Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Scottish RU international switches codes!

screeny

Nice attempt rugged! In playing terms what's important is the here and now. No GB fan goes into an argument with an Aussie saying 'we're better than you coz we beat you between 1910-1950 heaps of times'.

However, if you're suggesting we should forget about the century of bigotry and victimisation perpetrated by rah rah then you're very wrong!!!!!

Death to the rah rahs!

taipan

Polynesian Warrior said:
DIEHARD said:
Tighthead said:
The whole Scottish Rugby Union is in serious trouble at the moment - the chairman resigned earlier this week, and the whole union is broke.

Good to hear

The French rugby league has been broke for years and yet they are still fighting on .

Correct, however they arent 20m pounds in debt,translating to approx A$50m bit of a difference.

Here is the Scottish trainning squad for the Up and Coming Six Nations Championship .
Since you are a Scotland rugby union fan screeny . Could you please tell us who are the Non Scottish members of this squad ?
The only one I could think off is Australian born D Parks . Im sure El Masri, Tonie Carrol, Brad Thorn and gang didn't mind playing for the Kangaroo's .
While we are talking about the Australia Lebanon team of 2000 . The Samoan and the American Samoan team that took part in the 2004 Pacific cup in Auckland were all NZ born players .
Good developments !

Forwards: R Beattie (Gwent Dragons), G Bulloch (Glasgow Rugby), B Douglas (The Borders), S Grimes (Newcastle Falcons), C Hamilton (Newcastle Falcons), N Hines (Edinburgh Rugby), A Hogg (Edinburgh Rugby), A Jacobsen (Edinburgh Rugby), G Kerr (Leeds Tykes), D Macfadyen (Glasgow Rugby), S MacLeod (The Borders), J Petrie (Glasgow Rugby), R Russell (London Irish), T Smith (Northampton Saints), J White (Sale Sharks)

Backs: M Blair (Edinburgh Rugby), C Cusiter (The Borders), A Henderson (Glasgow Rugby), B Hinshelwood (Worcester), S Lamont (Glasgow Rugby), G Morrison (Glasgow Rugby), D Parks (Glasgow Rugby), C Paterson (Edinburgh Rugby), G Ross (Leeds Tykes), H Southwell (Edinburgh Rugby).

taipan

Polynesian Warrior said:
Here is the Scottish trainning squad for the Up and Coming Six Nations Championship .
Since you are a Scotland rugby union fan screeny . Could you please tell us who are the Non Scottish members of this squad ?
The only one I could think off is Australian born D Parks . Im sure El Masri, Tonie Carrol, Brad Thorn and gang didn't mind playing for the Kangaroo's .
While we are talking about the Australia Lebanon team of 2000 . The Samoan and the American Samoan team that took part in the 2004 Pacific cup in Auckland were all NZ born players .
Good developments !

Forwards: R Beattie (Gwent Dragons), G Bulloch (Glasgow Rugby), B Douglas (The Borders), S Grimes (Newcastle Falcons), C Hamilton (Newcastle Falcons), N Hines (Edinburgh Rugby), A Hogg (Edinburgh Rugby), A Jacobsen (Edinburgh Rugby), G Kerr (Leeds Tykes), D Macfadyen (Glasgow Rugby), S MacLeod (The Borders), J Petrie (Glasgow Rugby), R Russell (London Irish), T Smith (Northampton Saints), J White (Sale Sharks)

Backs: M Blair (Edinburgh Rugby), C Cusiter (The Borders), A Henderson (Glasgow Rugby), B Hinshelwood (Worcester), S Lamont (Glasgow Rugby), G Morrison (Glasgow Rugby), D Parks (Glasgow Rugby), C Paterson (Edinburgh Rugby), G Ross (Leeds Tykes), H Southwell (Edinburgh Rugby).

Very very impressive list,hope they are all guaranteed their contract monies representing their country and all.

taipan said:
Polynesian Warrior said:
Good developments !

Very very impressive list,hope they are all guaranteed their contract monies representing their country and all.
:lol: Very Impressive ! Dont worry Taipan, They will get paid and still representing country in the Six Nations and at a Rugby World Cup .

Have you got the Samoan and the American Samoan league squad ? The Samoan development officers ad its secetary are still waiting to get paid after five years .

Thomas

DIEHARD said:
Tighthead said:
They could always get jobs with the Scottish Rugby League, we aren't downsizing, we are looking for expand

They probably could, provided they didn't mind relocating to the SRL headquarters in Sydney. ;-)

Beats Scotland. And its right next door to Italy, Greek, Singapore, West Indies and Malta RLs.

