Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Sheens 3 year plan

BuffaloRules

I have heard a lot of talk about Sheens when he came to the club that he had a three year plan in mind for success.

Does anyone know what the objective of the plan was to be at the end of the three years?? Premiership?? top 4??

I would have imagined that he would have had in mind after the end of his second year a top 8 finish. It appears this will not be achieved.

Even though Sheens has been contracted for another two years, I hope that he has the decency to resign at the end of 2005 if the plan is not achieved.

We need to be really competitive at the end of next year, well entrenched in the top 8 as a minimum.

If not, then I think its time for Sheens to go and give the job to someone else.

We ( the fans) can not accept a continued culture of mediocracy at the club, otherwise that is what will be dished up to us each year.

CULLUS.ONLINE

I am willing to let him stay for a few more years.

Since he came to the club things have never looked better.

In 2003 the team lifted and put on good shows every week, even though we lost most of them. Sports comintators were saying that although we are not strong at the moment (2003), the signs are there that the club will get better.
2003 for me was good, especially the last part where the team started to play some really good football and the signs were good! Benji Marshall Arrived too!
Tim was also able to recruit a good number of players aswell!

in 2004 we won the 7s and were on fire for the first half of the year. Unfortuantly, as tim predicted, injuries and depth would take their grip and we would fall short, but in the end the team has been playing some great footy this year and long gone are the days of continually loosing. Hell, we even got 3 in a row! Sure, atm the team is down, but i remember last year the same thing happened and we only scored 3 tries in 3 games!

2004 has been, i think, our best season so far (bar the first part of 2000). I have faith in tim and the team going one step closer next year, and another step the next one!

gr8_1

BuffaloRules said:
I have heard a lot of talk about Sheens when he came to the club that he had a three year plan in mind for success.

Does anyone know what the objective of the plan was to be at the end of the three years?? Premiership?? top 4??

I would have imagined that he would have had in mind after the end of his second year a top 8 finish. It appears this will not be achieved.

Even though Sheens has been contracted for another two years, I hope that he has the decency to resign at the end of 2005 if the plan is not achieved.

We need to be really competitive at the end of next year, well entrenched in the top 8 as a minimum.

If not, then I think its time for Sheens to go and give the job to someone else.

We ( the fans) can not accept a continued culture of mediocracy at the club, otherwise that is what will be dished up to us each year.

As per the Q&A with Sheens that was done on the official site at the start of the year - His plan for 2004 was not to make the Top 8, but it would be a bonus if we did. An improvement on previous seasons was a goal, and it seems he will achieve this. In 2004 he wants to give the younger players more first grade exposure and bring them on slowly. He also said that 2005 would be the year that he could see the Wests Tigers doing something, whether this goal has changed now is another question he might need to answer.

To suggest he should step down or be sacked is ludicrous. He isnt the one dropping the ball, giving the penaltys away etc. The players have to be held responsible for that. 5 weeks ago people were applauding the team, now they are writing off the clubs future. His recruitment policy may be questioned further though, but also remember he can only use the funds the club gives him and he also has to deal with the fact the club has had a losing culture from day one. Elite players are not going to a club that is struggling even if the money is tempting, eg Monaghan. The question should be asked at a higher level.

The main goals of the Wests Tigers IMO should be:
- unify the club into a single recognisable entity with two historys
- adopt a winning at all costs ruthless culture (eg like the Roosters)
- make sure elite juniors are tied to the club long term
- adopt a youth policy immediately

This is my opinion of cause. A lot of people may disagree.

Eddie.

gr8_1 said:
BuffaloRules said:

. He isnt the one dropping the ball, giving the penaltys away etc. The players have to be held responsible for that. .

i agree Sheens should be retained as after all we are looking like ( well you never know) improving on last years total of 7 wins. After all werent most people saying 10 wins and 10th place with no off field dramas they would be satisfied with from this year?????????????

However i dont buy the " hes not the ones dropping the ball" etc etc, they were dropping the ball through poor skill levels and lack of organisation and SOME of the blame for this has to go to the coaching staff.

Yes sack Sheens, yet another emotionally, over-dramatised concept.

He's only brought professionalism to a club which never had any.
He's only managed to get players interested in signing with the club.

I hope he stays here until the day he dies.

gr8_1

madunit said:

We agree for once. :lol:

BuffaloRules

madunit said:

Unit, I generally respect your comments.

