Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sharks vs Souths NSW Cup on Sunday

cooper 888

Cheers. Still chasing a team if anyone knows! Dont forget that 8 of souths nrl squad will drop back into the norths side each week (barring injury), that will surely strengthen things up for them!

DJDL

well we smashed them, dont ask a score as there was none being kept, but we ran all over them. Very happy with that performance.
There were no programmes so i could only keep track of numbers, but i later found out that the numbers given from the site weren't exactly accurate.
Best for us were:
Vave
Harlen
Aiton was very good, good quick service and always onto the second phase
Grubb
Lewis: this lad sure knows how to read the game very well, but offsets that with some silly mistakes

but the best player, by the proverbial mile, was Matty Wright playing 5/8.
He absolutely tore them to shreds, with a hand in nearly every try and scoring a few himself.
He set up the plays, he was a class above the rest.
Honestly, he reminded me of Mateo, and he looks so much bigger and taller.
If he keeps progressing this fast he will be our future, and sooner than later, bloody hell the kids only 18 as well.

That's good to hear BBB. He was much maligned on here last year but to be playing FG at 17 he obviously has some talent.

I saw hints last year that he could be a very handy player in years to come. And I'm also of the belief that five eighth is his best position. He seems quick enough between the ears to handle it, just needs a little more maturity and possibly a little more size to handle it at FG level.

Definitely one to keep an eye on this year.

SharkWings

well we smashed them, dont ask a score as there was none being kept, but we ran all over them. Very happy with that performance.
There were no programmes so i could only keep track of numbers, but i later found out that the numbers given from the site weren't exactly accurate.
Best for us were:
Vave
Harlen
Grubb
Lewis: this lad sure knows how to read the game very well, but offsets that with some silly mistakes

He absolutely tore them to shreds, with a hand in nearly every try and scoring a few himself.
If he keeps progressing this fast he will be our future, and sooner than later, bloody hell the kids only 18 as well.

Agree on all points. Wright was superb.

Best for us were:
Vave
Harlen
Grubb

Thanks for the report BBB!

Much appreciated.

Very surprised to hear about the huge rap about Matty Wright.

Last year he looked like a rabbit starring at the headlights in First Grade.

But I guess he's very young.

Stoked that he might have something for First Grade in the future!!

I'll tell yas all something else too, it was a beautiful arvo down at Erko, I was laying on the hill, nice breeze running through my (chest) hair, The Peach's kids throwing the footy over the top of me (his boys and girl sure know how to pass!)
a couple of good convo's with mates, and just an enjoyable atmosphere.

now as most of these fellas games are going to be at Henson this year, if you do have the time see if you can get down and watch them.
It is a well put on do and everyone has a good time watching the footy, like when us old folk were kids. Plus the players would really appreciate the support.

no worries about the reports fellas, its just a pleasure to be watchin footy again.

Sharks 44 d Norths 16 (no conversions taken)

Sharks Tries

Matt Wright 2
Trent Grubb 2
Nathan Gardner 2
Jamen McLeod
Daniel Phillips
Siosaia Vave
Sean Finnerty
Number 3 (wasnt Tautai, think it was Jake Denford)

Lost the 20's 36-8

Starting Side For The NSW Cup Was

1. Nathan Gardner
2. Jamen McLeod
24. Jason Lombardo
4. Michael Pickard
5. Daniel Phillips
6. Matt Wright
7. Josh Lewis (c)
8. Inoke Tapaatoutai
9. Paul Aiton
10. Siosaia Vave
11. Luke Harlen
12. Trent Grubb
13. Luke Latham

3. ?
14. Ian James
16. Lancen Judo
18. Herman Retzlaff
19. Sean Finnerty
22. Chris O'Reilly
23. John Viga

imo Vave was our best, the bloke is a beast, offloaded on every carry. played plenty of minutes, formed a good combo with tapaatoutai. Aiton ran well from dummy half, Lewis kicked well liked to hog it when he was close to the line was shut down on numerous occasions, Harlen looked good, has first grade expierence and that showed. Daniel Phillips on the wing, has played for the central coast storm the last couple of seasons was a real suprise in attack and defence.

Was just good to see some footy.

hope this brief report helps

Plus the players would really appreciate the support.

thats 100% true m8, the NSW Cup gets very little coverage and small crowds, i followed the boys last season went to every match including the game against the Vulcans in auckland, the NSW Cup is an exciting brand of football and i recommend sharks fans to get to games and watch.

Something else mate, The Newtown fans love it when you fellas go to Henson with your flags etc too. It's like a timewarp back to the 70's-80's at that ground and they love it when you're there, well done.

PHaTMaN

Yeah I can't believe the amount of sh*t he (Wright) copped last year, Props for backing up too BBB.

He copped a lot of sh!t last year because he wasnt up to first grade standard. Not his fault, he was thrown in the deep end before he was ready, I've got no doubt he will be a good player in years to come but last year he missed two tackles that lost us games.

DJDL

He copped a lot of sh!t last year because he wasnt up to first grade standard. Not his fault, he was thrown in the deep end before he was ready, I've got no doubt he will be a good player in years to come but last year he missed two tackles that lost us games.

It's a bit unfair to single him out for that. Dougie has let in his fair share of tries but you don't hear him being blamed for losing us games.