Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

sharks strike again

Im almost positive his time at center is over.

With the ball, he still has it close to the line, his strength sees him able to get through/over.

But that seems to be it

Not sure if he can handle anywhere else on the field

I would not say we are setting up 2014 to be completely reliant on Juniors. The only Juniors who I reckon will be in the starting 17 come game 1 will be Nufo, Teddy, Simona, Sue and possibly Brooks. I wouldn't count BMM and Siro as juniors but they are close.

Woods is a Leichhardt junior and Siro played for Dundas Shamrocks which falls within the Balmain junior league. Halatau played in both the Parramatta and Balmain juniors. Simona was a Penrith Junior who came across to Balmain to play in the Harold Matthews team. Farah, as mentioned, is a Canterbury/Balmain junior. Kyle Lovett and Nathan Brown may debut next year and both are Balmain juniors. Joel Luani is being primed as a back-up for Farah and he's another Balmain junior.

Does anyone know the story with Mitchell Moses? I know he played for Parra's Harold Matthews side before joining Balmain but I have a feeling that some of his junior footy was in the Balmain district. In any event, I don't think he'll play much next year, certainly not until he fills out.

R2Coupe

SMH reported yesterday Moses and Brooks have been with Holy Cross since U7s - Balmain juniors.

Moses school footy with Holy X
weekend footy with Hills Bulls or Toonie ..Balmain Jnrs early (6s 7s etc) I think

Sirro played his last couple years at Shamrocks, most of his jnrs at Nth Ryde

Can the Tigers comfortably say they have explored all avenues in getting Rowdy back to his best, have they sought all the specialist medical advice they can to ensure there's nothing more that can be done, have they sent him to the Australian Institute of sport to train with leading sprint trainers, have the sent him to Australia's best sports psychiatrists to ensure his horrific injury didn't whack him mentally, have they thought outside the square and tried some alternative active release therapy or perhaps send him to the states for some training with a NFL side. Have they done all they can for him.

I ask these questions because I would hate to think we lose what was one of our greatest prospects and future captain on the advice of John Skandalis and Dr death.

magpie guy

I hope this is just a rumour. Granted Lawrence has been down on form and pace but just one injury free offseason and sprint training and I think he can get back to his best. Remembering that for the past two seasons both centres (aysh and rowdy) have battled injuries, unsettled halves combinations, a forward pack not really going forward and terrible service. In defence rowdy has been covering inside and outside with defenders either side of him changing regularly.

I just don't think Lawrence is past it. What is good is that it looks like we can cover his spot and Simona has looked really good on the left.

BuffaloRules

Just a question to all saying that he can get his pace back after two years, can you name another player where this has happened?

hybrid_tiger

They are more than welcome to him, he's finished. Done. Slow as a wet week and a constant traffic cone in defense. Please take him.

I think he has plenty in him but his defence is atrocious. He comes in all the time when it isn't required.

R2Coupe

Even with injury, he should be better. He lacks confidence in his inside team mate to make the tackle. Also lacks urgency in getting back into the defensive line after making a tackle.

macnaz

An LOL@LAWRENCE thread is warranted . His shittness was once again responsible for a loss.

He still has pace and he can still run it hard at the line.

In saying that I thought he passed it to the ground twice despite the commentators blaming Simona for not positioning himself well. I thought Lawrence just stuffed it.

magpie guy

Even with injury, he should be better. He lacks confidence in his inside team mate to make the tackle. Also lacks urgency in getting back into the defensive line after making a tackle.

When that inside teammate is Anasta you can be forgiven for not trusting their defence. I don't think it is his fault for the loss but he was pretty shit today. Might be time to bench him for the remaining games in favour of Simona/Koro. Rest him until the offseason and see if he comes good.

R2Coupe

Good suggestion to rest Lawrence. I can't see any point in him playing when clearly he is not at his best.

TYGA

Lawrence couldn't outrun takarangi in the second half and threw a horror to Simona. He is gone.