However you say that Sheens has bought professionalism to the club, and that he has attracted players.

Look at the cold hard facts - have the results improved over the last two years that Sheens has been at the club??

Has the team moved up the rankings??

ozcrusader

Sheens should not be sacked - he has done more for this club than Lamb and Pearce put together. Besides, if Sheens does get sacked, the tossers who comprise club management will probably go and sign Langmack for 10 years on $500,000 a year.

We were actually going along ok this year until the untimely injury to Marshall. I think some people really underestimate what he adds to the team with the ball in his hands when he is at 5/8th - we are a totally different team!

My gripe with Sheens is that he isnt adopting the youth policy - he is playing (and recruiting) old players. Fair dinkum, as if you would have a side with Sattler, O'Neil, Mears, Senter, Graham and Moodie in it. I mean bloody hell, surely, surely we have young players in PL that should be given a go.

I agree. I mean i'd have a few of those players in the team but we need to get the younger guys out there or when the likes of graham, moodie, senter and mears retire the young guns won't have a clue what they are doing. i think Mr Sheens is taking having experience in the team a little too far....

_A_J_Gray_

gr8_1 said:
BuffaloRules said:
His plan for 2004 was not to make the Top 8, but it would be a bonus if we did. An improvement on previous seasons was a goal, and it seems he will achieve this.

With the side he has this year compared to last year, its a pretty dodgy goal to be looking to achieve.

hybrid_tiger

We were actually going along ok this year until the untimely injury to Marshall. I think some people really underestimate what he adds to the team with the ball in his hands when he is at 5/8th - we are a totally different team!

Word.

Anyone who thinks Marshall wasn't a loss needs their head checked. He gives us that spark and unpredictability in attack which we have been lacking for over a decade.

HappyTiger

Results have improved.We have already won as many games as we did last year.I know we have better personell but things are getting better.One bad month doesnt change the fact that we are a club on the up and we are doing the right things on and off the field.

BuffaloRules

HappyTiger said:
Results have improved.We have already won as many games as we did last year.

Happy, I agree that we have improved from last year, in terms of playing roster, if not in terms of position on the table.

Based on our new recruits for 2004, did you not expect us to improve?

Unfortunately, so has everyone else, and Manly, Warriors, Souths have all improved for next year as well.

No one stands still in this game.

tiger_nick

hybrid_tiger said:

Word.

Anyone who thinks Marshall wasn't a loss needs their head checked. He gives us that spark and unpredictability in attack which we have been lacking for over a decade.

We are a completely different team with Benji there. The team just seems to have more confidence, the whole team plays better as a team and as individuals. The opposition are constantly watching him which gives Prince and Hodgson more room.

Tigerpete

Sheens 3 year plan as i recall is going to plan. In season one he wanted to work on changing the club and its reputation, i think he did that. Season 2 ( this season)......he said he didnt think we'd see the best out of the side till late in the season. Now throw in an injury toll which hasnt ended and wont end before the season i think his plan is taking shape.

Sheens said that he expected the younger guys to begin making their appearance and mark on the game in the second half of the season. Halatau and Harrison in particular are doing that, and Obviously Benji before his injury was too. Take into account that Jeff Lima also looked good in his cameos in first grade, and Gibbs and Fulton's promising showings in the top grade also leaves me feeling that Sheens plan is taking shape.

While the season may now be heading the way we dreaded, overall, from what we wanted at the start of the season, its gone to plan, lets just hope we can win some games sonner or later.

Gobbso

2005, he said that Wests would give the competition a shake. I'm hoping for his and the sake of the Joint-Venture's supporter's and future that it does happen, otherwise its not looking too bright. Still there's really no excuse for the poor slump in form. He has to cop some of the blame. Although me might not be dropping the ball, and missing tackles, he is making the team selections. that's got to say something in my opinion...

Mc East

Does anyone know if Warren Ryan ever wants to coach again, he has had great success with us in the past and several other teams.
I reckon we should get rid of Sheens, he is seemingly hopeless with teams when they are down and out eg. the Cowboys. So I really think our chances of improving will only decrease with Sheens at the helm.
So lets get Noyce to convince Ryan to give coaching another go, he would have immediate impact and not bulls**t around with crappy three year plans. 8)