Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Scott Ella

He did Colonel.

I saw him in the PL grandfinal in 2001, when we lead at half time and the doggies ran us down in the second half.

He played on the wing and was about the best player we had. Got involved with the play alot.

He was also the smallest player that we had.

parra_princess

I also heard Scott say he'd play for anyone but Parramatta. Given that, I wouldn't think he has much of a chance at playing first grade. Apart from his try scoring ability he dosn't offer much else, his size leaves him vulnerable. Good luck to him at Brisbane...or St George or wherever it is he's off too.

JessEel

Accredited Media Releases
Twizzle said:
He did Colonel.

I saw him in the PL grandfinal in 2001, when we lead at half time and the doggies ran us down in the second half.

He played on the wing and was about the best player we had. Got involved with the play alot.

He was also the smallest player that we had.

i don't know if i read this wrong, or if you've confused games, but in 2001, my divvy boys (with Scotty Ella on the wing) played St George in th GF, and we never led, we were down by heaps, and were lucky to score a soft try under the posts thru Mitch Sargent in the 2nd half...

I think there were three grades playing each week back then, and Scotty was a regular for the Eels in the "thrid grade" (Presidents Cup?).

Got the promotion to First Division/Premier League (whatever it was called) later in the season - so maybe it was his original third grade Eels side (Presidents Cup?) that got run down by the Bulldogs in their GF?

He was a good player at that level, and I agree he must've been better for Wenty through this year than in their GF. He would be a handy fringe NRL player for a club without much depth, or quite good at First Division Level. But (unfortunately) he's no Zip Zip Man...

JessEel

nah mate, jersey flegg (your Pres' cup) got beaten by the doggies the week before, (thanks to good ol' kelvin jeffes, the ref with a intense dislike of parra in every grade) in the qualifier, they didn't make the GF in '01
i can't remember who the doggies played, but im pretty sure they won...

I hate it how they change the names of the comps around all the time!

Maybe Twizzle was thinking of the Jersey Flegg loss to Doggies/Kelvin Jeffes (hey, whateva happened to him?!) instead of the divvy GF game against the Dragons. Who knows...

I miss having our lower grades going great guns all the way into GFs what seemed like each year. Only won the club championship by one point this year! Hopefully 2004 we'll be back across the board?

mono_mal

Ella must have had a falling out with the coaches to have such an attitudes towards Parra and based upon many players dislike of Brian Smith its not exactly a suprise.
A similar falling out was had with Greg Boulous who played for Guildford this year in the Jim Beam Cup.
Boulous had great potential and was named in the 25man first grade squad as a 18/19 year old im led to believe but had a fall out with Smithy.
He then went to play for Balmain in flegg and this year played for Guildford.
He's certainly a talented player and has the potential for first grade but I cant see him returning to the Parra ranks with Smith still around.

JessEel

Kelvin Jeffes' :evil: last ever game was that game. testament to how gooda ref he was, he had been dropped to Flegg. Of course, it was our boys' qualifier, and Jeffes had one last opportunity to stick it to us. And he did. poor flegg buggers were behind the posts just shaking their heads, and i remember being told to sit down, (cos i was looking very much like jumping the fence and teaching the little b******d a lesson!) the only flegg game in history the ref was booed of the field!
and i miss our lower grades victory laps too... harold matthews got it this year, but SG and Flegg fell short in their 10 week or whatever comp. Flegg will go back to a full season next year ( :D ) but i don't know about their success....
I know i must sound like a broken record... but they get rid of the boys with flair and passion and loyalty, and its very hard to win without all that!
although i am very impressed with some of the guys down there... matt lantry, john korborsi, brett delaney and such... i would have said kane cleal to kill it for us next year but.... :roll: :cry: :(

JessEel

mono_mal said:
Ella must have had a falling out with the coaches to have such an attitudes towards Parra and based upon many players dislike of Brian Smith its not exactly a suprise.
A similar falling out was had with Greg Boulous who played for Guildford this year in the Jim Beam Cup.
Boulous had great potential and was named in the 25man first grade squad as a 18/19 year old im led to believe but had a fall out with Smithy.
He then went to play for Balmain in flegg and this year played for Guildford.
He's certainly a talented player and has the potential for first grade but I cant see him returning to the Parra ranks with Smith still around.