You can car pool and sh*t.

:lol: Good one, dude.

rugged said:
lol you idiot.....we're in the year 2005 matey.....

It seems to me that it is always the rugby league history buffs on here that are bringing up ancient history. That's what we keep trying to tell them, it is now 2005.

Yes its 2005 when the tide is turning . Just like they are all of a sudden AFL, soccer and NFL fans when talking about league vs rugby .

yakstorm

Polynesian Warrior said:

Dan Parks (Australia)
Graeme Morrison (Hong Kong) - Born in Hong Kong, played his Junior Rugby there up till 16's then moved to England and played there.
Ben Hinshelwood (Australia)
Hugo Southwell (England)
Robert Russell (Australia)
Gavin Kerr (England)
Tom Smith (England)
Nathan Hines (Australia)
Scott Grey (Zimbabwe)
- Born in Zimbabwe. Lived there till 18 before moving to Australia to play Rugby and Rugby League.
Ross Beatie (England)

Whilst a vastly Scottish squad, 10 out of the 25 weren't born in Scotland, never lived in Scotland or played any junior Rugby in Scotland.

rugged

Why do you ridicule Scotland but you can't even comment on the last RLWC Lebanon team. Not exactly ancient history.

Moffo

rugged said:
Why do you ridicule Scotland but you can't even comment on the last RLWC Lebanon team. Not exactly ancient history.

Because PW asked us to??? :lol:

carlnz

Polynesian Warrior said:
The Samoan and the American Samoan team that took part in the 2004 Pacific cup in Auckland were all NZ born players .
Good developments !

Samoan Rugby League is fu*ked so they coudlnt get players over...in was a last minute job for the Samoan team...

Surprised you didnt say anything about the Fijian, Cook Islands, Tonga, New Calediona sides....

Fijian most are all fijian born...Tonga had 7 Aus 5 Kiwis and 5 tongan born players in their squad...Cooks had alll cook born players in their Pacific Cup team while i'm not sure how many in their champion pacific rim team....

The whole concept of the Pacific Rim was to get these nations playing Internationals again...and they will be doing it again in 2005 aswell..

Cooks toured Fiji in a two match before hand so they are developing....

What about Scotland using Brendon Laney and Mark Leslie...so dont go on about Lebanon and crap...who cares if Lebanon had Australian based players... Hazem was bron in Lebanon...and after the World CUp they started the game in Lebanon which is out standing...and from all reports about the game in scotland....dont sound to good...even on the World Of Rugby show they were talking about the player numbers dropping.

End of the day both codes suffer the same problems....

zulu

Is ru in scotland seriously on the way down?

Would this be the best time for league to establish itself in Scotland or will it always be a primarily amateur sport there. Scotland isn't too far away from some of the league heartlands in England, so you never know.

yakstorm

rugged said:

I was just taking up PW's challenge. Look I see little wrong with 10 out of a squad of 25 not coming from the country and qualifing through either parent or grandparent rules.

Its something you can see happening forever in sport provided the rule is there, whether its League, Union, Soccer or any others, if you aren't one of the top top squads, and can source better players, you are going to get them if you can legally under the rules? right?

Of course there is a certain amount of pride in having domestic home grown players playing in your national team, but if throwing in a fraction of 'qualified' players can give you the edge, most teams will do it.

I congradulate the SRU for having a nice healthy mix of domestic and 'parent/grandparent' qualified players.

taipan

Polynesian Warrior said:
taipan said:
Polynesian Warrior said:
Good developments !

:lol: Very Impressive ! Dont worry Taipan, They will get paid and still representing country in the Six Nations and at a Rugby World Cup .

Have you got the Samoan and the American Samoan league squad ? The Samoan development officers ad its secetary are still waiting to get paid after five years .

Who says or who knows whether they wont be paid in the future. Only time will tell.What has Samoan or French rugby league(which you brought in to your usual anti league paranoia) got to do with Scottish rugby union anyway .
Suggest you might explain all the non home grown players in the Scottish squad as stated ,rather than the opposite which you said.

Moffo

PW hasn't come back to this thread lol :lol: I dont mind you mate, but just admit you got owned

screeny

PW, you have been weighed, measured and been found wanting. Again.

Tell me, how many of Samoa's 2003 RUWC squad were born in Samoa? You mentioned one, the skipper, but that's it. Perhaps that's because teh vast majority of them are born and have lived all their lives in....da da dah......NZ?!

