Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

SBW and the World Cup

Perenara is a great ref...

I love his grounding recommendations before he sends them upstairs to the video ref...

Always spot on...

Give him 1 v 4 of the first week I reckon...

:lol: at least you will have Perenara to support in the finals then, good that he gives you something to barrack for rather than the nothing you would have otherwise, hope he gets a run for ya :)

shiznit

:lol: at least you will have Perenara to support in the finals then, good that he gives you something to barrack for rather than the nothing you would have otherwise, hope he gets a run for ya :)

I must have hit a nerve...

We might need an investigation into this...

shiznit

For the record... I've been at piece with not being in the finals...

The way we've gone this season I'm at piece with not being in the finals for a few years yet...

But I will enjoy seeing young will run out for us next season...

I will however ignore Justin Horo... :lol:

No nerve mate just a bit of banter, tbh it is fairly hard to rile me up about footy these days :lol:

Will be interesting to see his Will turns out, 2 years away is tough to come back from but he is a massive talent. The money you have him on is ridiculous but could be what the club needs. For some reason I always think of you as a Broncos man

I just hope Kearney doesn't miss Horo from the cup squad

shiznit

No nerve mate just a bit of banter, tbh it is fairly hard to rile me up about footy these days :lol:

Will be interesting to see his Will turns out, 2 years away is tough to come back from but he is a massive talent. The money you have him on is ridiculous but could be what the club needs. For some reason I always think of you as a Broncos man

I just hope Kearney doesn't miss Horo from the cup squad
I actually really fear for the young kid.

He's been out for 2 years and is coming in to a shambles.

If he hits the ground running he will certainly add a much needed weapon for our attack.

But there's a shitload of problems in a million different areas so its gonna be tough for the kid to keep his head above water.

Big John behind him is always a bit of a worry as well

A concern is that he has gone for the money based on family reasons and his heart may not be in it, a bit like Tony Williams this year, I think he will be a bit more professional than that though

To make any sort of impact you are going to need a full season from Hayne and not long for Hoppa to click into gear

ozenzud

Showing plenty of that commitment and loyalty you speak so often of. Good riddance.

And principles and integrity. We couldn't possibly have people following Kiwi League with that could you. So, I'd be better off with another team.

Fast Eddie

And principles and integrity. We couldn't possibly have people following Kiwi League with that could you. So, I'd be better off with another team.

EDIT- :nwave:

Bitter bitter man. Enjoy the finals and biggest WC matches you can't watch :lol:

Manu Vatuvei

I see Parker is lining $BW up.
What chance Williams accepts? None.

He'd be mad to accept. Maybe in 5-7 years time in the highly unlikely scenario that SBW actually packs it all in to become a full-time boxer, and has maybe 20 fights under his belt. HIGHLY unlikely.

FWIW though there's actually a pretty good video on youtube of SBW and Parker sparring, I think it was when SBW was prepping for the Tillman fight, would've been a few months before Parker's pro debut. Good competitive sparring although there's every possibility Parker had another gear to go to if it was a real fight. Can't link to it from work unfortunately.

hitman82

Fighters always have another gear reserved for the real fights. Parker would murder SBW, which makes sense as SBW isn't a fulltime boxer. He's a talented multi-sport athlete.

shiznit

I've actually seen a video of the two of sparring...

And i Thought SBW handled him easily... In fact I would go as far as to say he probably got the better of Parker.

Parker is probably are far different prospect now... And would be a deserved favourite.

But SBW does have some natural gifts that do help him... He just needs to take boxing seriously and do away with football.

Edit- just saw Manu's post... Yup I've seen that sparring session. Quite frankly it shocked me how good SBW looked and how poor Parker looked.

hitman82

:lol:He has too, doesn't he? Or forgo his 'Title.' Of which is an utter disgrace, NZ boxing s**tting themselves out

enjoy: :lol:

http://www.3news.co.nz/VIDEO-Joseph...fight/tabid/415/articleID/310756/Default.aspx

While it appears Parker should roll past Tatupu, there will be a lot of interest in what happens inside the ropes after the bout.
Both fighters want to unify the NZNBF belt with the New Zealand Professional Boxing Association belt Sonny Bill Williams won when he beat Clarence Tillman.

That fight was 18 months ago and so far Williams has successfully avoided having to defend the title, most recently ducking and weaving from a call-out from Tatupu.

But that will all change at Auckland’s Trusts Arena when the winner emerges from the clash between Parker and Tatupu.