DUDE i can't believe you mentioned Boulous! that guy is a champ, and we had such high hopes for him at parra,
but thats it, one week he's pushing his way towards first grade, has a blue with BS, bench of divvy, flegg, bench of flegg, lucky to get a run...... tigers! But he was so GOOD! just a cut above!
thats the fate of most of the boys at parra... hence why most of them are goooonnneee... they've all said they love parra, but won't come near the place until Brian is outta here...

:cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry: :cry:

mono_mal

yep Boulous is a good man.
has had a good season with Guildford and is a real down to earth guy. good bloke. one of the favourites of the Owls nest.
if Guildford is to survive next year why dont some of you Parra fans come on down to McCredie and join the Owls Nest to support Boulous and your official Jim Beam Cup feeder club.
Jesus and Blue and gold dust said they were keen this year but didnt end up gettin there. so if we are to kick on next year bring on the blue and gold army and we can join forces in support of Boulous and the like.
cheers

bartman said:
Maybe Twizzle was thinking of the Jersey Flegg loss to Doggies/Kelvin Jeffes (hey, whateva happened to him?!) instead of the divvy GF game against the Dragons. Who knows...

I stand corrected Bartman.......you and Jess are right, it was the semi final not the GF.

JessEel

mono_mal said:
yep Boulous is a good man.
has had a good season with Guildford and is a real down to earth guy. good bloke. one of the favourites of the Owls nest.
if Guildford is to survive next year why dont some of you Parra fans come on down to McCredie and join the Owls Nest to support Boulous and your official Jim Beam Cup feeder club.
Jesus and Blue and gold dust said they were keen this year but didnt end up gettin there. so if we are to kick on next year bring on the blue and gold army and we can join forces in support of Boulous and the like.
cheers

mate, i would like that, (just hope greg and the others don't think we're creepy!!)
remind us next year, we'll grab jesus and dust and head down there... i've never been to mccredie...

fish eel

I remember Boulos....he went alright. Scotty was always a bit average though, starred in the flegg but never really stood out when put up to reggies.

Is Boulous and Ella are so good......why hasn't another NRL club picked them up yet?

Ron Jeremy

fish eel said:
I remember Boulos....he went alright. Scotty was always a bit average though, starred in the flegg but never really stood out when put up to reggies.

Is Boulous and Ella are so good......why hasn't another NRL club picked them up yet?

That's my argument...if they are that good how come they don't have clubs??,

Ella maybe a standout at Jim Beam cup but??......this is hardly first grade or First Division.

I honestly think Ella is average & probably a lazy trainer which is one of Brians main ethic's.

fish eel

Same argument with Steve Witt.....sure on occasions he carved up premier league teams, but was unsigned by anybody for quite a while after June 30.......you would have thought that for such a gun, clubs would have been lining up?

On a similar note, but not entirely related to this topic, the exodus of players from the premier league side. I can understand why, they'll have a new coach next year, their efforts in the playoffs was appalling....they went out way to easy, many of the guys like adam wheeler arent going to threaten for a top grade spot next year and there is probably better talent coming up from the flegg. do we not buy new players or promote from our flegg team to keep an underperforming premier league side together. people criticise smith for 'purging' the club....well, when was the last time the first division side won the comp? 99 i think, this year and last year they've been shown the back door in the playoffs pretty easily, that has to say something?

