Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Saturday night spelled the end of Buderus's rep career.

Chook

If anyone out there still thinks Buderus is as good as Wing, give yourself a triple!

Wingy's performances over the year have been better. Wing has won all their head to heads and Wing has far more strings to his bow.

Danny should enjoy really this rep tour, because next year the NSW and Australian number 9 will undoubtedly be Craig Wings.

Chook.

Southernsaint

Head-to-head performances mean nothing, just ask Anthony Mundine.

This season Craig Wing has surely played himself into the NSW & Australian number nine jersey - even accounting for the fact that Danny Buderus is one of the Newcastle "boys". I hope the selectors are fair dinkum & leave him at home, along with the big softie, Willie Mason...

Cheers,
Ben.

wittyfan

Buderus should get the job. Anyway, since when have rep teams been picked on form? :lol:

yappy

Wing will be too busy filling the No 6 to have the 9 duties as well. Bedsy is safe.

Special K

I think Gower will go as the guy who can play hooker, half and 5/8. Wing will go as a hooker.

How many tackles does Wing make a game? I'm not trying to imply anything I was just wondering because he doesn't seem to be a weak link in the middle for a man of his size.

JJ

Given Johns is not going, I would think that Wing will wear 6, Gower 7, and Buderus 9.

But, you do have that idiot Anderson coaching, and he does love his illigetimate love-child Kimmorley, who who the hell knows????

One thing we do know is Preston Campbell won't go - despite being the onlyt No 6 playing well!!!! Will Gower be tarnished by playing alongside Preston?

salivor

Wing has two things going against him. 1. He's seen as a great option for the interchange bench who can split the game open at any time. 2. Buderus has a very good combination with Johns who is the first player picked when injury free.

Mad Dogg

Priddis has to be ahead of Buderus as well. It should be a straight choice between he and Wing, if anyone else (Buderus) gets the spot then it's a joke.

Personally, I'd go 6 Wing, 7 Gower, 9 Priddis.

edabomb

Buderus was the 2002 rep player of the year and also had an outstanding origin series. i rekon he'll be 9, wing 5/8 and kimmorley at half if he can get out of andersons bedroom for 80mins. in all seriousness if gower isnt at half its absolutely ridiculous

Geez next year is gonna hard pickin hookers for SOO. Wing, Buderus and Priddis contesting for NSW, and Smith and Marsh contesting for Queensland. But that all depends if Marsh is still fit.

Simo

Marsh was a much better player than Smith in my opinion. Smith is still good dont get me wrong, but a fit PJ Marsh can be very exciting and dynamic, alot like Wing.

Unfortunately we dont know if the poor guy will ever lace the boots on again.

On Wing v Budericantspell i reckon Wing has the spot forsure. BUT someone made a good comment about Wing being a fantastic impact player off the bench.

For the half spot the only thing i know for sure is that Sherwin has played himself out of any hope lately. He has been well and truely outplayed by the rest lately. I hope it is his injury.

panthersballboy

Yeah I think Wing and Priddis have been in better form but Buderus always has played well in the sky blue and green and gold so he'll probably retain his spot.

Parki

Craig Wing is a phenomenal player dont get me wrong, but Danny Buderus is as important to the knights as Johns is, and without Johns in the side will be required, if anything in a leadership role....he consistantly is up there in the leading tackle counts at the end of the season behind the human tackling machine Richard Swain and while even I being the biased knights fan that i am can see that Craig Wing has played better, if you want the best side in the world you have to include BOTH of them...kicking Danny out is shooting yourself in the foot IMO due to the fact that he has been an oustanding player for Newcastle for many years, and most knights fans will tell you he is as important to the knights as Johns is... It would be like saying oh Richard Villisanti has played well, we dont need Tallis in the side anymore because we have him instead...

Big Tim

When Wing can prove that he can pass every ball on the chest of team mates I will admit that he is a true "hooker". His ability to run and kick is phenomenal, but I think he lacks consistent service. Why do you think Johns is so good, he can look at the line, or his team mates and not watch Bedsy and he knows that the ball will hit him on the chest and not around the ankles. This is what gives him soo much time on the field. Then add Bedsys wonderful defensive work, and they arent just wrap tackles like wing, they are bruising hits that would hurt even the biggest prop. I know I am a Newcastle fan, but I have said for many years that Bedsy is our number 1 player and not Johns, and I would pick Bedsy before Johns.

anywho I see it as 6 Timmins 7 Gower 9 Bedsy and 14 Wing

edabomb

i know buderus is a good player but you cant realistically say hes better than johnsy. johns wona premiership without buderus in 97 and the knights didnt even go close this year without johns and buderus in and a better supporting cast than 97. i think buderus should stay at 9 for aussie tho

Big Tim

I personally think that Bedsy is our most important player, wether that means he is the best I am not sure. So I will clarify, I think he is our most important player. Yes Johns won a gf in 97, but he did miss half a season through injury and I think that Robbie O won that game anyway.

I just think that Johns is a different player when he doesnt have the service of Bedsy, he has to watch the ball into his hands. If you have watched the Knights as much as I have you will see that when Johns is at first receiver he catches the ball while running away from it, and looking the other way aswell. He doesnt have this comfort with any other hooker as you would see when Quiggers replaces Bedsy.

aqua_duck

I think people get confused between best hooker and best dummy half runner. If you take the best dummy ahfl runner as the best hooker, than Mark Gasnier would be the Australian number 9. Wing is a better dummy half runner, and has a better kicking game but Buderus is the bloke you want on the field in the first 15-20 minutes as Gus Gould showed this year, Buderus is one of those Luke Ricketson type players, he's a workhorse, I mean for example you compare someone like SIone Faumuina to Luke Ricketson, sure if you just judge by who has a bigger impoact, than Faumuina is your man, but Ricko does the tough stuff like Buderus. I mean there's always a theory that its harder to play yourself out of a test team than to play yourself into a test team, and surely if thats the case, Buderus should be one of the 1st players chosen. He was rep player of the year last year as well as hooker of the year, he was arguably NSW's most consistent performer in this year's series, had a good test match and was in good form leading into the finals. And surely you can't decide a test spot on the basis of one game. If that was the case than Luke Rooney would be 1st choice winger for the tour and Girdler would be 1st choice centre, and Wesser would be 1st choice fullback.

Chook

Watch Sunday's game boys and girls and see whether or not Wing can pass from dummy half and whether he takes BIG blokes front on.

Wing kills Buderus and has done on every occasion they've met this year. If picked on form Wing will be the Australian number 9. Buderus will only get if it's picked on reputation.

Chook.

JJ

I think you're all missing the point, to some degree. For the recod, I would have Wing 6, Gower, 7, and Buderus 9.

You have tothink about what Anderson will do, our opinions matter little.

Unfortunately it's a given that Kimmorley will play half (whether he's Anderson's son, lover, or just has some very incriminating evidence on him)- although it's clear to everyone else in the world that on form Gower is the best half playing.

It's also unlikely that Preston Campbell will tour - despit being the only 5/8 playing in that position (now Anasta is not in the train-on squad). Remember Timmins, Fittler, Barrett etc are all not going.

So, if Kimmorley plays half (again, God knows why, but it will happen - he also doesn't tackle as well as Wing, Gower, or Buderus), he'll want a workaholic hooker (Buderus - this doesn't mean Wing can't do that, but why waste his brilliant skills?). Then a 5/8 - either Gower or Wing, but both out of position, and an impact player off the bench (my feeling is that Wing is better in this role than Gower - see SoO).

Like I said, if I was selecting, I'd have WIng 6, Gower, 7, Buderus 9, and Preston Campbell 14!!!