Rugged. Very different circumstances. RU has had over a century of uninterrupted growth and development. League has had over 100 years of the establishment trying to stop it spread.

winnyason

disclaimer:my views and my views only
rugged (what ever yor called)keep kicking and giggling,
union is the game of tartan jackets, remember joey and matty johns on the footy show?(when joey considered kicking and giggling)
oh that's right you have to listen to that ian smith(the cricket guy).
diclaimer: my views only about union scum
don't go on with rubbish mate,
you are just as bad as league when world cup comes around
with you kiwi samoan team or trying to get venikolo to play for tonga or
ben macdougall playing in front of 1000 people in scotland to play for scotland :lol: or tony marsh with france, brad thorn with nz, henry paul with england.
you talk up union likes IT is greaT BUT LET'S LOOK AT NATIONAL LEAGUE FIGURES, SURE SOUTHEN HEMIPHERE great . nothern hemiphere outside eng or heinekein cup rubbish crowds , italy around 200 - 1500 wales 1500 scotland(mate i have been to planet rugby site)
same ireland same even french champ around 5000.russia cannot compete with league (eg last year victory cup, so get russian captain to switch codes, get main russia sponsor) crowd for final 28.000. your market outside mainstream is going
georgia, netherlands, serbia,usa,(even wales will have sl team by 2009 for union heartland), png(you will never have this market),west indies(players all looking to switch to league)lebanon new rugby league heartland.
i see you said french league was going broke(i wonder why the vichy regime for starters against league, which in term he blocked tv coverage
when league was huge, no sponsorship league was isolated to south)
mate once the heartland reigion of perpanion in superleague takes off 3 - 5 years max another will follow, rumours out of france and even england suggest another french team in 2007 with marsellies(former huge league heartland area) looking favoured ahead of toulouse. euro cup will start
for league, trudgett(who play for cassonne) played with me at orange hawks during off season in 2002 and suggested in the 50's, 60's and mid 70's league was the game clubs such brieve, palau played league until this nice corupt union intervention stopped leagues progress.
during ru world cup, dual international jonathon davies said club wise league was bigger than union and vice versa union was bigger internationally(he is a better judge than most).
you are very pranoid about your game seeing the intense blocking of league in south africa(crowds in club comp around 3000 in 1996-1999) period unitl scare mungering. what are you worried about.
intense blocking of game in italy(this would help your players keep fit in off season).
oh yes same in japan, or canada or even morrocco?
no doubt crowds are big in the southern hempishpere but what about europe?
and yes internationally you are a bigger game than why stop our progress because you don't like change you like ruccking and mauling(zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz).
you are leaches particularly in france, and now england,
what would you do with sonny bill williams skills if he signed with union
stick him in a maul and hide him(more than likely this is the option sonny is looking at because of your evil scare camipaigns and money taken from the blind nz public) wait till the second nz league teams comes about buddie.
jamel fakir will be the same.
your paranoid hated comes about because league is stronger than union in the biggest rugby market in the world in australia, if an nrl player picks his nose
he is in trouble yet super 12 is on at 12 o clock at night and every body goes to sleep, state of origin poos on bloody slow cup and even when the kangaroos wallop it is a story before the wallabies. big crowds every week.
if league is competitive internationaly union gets no coverage in oz. plan and simple. this is what kcick and giggle is trying to stop.
face facts gridiron players respect league players when they see state of origin yet thay know what union is and say turn it off. just imagine if a league pro comp is started in usa before union soccer boss . j o neil
would have heart attack he has intense hatread for league. this man claims league will die in oz when football(takes off) :D :D :D :D :D :D
buddie i agree union is bigger internatinally but stop putting us down
we love our game you need to go back to you maul sit in it and never get the ball to attack :shock:
see mate we are starting to finally recover from the super league debarcle and look at the union paranoia (what do we do french team joining superleague,(and more teams to come) welsh team joining nl1, russia taking off(before corupt union intervention) 2nd nz nrl team set to join in 2007-08 period,junior world cup, annual wcc,
huge nz talent choosing league over union(because ten out of the 15 teams have dev officers in nz, png being looked at for nrl,
you leaches cannot get all the good league talent anymore in france,
league trying to get into our regions aregentina, pacific, netherlands,
morrocco,georgia, serbia, even paranoia in singpore :D :D :D :D :D :D
maybe malta next or greece or germany :D :D :D :D :D this is how pathic you are

kick and giggle buddie and before you be smart and correct my spelling errors
my keyboard is playing up
go back to union forum