Juju
I'm league through and through. But come on man...Gotta pull you up on one thing there, as far as best 'Rugby' teams in the world the AB's are a distant 4th behind Kangaroos, Maroons and Blues.
There is no debate
The form 2nd rower in the NRL
Can play 6 of the 13 Positions in the game (L SR, R SR, 5/8, Lock, L Ctr ans R Ctr)
Both Trent Robinson (Roosters) and Dave Rennie (Chiefs) are on record stating that he not only buys into a positive team culture but adds to it.
Graham Henry (Former AB coach) is very savvy and would not allow someone who is anything other than an elite team orientated performer anywhere near the black jersey.
Proven big game player. World cup winner. Has made the best team in any Rugby code (AB's).
Positive roll model and experienced player who can lead on and off the field.
If he choses to make himself available for the Kiwis (and i hope he does) and he is fit and ready will be massive for not only NZ but Rugby League in general.
Anyone who cant see this should f--k off back to under the rock they came from.
Jesus, this is like talking to people who think the Earth is flat
WUP
If any Kiwi fan is getting excited about him playing, don't disappoint yourself. Whats in it for him or Khodar? Nothing. Whats in it for him if he is back at the chiefs? A stupid organisation willing to take him back, kids thinking this is OK cause he gets all the media attention, Khodar gets a big fat pay check for signing a new deal.
He won't play. Simple. Don't torture yourselves with expectation.
Meanwhile, back at the club, good honest, hard working loyal, committed blokes get zero attention, zero publicity from the press, and kids don't think about being THAT guy.
Whats wrong with professional sport? Pretty easy to tell isn't it. When coaching kids I try to teach them to be loyal, committed, do it for the team and each other. Somebody mentions Money Bill and I may as well be talkin to the wall.
:lol:Gotta pull you up on one thing there, as far as best 'Rugby' teams in the world the AB's are a distant 4th behind Kangaroos, Maroons and Blues.
There is no debate
The form 2nd rower in the NRL
Can play 6 of the 13 Positions in the game (L SR, R SR, 5/8, Lock, L Ctr ans R Ctr)
Both Trent Robinson (Roosters) and Dave Rennie (Chiefs) are on record stating that he not only buys into a positive team culture but adds to it.
Graham Henry (Former AB coach) is very savvy and would not allow someone who is anything other than an elite team orientated performer anywhere near the black jersey.
Proven big game player. World cup winner. Has made the best team in any Rugby code (AB's).
Positive roll model and experienced player who can lead on and off the field.
If he choses to make himself available for the Kiwis (and i hope he does) and he is fit and ready will be massive for not only NZ but Rugby League in general.
Anyone who cant see this should f--k off back to under the rock they came from.
Jesus, this is like talking to people who think the Earth is flat
WUP
Yeah the Chiefs would be stupid to want SBW back
Increases their revenue - check
Part of a championship team and improves on field performance - check
Coach and players love having him there - check
Would be a very stupid move indeed.
The problem seems that you live in some sort or 1950's amateur/ or semi-professional wonderland where everything is about hard work/ loyalty blah blah blah. Nothing worse than hearing someone complain about 'professional sports'
Mate, my idea of professional sport isn't the 1950's. I have no problem with blokes/shielas being fully professional. I have no problem with them earning heaps. Nonewhatsoever.
In the 1960's, to play for Eastern Suburbs you actually had to live in the Suburb! In the 1970's, it was still frowned on to have 'imports'. In the 1980's, very few players were full time professionals.
But who do you admire more? Darren Lockyer or Money Bill? Let me guess...
Benji I have heaps of respect for. I believe him when he says he can't play against the Tigers.
Clubs will ruthlessly cut players. You may say that gives players the right to be ruthless back. Maybe. I take each case on it's merits.
But this bloke is something else. It disgusts me. The clubs around him disgust me. Have some pride for gods sake. I don't watch him. Refuse to. I sat out the Superleague war too. Never watched a game either ARL or Superleague. I can't wait for the end of the season and I'll be spewing if he makes the GF because I'll have to miss it.
Arrrrrrrrr, must be dumb, cause I have no idea why I would boycott because of Matagi playing?
He's an example of a bloke doing good from humble beginnings.
He may be good, thats undeniable. He ain't quite as good as the media and some people make out. JWH is more important to Easts than he is.
Bleh, rubbish.
It's funny how the people who bash SBW for how he's gone about his career tend to be the same ones who say he isn't that good of a player.
It's just as easy to tell that SBW is an elite player as it is to tell that Inglis or Thurston or Smith are elite players. Anyone who can't work that out is either very biased or a deadset hopeless analyst of RL.
Him walking out on the dogs is history. Its also 6 years or more ago. I've long since forgotten that.
Its what he does every year since then that pi$$es me off and I can't believe that clubs and organisations pander to him.
He may be good, thats undeniable. He ain't quite as good as the media and some people make out. JWH is more important to Easts than he is. But you wouldn't know that listening to the mainstream media.
But like crowd violence and poor parental sideline behavior, it may be that those people are getting into the game, but its hardly a positive example to kids, players and supporters.
If SBW plays the world cup, I'll run naked down Lambton Quay on the day of the world cup final.