JessEel

fish eel said:
On a similar note, but not entirely related to this topic, the exodus of players from the premier league side. I can understand why, they'll have a new coach next year, their efforts in the playoffs was appalling....they went out way to easy, many of the guys like adam wheeler arent going to threaten for a top grade spot next year and there is probably better talent coming up from the flegg. do we not buy new players or promote from our flegg team to keep an underperforming premier league side together. people criticise smith for 'purging' the club....well, when was the last time the first division side won the comp? 99 i think, this year and last year they've been shown the back door in the playoffs pretty easily, that has to say something?

mate, if i only cared about how many games parra won, i'd be saying similar, but its not entirely the boys fault they were underachieving. (don't abuse me for that sentence, ok?)
we spoke to a couple, ok, alot of the players involved in the "exodus" and all had similar stories, BS talked them down sooo much that they admitted they haven't been playing good footy. One said he hasn't been happy with his form since flegg... cos he didn't have contact with smithy that much until he reached divvy. Players don't get snapped by other clubs, because BS has let them rot in first divvy so long that other clubs wonder whats wrong with them.
that '99 GF squad was near perfect, and since then, the team has either
A) moved to another club
B) been dropped to Jim Beam or eqivalent or
C) lost all confidence in the talent and ability that saw them do so well back then
pick up a teamlist from '00, '01, hell, even '02 and play 'where are they now?' its quite depressing really, watching them all go elsewhere.
I hope my divvy boys (and the guys that left from first grade for that matter) go to another club that appreciates them, and gives them the confidence to play the best footy of their lives. a couple have said that they would only consider coming back after BS leaves, and for me, as an eels fans, im sorry, but that day cannot come soon enough

mono_mal

Guildford have now withdrawn from the 2004 Jim Beam Cup due to the implementation of the new pokie tax so it doesnt look like The Blue and Gold Army will be making the trip to McCredie next year to support Boulous and the like unless they decide to play for Guildford on little money in the A-Grade competition which is highly unlikely.
The players will now be scattered amongst other clubs although i dont know whom Boulous will join.
I do know though that winger Weller Huaraki who also played for the Eels this year in Jersey Flegg will again be playing for the Eels in Flegg. Weller is a top quality winger and has an abundance of talent. This year he put the hit of the year on Nathan Barnes , also a former eel playing for the Windsor Wolves, leaving Barnsey dazed and confused. The Owls Nest hope to make a few trips to the old 'north hill' at Parra to support the former Owl.
All eels fans lease help in axing this tax which is going to impact heavily upon rugby league in coming years. We need to get rid of this government before they do more damage to our great sport.

Ron Jeremy

mono_mal said:
Guildford have now withdrawn from the 2004 Jim Beam Cup due to the implementation of the new pokie tax so it doesnt look like The Blue and Gold Army will be making the trip to McCredie next year to support Boulous and the like unless they decide to play for Guildford on little money in the A-Grade competition which is highly unlikely.
The players will now be scattered amongst other clubs although i dont know whom Boulous will join.
I do know though that winger Weller Huaraki who also played for the Eels this year in Jersey Flegg will again be playing for the Eels in Flegg. Weller is a top quality winger and has an abundance of talent. This year he put the hit of the year on Nathan Barnes , also a former eel playing for the Windsor Wolves, leaving Barnsey dazed and confused. The Owls Nest hope to make a few trips to the old 'north hill' at Parra to support the former Owl.
All eels fans lease help in axing this tax which is going to impact heavily upon rugby league in coming years. We need to get rid of this government before they do more damage to our great sport.

Carr won't be changing his stances IMO unfortunately....even with rally's & public outcry this has just made him more stubborn then ever to keep the tax!!...I have never voted for Labour & i never will!!

Brogden his rising to the challenge though......he has really grown in stature since the last election & now looks a very confident leader leader!!

Let's just hope he get's in!! ;-)

fish eel

Funny thing about Guildford pulling out because of the pokie tax. It costs $300,000 to field the guilfdord side in the Jim Beam Cup (figure quoted by Guildford leagues). They get sponsorship and what not, so I'm not sure what the net cost to the club is, may be less than $300,000.....but lets assume the net cost is $300,000.

The club claim under the new tax, they will have to pay an extra $300,000 in tax.....hence they cant afford to pay $300,000 for the jim beam side. Sounds fair enough....but

they have just spent several million dollars on renovations.....

So they can find millions (I understand as much as 5!!) for renovations, but cant find a couple of hundred thousand for a footy side.

Seems a bit odd to me......