Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Save Leichhardt Oval

Nutz

I'm hoping the NRL will buy Leichhardt Oval and get it renovated.
The way I figure it, the game is set up for television hence why Foxtel and Chan9 pour millions into broadcasting it.

7n8g8zlswpo71.jpg
leichhardt-oval-gallery18.jpg
A sunny Sunday arvo at LO with 20k screaming fans looks massive and is an advertising diamond.
I just can't understand why it would take too much money to throw in some extra dunnies and food outlets.
A lot could be done with properly installing some transportable ADCO Huts and some large metal containers and fit them out.
Surely if they are properly installed they would pass building regs??? They certainly wouldn't be going anywhere.
Do we have any builders here...how much/little would it take to improve what we have, like an interim reno.

The way I figure it, the game is set up for television hence why Foxtel and Chan9 pour millions into broadcasting it.

View attachment 85856
View attachment 85857
A sunny Sunday arvo at LO with 20k screaming fans looks massive and is an advertising diamond.
I just can't understand why it would take too much money to throw in some extra dunnies and food outlets.
A lot could be done with properly installing some transportable ADCO Huts and some large metal containers and fit them out.
Surely if they are properly installed they would pass building regs??? They certainly wouldn't be going anywhere.
Do we have any builders here...how much/little would it take to improve what we have, like an interim reno.

Renovate everything but the visitors rooms, f**k em hahaha

View attachment 85856
View attachment 85857

Where’s old man Meriton, when you need him?

I just don't get why it's going to cost heaps.
Agree, if the stands don’t need to be rebuilt?

The place gets packed whenever they play there, no one except a few upset opposition fans seem to mind. Hahaha

What’s our war cry:
SOO: Save our oval
SOLO: Save our Leichhardt Oval.

Nutz

The new membership drive Wests Tigers has welcomed 811 new Members to the club over the past month as they chase a target of 10,000 ‘paid up’ Members in 2024. I'm unsure what the actual total is, I'll try to find it.

Nutz

Has someone got Facebook?
Apparently there is a supporter based "Save Leichhardt Oval" page in there.
Could someone pls post it's details, is there a partition?

Nutz

Leichhardt Oval...there is nothing in it for the council. They would rather bulldoze the joint and redevelop it to that which brings in revenue for them.
How much revenue does the NRL get from Chan9 and Foxtel?
A huge percentage I feel.
These broadcasting companies wouldn't give a hoot about the quality of the joint. All they care about is a packed crowd and for atmosphere...in fact they would care more about the tribalism rather than a shiny dunny seat.
History of the inner city tribalism must continue, the game should be all about that as it's grass roots.
I can't believe we couldn't raise enough money to put in more dunnies, more beer and food huts.
Our CEO is more concerned about catering for private function rooms and corporate suites and not about the game itself.
If that's the case, build your shiny stuff 30+km away and listen to the crickets whist the eastern board inner city rivary drifts off into the sunset.
Save Leichhardt Oval for the sake of the game that we have known and loved since 1908, make a stand.

Leichhardt Oval...there is nothing in it for the council. They would rather bulldoze the joint and redevelop it to that which brings in revenue for them.
How much revenue does the NRL get from Chan9 and Foxtel?
A huge percentage I feel.
These broadcasting companies wouldn't give a hoot about the quality of the joint. All they care about is a packed crowd and for atmosphere...in fact they would care more about the tribalism rather than a shiny dunny seat.
History of the inner city tribalism must continue, the game should be all about that as it's grass roots.
I can't believe we couldn't raise enough money to put in more dunnies, more beer and food huts.
Our CEO is more concerned about catering for private function rooms and corporate suites and not about the game itself.
If that's the case, build your shiny stuff 30+km away and listen to the crickets whist the eastern board inner city rivary drifts off into the sunset.
Save Leichhardt Oval for the sake of the game that we have known and loved since 1908, make a stand.
Gee mate, I knew you were old, but not f**king old hahaha

Nutz

Has someone got Facebook?
Apparently there is a supporter based "Save Leichhardt Oval" page in there.
Could someone pls post it's details, is there a partition?
Anyone have Facebook that can help me with this please.

