Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Season '22

Girds89

He is a middle. Doesn't pass, doesn't use footwork. Just runs straight in hard. Teams Know what they get with him

Boyd cordner was brilliant for the chooks, nsw and aus for a long period of time. He was just a great hard running hole runner. Didnt have any fancy footwork or skills.

Just had good halfs who could put him into holes.

Martin is completley different to capewell and i think once cleary is back to 100% fitness he will help martin go to another level.

Girds89

Likely no Cleary, Martin and a new centre to start the season that right side is going to be very ordinary.

Hopefully Jenkins, Salmon or someone carves up in pre season and Tago can move to the backrow. Also will allow Kikau to play less minutes.

Or even Hopgood or someone get moved wider and again allows Martin to move sides or off the bench

Honestly mate. Salmon isnt going to be in the running for a centre spot. Hes a solid nsw cup 5/8. Boderline nrl fill in at a pinch off the bench. Not trying to be rude but thats just the reality.

The centres in terms of pecking order will be

Critta
Tago
Hopefully a signing
Jennings
Jenkins
May
Daylight
Salmon

I think the right side at full strength will be, cleary, martin, critta, may. Definitley a good mix of skill and strength there. Martin compliments critta well because critta isnt a hole running centre like burto was. He likes to use his footwork, jink amd weave etc. With marto running straight lines it straightens up the defence which will create more space for critta to use his footwork out wide.

Iamback

Honestly mate. Salmon isnt going to be in the running for a centre spot. Hes a solid nsw cup 5/8. Boderline nrl fill in at a pinch off the bench. Not trying to be rude but thats just the reality.

The centres in terms of pecking order will be

Critta
Tago
Hopefully a signing
Jennings
Jenkins
May
Daylight
Salmon

I think the right side at full strength will be, cleary, martin, critta, may. Definitley a good mix of skill and strength there. Martin compliments critta well because critta isnt a hole running centre like burto was. He likes to use his footwork, jink amd weave etc. With marto running straight lines it straightens up the defence which will create more space for critta to use his footwork out wide.

Brandy mentioned Salmon being in the mix. He'd know better than all of us here

Iamback

Boyd cordner was brilliant for the chooks, nsw and aus for a long period of time. He was just a great hard running hole runner. Didnt have any fancy footwork or skills.

Just had good halfs who could put him into holes.

Martin is completley different to capewell and i think once cleary is back to 100% fitness he will help martin go to another level.

Nothing wrong with that style of player just won't get the attack going. Which to evolve the right side needs to offer more

Original Name

Who then?
We likely move Hopgood or someone but they would be off the bench to start with you would think
Graner finds his front and defends well. What I said about finding your front running at a half and defending well applies to a huge stack of second rowers. Just pick a random club and they probably have someone like that.

All we need a 7/10 player and Cleary will make them look like 8.5/10.

Iamback

Graner finds his front and defends well. What I said about finding your front running at a half and defending well applies to a huge stack of second rowers. Just pick a random club and they probably have someone like that.

All we need a 7/10 player and Cleary will make them look like 8.5/10.

You need one that can play both sides. Yes Garner you get for minimum

martielang

I’d take Garner in a heartbeat but I don’t think he’d be cheap. Manly want him too and I reckon a couple of other clubs would be sniffing around if he was available.

chrisD

I think Martin is a better middle player than wide, but we're not in a position this season to play him there.

Girds89

I agree with this. Martin struggles in a few areas you want a Edge forward to do

Utilised properly on an edge with cleary feeding him the ball and i think he will be brilliant this season.

He will really straighten the right hand attack. Capewell wasnt that effective at straightening the attack and it was one of the reasons the right was less effective as they always run out of room.

Marto plays very direct and is a good foil to kikau.

He was good at prop at parts throughout the season but against some of the better teams and bigger packs he struggled. Melbourne contained him easily the 2nd time we played them. He was ineffective that night playing middle. He doesnt have cam murrays footwork so cant get away with being that bit smaller in the middle.

Other than that. Hes simply not needed in the middle.

Jfh
Leota
Spencer
Hopgood
Smith
Sorensen
Eiso

Can all play middle.

I think marto will be playing 60 to 65mins a game out wide. Same with kikau. Need someone to fill the 30 mins. I think sorensen will be the man. He has the laterall speed to defend wider and is a good line runner.

Iamback

Utilised properly on an edge with cleary feeding him the ball and i think he will be brilliant this season.

He will really straighten the right hand attack. Capewell wasnt that effective at straightening the attack and it was one of the reasons the right was less effective as they always run out of room.

Marto plays very direct and is a good foil to kikau.

He was good at prop at parts throughout the season but against some of the better teams and bigger packs he struggled. Melbourne contained him easily the 2nd time we played them. He was ineffective that night playing middle. He doesnt have cam murrays footwork so cant get away with being that bit smaller in the middle.

Other than that. Hes simply not needed in the middle.

Jfh
Leota
Spencer
Hopgood
Smith
Sorensen
Eiso

Can all play middle.

I think marto will be playing 60 to 65mins a game out wide. Same with kikau. Need someone to fill the 30 mins. I think sorensen will be the man. He has the laterall speed to defend wider and is a good line runner.

I'd try to move Smith to the edge. He has decent speed a passing game and is way down the pecking order for props.

Given we will have a rookie centre. Crichton likely plays on the right he will jag a try or 2 just on his skill or chasing grubbers but if we can get a 2nd rower that can give him space even better. He is being wasted otherwise

Girds89

I'd try to move Smith to the edge. He has decent speed a passing game and is way down the pecking order for props.

Given we will have a rookie centre. Crichton likely plays on the right he will jag a try or 2 just on his skill or chasing grubbers but if we can get a 2nd rower that can give him space even better. He is being wasted otherwise

Trent waterhouse kind of role? I like that idea!