How Sonny Bill Williams has inspired a change in the Sydney Roosters culture
FASTIDIOUS, meticulous, some would even go as far as stark raving mad, what makes Sonny Bill Williams the best footballer of his generation is a one word mantra used by elite athletes all over the world: sacrifice.
Think green tea, sashimi, brown rice, Bikram yoga, daily prayers, visualisation, a home gym and a strict no-alcohol policy - small samples of why SBW ranks alongside Brad Fittler as the Roosters most astute piece of recruitment in the club?s history.
Forget the rock star exterior of the flat caps and designer shades. When Williams arrived at the tri-colours' Moore Park headquarters last January armed with an A4 notebook and a pen, the entire organisation was taken aback by his level of professionalism.
MONDAY NIGHT'S HEAVYWEIGHT STOUSH
Sacrifice can come in many forms. NRL footballers like to break it down in to what they call "one percenters", which essentially means a resolute focus on doing all the little things right, with no room for short cuts or distractions.
Take this example: not one member of the Sydney Roosters roster has touched a drop of alcohol for over a month. Call it a coincidence, but the Roosters are on an eight-match winning roll.
"We didn?t want to make a fuss of it, we actually just wanted to keep it in-house. It was something we decided on as a group about a month ago,?? Roosters coach Trent Robinson said.
"Alcohol has long been a part of sporting clubs and at the Roosters there?s times when it?s been good and times when it?s been not so good.
"It was Jared Waerea-Hargreaves who came up with the idea of everybody just making a small sacrifice in that area. It certainly wasn?t Sonny?s idea or something he was pushing but at the same time the lifestyle choices he makes are clearly having a positive effect in that regard.??
SBW STRIKES HARDER ON THE FOOTY FIELD
In years gone by, booze bans at the Sydney Roosters were inevitably a kiss of death for the NRL?s most high-powered club.
The last time the club was supposedly going dry, Todd Carney and Nate Myles were both sacked and Frank-Paul Nuuausala was stood down after being photographed coming out of the Courthouse Hotel two years ago.
Not anymore. Again, call it a coincidence, but instead of getting snapped outside nightclubs, Roosters halfback Mitchell Pearce has been spotted doing regular hot yoga sessions, along with teammates Waerea-Hargreaves and Shaun Kenny-Dowall.
The reason? SBW. An athlete who makes it cool not to get on the booze, instead advocating drinking green tea as an alternative to coffee and doing extras inside the fully-equipped gym inside his home.
"Sonny?s not someone who goes around pulling people aside and wanting to have a word to them. In his time away from the game he clearly discovered exactly what works for him as an athlete and he simply endorses that with his actions,?? Robinson said.
"He?s a leader in actions, not words. I also must emphasise, Sonny?s not the sole reason for the Roosters having a degree of success this season.
"There?s a whole range of reasons. Everybody at our club has bought into what we?re about and what we?re trying to achieve. We worked hard on that for three months prior to Sonny even arriving at the club.
"But the way he showed up early before he had even officially signed with the club, that?s another example of how his actions speak volumes.??
Andrew Johns drove the Newcastle Knights to two premierships by demanding nothing short of excellence from everyone around him and handing out a word-perfect gobful to anyone who failed to come up to the desired level of standard.
Given the Roosters are currently sitting on the precipice of collecting the club?s first JJ Giltinan Shield as minor premiers since 2004 - after finishing 11th in 2011 and 13th in 2012 - the influence of Williams is unquestionable.
"To be perfectly frank, he?s had an even bigger influence on the club than what I expected,?? Roosters chairman Nick Politis said.
"Not only by lifting the standards across the board due to his level of professionalism, but as a person he?s just a great example of how to live your life.
"Sonny genuinely cares about people and ultimately he cares about the team and the club. That?s a unique characteristic and one I haven?t come across too often in rugby league.
"The other thing I really like is, there?s just no bullshit in him.??
One characteristic SBW does call on, at times, is the "cold stare".
Said to be the equivalent of a Johns? spray, if teammates aren?t focusing as hard as they should be in the gym or at training, the dual international will produce it.
Roosters chief operating officer of football Brian Canavan rates the influence of SBW alongside that of club legend Fittler, who guided the Roosters to premiership-glory in 2002 and made sure the tri-colours never missed a finals series on his watch.
"Before Sonny arrived the group was bitterly disappointed and embarrassed about their performances of the past two years,?? Canavan said.
"So they had already made a number of commitments to each other over a full three months of preseason.
"Then when Sonny did come into the club, he just lifted the standards expected across the board to another level entirely.
"In the latter part of Brad Fittler?s career he was the ultimate professional. That?s why he was able to play at such a high level until the age of 34.
"Sonny coming to the Roosters has had a similar influence. They are once in a generation players.??
The only question remaining now is, will Williams stay at Moore Park next season or return to the Waikato Chiefs and the All Blacks in rival code rugby union.
When he initially returned, The Sunday Telegraph understands there was an unwritten agreement for Williams to play a second season at the tri-colours.
But after such a hugely successful return, there?s now every chance he could decide to return to New Zealand rugby.
Perhaps his greatest legacy at the Roosters will be forged over the next two months.
If the tri-colours can win the grand final, stop the debate.
Williams is the greatest footballer currently playing in either code.