Nutz

Well I sent off my email to Richo this morning detailing my history with Balmain and Leichhardt Oval and being a Tigers fan since 1968 when my cousin played with them.
I basically grovelled like a puppy dog wanting a feed.
I said that Balmain's side of the joint venture is all about Leichhardt Oval.
I said that there is already a slow demise of the "Tigers" because they needed financial support.
There is no West Tigers reserve grade side but there is a magpies team.
We are a fractured club.
You take Wests Tigers away from Leichhardt you lose Balmain's side of the joint venture. That basically sums it up.
The Tigers logo and Leichhardt Oval are very marketable. Just the name and symbol says it all about Wests Tigers.
We need to embrace the dockers of Leichhardt and inter city rivalries. The Roosters v Tigers Parra v Dragons Dragons Souths etc. We helped start this game in the first place.
Don't cut off your nose to spite your face.
I basically begged Richo to use these examples to get the NRL to save suburban grounds like LO.
At least do an interim reno and see what happens.

Nutz

Tigers’ stunning admission over bizarre snub as ‘critical juncture’ laid bare​

“We intend to, by acting quickly, strategise this plan around the growth of the south west without affecting our inner-city roots......So getting out of Leichhardt Oval isn't affecting our inner-city roots?????

We need our members, fans, corporate partners, and our entire community more than ever to be part of our journey ahead...Does that mean leaving the majority of the fanbase behind???

The club is reportedly set to release a three-year stadium plan after working with relevant officials to finalise where games can be played....Easy, just fix up CS and LO so there is enough dunnies and beer huts and continue to play half and half like this year.
The lardidahs can come down out of their corporate boxes and join the true fans if they don't like their canapes and wine.

Pezz70

Well I sent off my email to Richo this morning detailing my history with Balmain and Leichhardt Oval and being a Tigers fan since 1968 when my cousin played with them.
I basically grovelled like a puppy dog wanting a feed.
I said that Balmain's side of the joint venture is all about Leichhardt Oval.
I said that there is already a slow demise of the "Tigers" because they needed financial support.
There is no West Tigers reserve grade side but there is a magpies team.
We are a fractured club.
You take Wests Tigers away from Leichhardt you lose Balmain's side of the joint venture. That basically sums it up.
The Tigers logo and Leichhardt Oval are very marketable. Just the name and symbol says it all about Wests Tigers.
We need to embrace the dockers of Leichhardt and inter city rivalries. The Roosters v Tigers Parra v Dragons Dragons Souths etc. We helped start this game in the first place.
Don't cut off your nose to spite your face.
I basically begged Richo to use these examples to get the NRL to save suburban grounds like LO.
At least do an interim reno and see what happens.
The dockers of the tigers are dead, while we need to respect the past we don’t need to live in it. Balmain and surrounds is full of greenies and other types who do not give a flying far k about footy. While I wouldn’t necessarily like to see us out of Leichhardt, I really wish we had of based our plans around Campbelltown, ie; all our training and development, that’s where our future comes from. Concord was a massive mistake

Nutz

The dockers of the tigers are dead, while we need to respect the past we don’t need to live in it. Balmain and surrounds is full of greenies and other types who do not give a flying far k about footy. While I wouldn’t necessarily like to see us out of Leichhardt, I really wish we had of based our plans around Campbelltown, ie; all our training and development, that’s where our future comes from. Concord was a massive mistake
I'm dead? News to me.

Nutz

Balmain and surrounds is full of greenies and other types who do not give a flying far k about footy.
Leichhardt Oval is not all about the people in the streets or political agendas mate.
People like me, my family and friends travelled from North Sydney and all around Sydney to watch footy at Leichhardt Oval and still do in their thousands. A glorious place to watch tribalism sport in suburbia.
While Concord was a massive mistake - Really, WHY?