"Most people in boxing have come to realise that Sonny Bill Williams is running from his next fight," says Duco Events’ Dean Lonergan.

"Privately he has been doing everything he can to avoid putting his NZPBA belt up because he knows that when he does he will run into some serious contenders.

"But he can't hide in the shadows now. I would anticipate that whoever wins at Trusts Arena, they will have Sonny Bill Williams in their sights. If Joseph or Afa call him out in front of all of New Zealand on Sky Arena, what's he going to do then? He can’t hide away forever,"
Lonergan says.

Manu Vatuvei

I've actually seen a video of the two of sparring...

And i Thought SBW handled him easily... In fact I would go as far as to say he probably got the better of Parker.

Parker is probably are far different prospect now... And would be a deserved favourite.

But SBW does have some natural gifts that do help him... He just needs to take boxing seriously and do away with football.

Edit- just saw Manu's post... Yup I've seen that sparring session. Quite frankly it shocked me how good SBW looked and how poor Parker looked.

Parker may well have improved immensely since then, he trains non-stop and seems very dedicated to his craft. However that wasn't a "baby" version of Parker, it was less than 2 years ago and Parker was obviously far more experienced than SBW at the time.

I reckon anyone who watches that video with both eyes open would admit that it looked like 2 decent prospects in there. It certainly doesn't look like one clueless guy being baby-sat by a proper fighter.

If you compare the two of them fighting Botha, they both handled him pretty easily with speed and reach, except SBW gassed late while Parker had no need to go there. If I had to predict how a fight would go I reckon SBW would use his jab and athleticism and box pretty competently on the back foot for a number of rounds but once Parker caught up with him it might not be pleasant.

hitman82

Hopefully Mr. William-Williams accepts the challenge so he can take that impressive sparring form to the ring.

shiznit

Parker may well have improved immensely since then, he trains non-stop and seems very dedicated to his craft. However that wasn't a "baby" version of Parker, it was less than 2 years ago and Parker was obviously far more experienced than SBW at the time.

I reckon anyone who watches that video with both eyes open would admit that it looked like 2 decent prospects in there. It certainly doesn't look like one clueless guy being baby-sat by a proper fighter.

If you compare the two of them fighting Botha, they both handled him pretty easily with speed and reach, except SBW gassed late while Parker had no need to go there. If I had to predict how a fight would go I reckon SBW would use his jab and athleticism and box pretty competently on the back foot for a number of rounds but once Parker caught up with him it might not be pleasant.

Actually mate... That's exactly what it was...

Parker has made massive leaps in that time... He now spends a lot of his time training in Vegas under Kevin Barry.

If you were to compare both fights against Botha there's a massive difference between the two.

If you take out the shoddy ending... SBW beat Botha with a half decent Jab and his athleticism.

Parker did it with head movement, footwork, good hand speed and more impressively with power.

If I were to pick a winner at moment I would say Parker easily... In fact i would say Parker would likely finish him in the first half of the fight.

Coming from the point of view of someone who watches a lot of boxing... SBW is just far too green to take seriously as a boxer... He does far too many things in the ring that make you cringe and think if he fought some half decent he would be punished.

But what do you expect... He's not really a boxer.. He's a footballer.

Manu Vatuvei

Actually mate... That's exactly what it was...

Parker has made massive leaps in that time... He now spends a lot of his time training in Vegas under Kevin Barry.

If you were to compare both fights against Botha there's a massive difference between the two.

If you take out the shoddy ending... SBW beat Botha with a half decent Jab and his athleticism.

Parker did it with head movement, footwork, good hand speed and more impressively with power.

If I were to pick a winner at moment I would say Parker easily... In fact i would say Parker would likely finish him in the first half of the fight.

Coming from the point of view of someone who watches a lot of boxing... SBW is just far too green to take seriously as a boxer... He does far too many things in the ring that make you cringe and think if he fought some half decent he would be punished.

But what do you expect... He's not really a boxer.. He's a footballer.

All fair points. I guess what I meant to say re: Parker is that he was already a hyped prospect at that point. It was just a few months prior to his pro debut which was a televised event in itself, people already knew about him and knew his talent and he had extensive amateur experience.

I would have expected him to deal easily with SBW even at that stage.

I follow him on twitter and it seems like I get just about a daily update on his training, honestly the bloke seems to have the most boring life in the world (for someone who lives in Vegas!) which ultimately is probably a good thing :lol: