Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sharks fume as MP deserts project

BunniesMan

Uuum the Council has been trying to white ant the project from the start and are filthy it isn't their call to make.

Also the report is f**king amateur at best and may not even be released, so it is obviously just a stunt to get something into the local paper to scare people.
You don't have to tell me. I don't want any team folding, it's a bad look for the league. I hope the development does go through. And if it pisses off a few shire residents who cares. They're probably only the NIMBY xenophobes who give Cronulla a bad name.

R2Coupe

You don't have to tell me. I don't want any team folding, it's a bad look for the league. I hope the development does go through. And if it pisses off a few shire residents who cares. They're probably only the NIMBY xenophobes who give Cronulla a bad name.

Bunniesman

The link to the report was prepared by planning officers of Council, not elected councillors. This is a concern for the Sharks.

The financial viability of a football club is not a planning consideration under the Environmental Planning and Assesment Act. This has been stated in the link.

Are you aware a founding member of the club is against this proposal as are long time members?

Funny that ey
He used to work for the club and was involved in a previous development application.
Suddenly , now that he is not at the club it is a floodplain.
Quick bust out the ark!

Sounds more like sour grapes to me.

Why do you even care if it floods?

I reckon you don't want the development because you don't want
anyone else living in the area.

Same goes for the rest of the people against it.
The flood theory ( which is bull otherwise it would underwater right now) is
just an excuse to cover the real motive.
We all know it.

Mr Pmatta

Read somewhere in the social pages in paper today that only 200 people turned up for the rally, if that is true, you guys are in deeper shit than I thought.

taipan

Bunniesman

The link to the report was prepared by planning officers of Council, not elected councillors. This is a concern for the Sharks.

The financial viability of a football club is not a planning consideration under the Environmental Planning and Assesment Act. This has been stated in the link.

Are you aware a founding member of the club is against this proposal as are long time members?

Yet we are told Caringbah High school is to be sold off,and 400 units to go up in its place.So we have Taren Point Road and Captain Cook Drive,capable of taking that lot,without a whimpper.
Council bend whichever way the wind flows.They are in the main self interested,power hungry,with thought only to their immediate surrounds mand futures.They look at the past and not the future,and their hyprocisy sticks out like the proverbials.
And there people who are not members of the club,nor interested in rugby league are for the proposal .I happen to know a few who livelocally.

taipan

Read somewhere in the social pages in paper today that only 200 people turned up for the rally, if that is true, you guys are in deeper shit than I thought.

based on an incorrect count,or a group supporting the move:lol:.THe decision not made by council,not made by teh fors or aginsts will be based on many criteria and not just a group in favour on the streets.
Sometimes sh*t makes good fertiliser for growth.

Ausguy

Thats where you are going wrong.

You know nothing about it, worry about your own club.

Ausguy

Bunniesman

Are you aware the same founding member wants to build a "resort thingy" on the same land.

He is completely out of his mind.

This development will benefit the community long after George Capsis is in heaven.

Ronnie Dobbs

None of anything thats been said in here will have any bearing on the decision.

It will be treated on its merits one would hope and the right oucome will be reached.

I've had extensive business dealings with Sutherland Council and they are backwards morons, even by local Govt standards, so the opinion of its planners is no surprise.

Ausguy

Ronnie is 100% right.

It's the same as the result of the comments on the leader website.

The PAC will decide and it will be approved in some form.

Ronnie Dobbs

Ronnie is 100% right.

It's the same as the result of the comments on the leader website.

The PAC will decide and it will be approved in some form.

Key words are "in some form". Thats the key to everyrhing. I don't know what it is, but I'm certain there is a critical mass that needs to be reached at a minimum for this to be viable and save the Sharks butts.

We'll see.

newman

None of anything thats been said in here will have any bearing on the decision.

It will be treated on its merits one would hope and the right oucome will be reached.

I've had extensive business dealings with Sutherland Council and they are backwards morons, even by local Govt standards, so the opinion of its planners is no surprise.

And that is why bluestone (the sharks) pushed so hard to get it determined by state govt and not the council. And that is why council are so pissed off. They can kick and scream and Piss and moan, but the control has been taken from their grasp. Now the development will be heard by a truly objective committee that is far, far removed from pathetic insular shire politics. And that is why the development will be approved.

Rockin Ronny

Bunniesman

Are you aware a founding member of the club is against this proposal as are long time members?[/QUOTE]

As North Sydney Bears fans and members found out the hard way - when your own people are whiteanting you, it is a death sentence.

Ausguy

I dont expect the financial viability of the footy team to be a consideration.

This proposal has enough going for it to get over the line in its own merits.

Frailty

It will be judged on its merits, which include:
- More affordable residential in the area
- More accessible shopping for the local area
- New medical facilities which will help an ageing population
- Shopping to increase jobs in the area
- Sure up funding to local clubs and schools.

Mr Pmatta

Thats where you are going wrong.

You know nothing about it, worry about your own club.
In the article they said that aussie actor Cowley? I think from League Lounge and a die hard Sharks supporter was in the back of the ute with a megaphone, I guess trying to gee up the fans, and for the record I said "IF" that was true, personally mate I hope Sharks live on for a long time, and good on the couple of hundred or so who turned up.