Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Shark Fans Travelling to Melbourne (Round 8)

mel

black_dot said:
Come on Mermaid, make the trip again this year, the cold beers at the pub opposite flinders street station, the walk across fed square, giving Molly Meldrum sh*t about following the storm, the nice walk down the river bank to Olympic and the half empty stand where every bit of support is heard by the sharky players.Last year Simmons of all people stood up two defenders to score a 40 metre effort and loved every minute of our cheering.

If you cannot make Melbourne, make townsville or brissy, the think you've met some good people in your life, the bunch of core supporters from QLD who follow the sharks and who take time out to come to a game are f***ing incredible, better people you won't meet in a lifetime and oh how we danced last year when our boys gave the fancied broncos a touch up at ANZ. and oh how the secrurity tossers backed down when they realised we were serious when we said that there ain't no law against cheering for your side, no matter what the strung up prick bronco season seat holders behind us said thought !

:clap: :clap: :clap:

Can't get any leave for the Melbourne game but am thinking of going to Brisbane. You going to the Canberra game?

Shark

Great news Sheros...

I'm taking the lady over there for a surprise trip...She's from Perth but hates footy so I figured if I was gonna surprise her with a trip then I might as well get some footy in as well... :lol:

Flying out early Friday morning and back Monday PM. U guys got flight plans arranged yet?

Yep I am on the 0815 Qantas flight on the Saturday. coming back on Wednesday. Where are you staying?

black_dot

MElb or Perth Nulla ?

I'll be at Both games and Canberra too Mermaid. Can we all arrange for the storm game to sit in the one area ? that is the eastern stand around the southern 40 metre line ?

It's usually pretty empty and if you book a ticket you can move around the stand a bit and sit as a team of blue black and whites.

Perth has a large contingent of supporters going over and sponsor groups so it won't be hard to find sharks fans.

For the bronco game, It's a hard job organising a box allocation, and I know the mighty Pierre and the boys did a fine job to organise it last year but may not want to take on the task again, it really is hard work getting payment etc. Perhaps if we start a new thread specifically for that match and get an idea of numbers , I'll do that now and I'm sure the mighty QLD sharks group will email everyone and see how many we are looking at roughly, then I can contact the club or the broncos to see if they can't organise a block allocation this year.

Kramer

I'll be at the Melbourne game.
Black Dot, the pub you are referring to opposite Flinders, is that the Duke of Wellington? I was supposed to be going to the races, but may have trouble getting back for the match seeing as they are at Sandown and the game is at 5.30. Might head to the Duke around midday instead. Maybe the Sharks fans could meet there before the match.

mel

The pub is called the young and jackson for memory. It's on the corner of swanson and flinders streets.

black_dot

IT's a great place to meet and it's a nice walk down to the match from there.

The looks you get in a league jumper from all the AFL fans in there is worth bottling !

Kramer

Young & Jacksons, I know the one you mean now. The one I was thinking of (Duke of Wellington) is a block or so east of there. It gets a lot of the before and after MCG crowd for AFL / cricket etc.

bubs

black_dot said:
The looks you get in a league jumper from all the AFL fans in there is worth bottling !
Thats for sure.
LAst year, proudly wearing my Sharkies jersey in the pub, these blokes came up and said things like 'Your game certainly has better jerseys than ours'. I really wanted to say 'Thats because we have a better game than yours as well' but didn't think that would go down too well in the pub.
I'm going down on Friday coming back Monday.
See you there, Black Dot.

bubs

black_dot said:
MElb or Perth Nulla ?

I'll be at Both games and Canberra too Mermaid. Can we all arrange for the storm game to sit in the one area ? that is the eastern stand around the southern 40 metre line ?

It's usually pretty empty and if you book a ticket you can move around the stand a bit and sit as a team of blue black and whites.
I believe that CANNOT be done anymore Black Dot.
I believe that the entire roofed area is now General Admission. So it will be first come first served.
I am not sure completely about this, but I believe it to be the case.

Probably the easiest way to accomplish this is if ALL SHARKS SUPPORTERS who are going to the Melbourne game arrive at the above mentioned pub at about 2.30pm for a drinkie then make our way down to the ground at about 3.30pm to arrive at 4.00pm. That way we could all sit together and yell ourselves hoarse at our teams great win we will enjoy there.

So what does everybody reckon.

DRINKIES at 2.30pm at the YOUNG AND JACKSONS pub. Wear your League jersey and see some of the reactions of the patrons when 30 Sharks jumpers make their way into their prescious pub.
Yay or Nay...

I better get cracking on arrangements for the Perth match. Hope to see a few of you over there in Perth. I''ll be going to the game with my family who are all ex eastern states people.