What a great game!!! Good to see Creagh, Young, Cooper, Head, Hornby running around as youngsters! Except Hornby was owned by Watmough multiple times...

Love Timmins' agro too. He's a champion!

I did notice that there was HEAPS of contact around the head and neck back then! The game seemed much rougher.

Doug2234

Yeah a fair bit of head and neck contact hey. Also good to see Tingha.

How many people walked out with 30 min left on the clock was crazy. Dead set a thousands walked out

TheFrog

I watched this game on Fox live and you just knew the Dragons were going to come back. It was only a few weeks after Manly had conceded 72 at Penrith. The Dragons were just appalling until they came to life in the second half, and then they were just scintillating.

They did exactly the same a couple of weeks later, conceding 24 start in 17 minutes at Penrith in the 4 vs 5 final. Always looked like overcoming a depleted Penrith but couldn't quite do it, and were eliminated from 5th. St George looked complacent in the second half, as if they thought they would overrun the opposition as they had Manly, and indeed it took a mighty defensive effort to hold them out. Of course being a Panthers man this match appeals rather more than the Manly one.

I thought the Dragons had the winning of the comp in them that year, but there was something of an attitude problem, in particular they didn't seem to respect their opposition, and several times gave away huge starts.

big pat

what a match first time i've seen it, gee watmough got a few high shots in, good to see browny on the sidelines with hair, the only annoying thing was daley's commentary, sounded like nails scratching a blackboard.

TheFrog

No matter what team you support, there is one thing we all agree....Laurie Daley is a sh*te commentator, to say the least.

SN0WMAN

First home game I went to after shortly moving here to the country. Got my dickhead face square on TV jumping up and down like a spastic, and walked around the pub the next arvo, with the "I saw you on TV!!" comments. lol

God-King Dean

I was doing the scoreboard for this game. The hardest 209 minutes of work I've ever done. :lol:

The blacklock flip at the end of the game was icing on the cake.