Register a free account today to become a member of the world's largest Rugby League discussion forum! Once signed in, you'll be able to participate on this site by adding your own topics and posts, as well as connect with other members through your own private inbox!

Shoplifting claim against Osborne

Osborne is not a lawyer. He is an ex cop and as such, would/should know that you must PAY for your groceries at the supermarket.

He's also human.
How do you know he didn't have 6 of his 8 kids tagging along?
Simple mistake imo.

I'm not going Ref's Call on this one, I'm going Benefit of the Doubt.

Osborne is not a lawyer. He is an ex cop and as such, would/should know that you must PAY for your groceries at the supermarket.

FFS if you've ever been to one of those self serve counters where you scan, press buttons and swipe you always see people get flustered with the buggy technology. The fact that he overlooked the final part of the process was certainly not deliberate. I would suggest that anyone who infers that it was anything other than an oversight being mischievous to say the least.

FMD I've even taken money out of an ATM with kids in tow and realised later that I forgot to take the cash !

eels81236

FFS if you've ever been to one of those self serve counters where you scan, press buttons and swipe you always see people get flustered with the buggy technology. The fact that he overlooked the final part of the process was certainly not deliberate. I would suggest that anyone who infers that it was anything other than an oversight being mischievous to say the least.

FMD I've even taken money out of an ATM with kids in tow and realised later that I forgot to take the cash !

And they reckon you have that much that you didn't even miss it. ;-)

sarahk

Today, while babbling to the Priceling counter lady about Paul Osbourne and how they made a big deal about nothing and that people make the mistake all the time, I END UP WALKING OUT WITHOUT PAYING FOR AN ITEM. I realised half way up the stairs that one of the items was still in my hand and i had to run back to pay for it. I had images of the cops coming to my house and issuing an infringement notice on me!

Highly highly embaressing.

because only ex-cops should know you must pay for your groceries .... i'm not an ex-cop, so i am sometimes troubled as to whether I should or shouldn't pay - if only i'd been to the police academy where they teach you such things

Haynzy

I totally agree....

I've also walked off without my cash and i didn't even have my kids with me, i just had a heap on my mind.

Uncle Leo

because only ex-cops should know you must pay for your groceries .... i'm not an ex-cop, so i am sometimes troubled as to whether I should or shouldn't pay - if only i'd been to the police academy where they teach you such things

I would dare say, as an ex cop, he at some stage would have been involved in the prosecuting side of shoplifting cases and would also be well aware of the procedures and subsequent consequences. Absentmindedness/carelessness does not cut as a defence. Why should he be treated any different to anyone else?

lingard

I have done it a few times too. All unintentional. Usually the littlest one is sitting in the kids seat in the trolley only to find a few things laying around her or under her when unloading in the car. A few times the kids seat was closed but had things like seeweed wraps slid down the side and were not noticed.

You buy sea-weed wraps? Oh, Casper! Where`s your pride, man? On a footy forum! It should be frozen meat pies and beer. Get with the program.

lingard

When I was young, we used to get 2 cent coins and beat them down with a hammer until they were the same size as a ten cent coin. Then we`d go to the local garage and put them in the Coke/Fanta machine. Bottles of Fanta and Coke were then ten cents (1968). So we`d get a ten cent bottle of Coke for two cents, drink the contents and return the bottle for a three cent refund. We`d make a profit of one cent per bottle. Not fantastically lucrative, but fun.

Hellsy

We used to get 2 $0.05 coins and super glue them together and the vending machines read them as $2 coins :D :D

Hellsy

It prob won't work now. The new machines are so much better thanwhat they were 15 years ago when we were doing that!

Might just call in there myself tomorrow morning after I drop the kids off to school.

Use the self-serve checkout and when it's time to pay make sure you say at the top of your voice, "I'm using my card to pay for this! I am just letting everybody know because I wouldn't want the cops to turn up at my door after I had made an honest mistake. OK, Woolies, I'm paying! Can everyone see that I'm paying!"

Actually, we should line up about a dozen people to do this one after the other. All wearing Parra jerseys and making a massive scene.

Casper The Ghost

You buy sea-weed wraps? Oh, Casper! Where`s your pride, man? On a footy forum! It should be frozen meat pies and beer. Get with the program.

:lol::lol:

When I was young, we used to get 2 cent coins and beat them down with a hammer until they were the same size as a ten cent coin. Then we`d go to the local garage and put them in the Coke/Fanta machine. Bottles of Fanta and Coke were then ten cents (1968). So we`d get a ten cent bottle of Coke for two cents, drink the contents and return the bottle for a three cent refund. We`d make a profit of one cent per bottle. Not fantastically lucrative, but fun.

Dad had greyhounds, trotters & racehorses. Back in the mid/late 1960's used to chronically go to the Greyhounds to help dad with the dogs, NSW country tracks and Wentworth Park. As a 8/9/10 year old I learnt quickly to collect coke, fanta bottles etc, cash them in & got enough money together to punt. Made friends with lots of dads mates who would put my bets on and cash my winnings, which was common. Mum ended up taking all the winnings. One might Dad introduced me to Micky Rooney (the American child actor - a great bloke) at Harold Park Trots. Mickey helped me punt on all races that night. By nights end, Mickey handed over a HUGE pile of cash to mum (in the many many thousands of $$$$$) and we noticed Mickey had his own whopper of a pile of cash which he gave to some assistant. He punted on everything felt by me. One night at Wentworth Park I picked all winners. All winnings from each race was put on to the next. I remember Dad getting help to take the money securely out of the race track. When I grew up I never saw any of this money profited from Coke/Fanta bottles & had no interest in gambling.

We used to get 2 $0.05 coins and super glue them together and the vending machines read them as $2 coins :D

As a kid I took many coins to the train track at Rydalmere which was used as my mint press. Had a ball with slot machines, pinball machines, juke-boxes etc etc.

sarahk

Use the self-serve checkout and when it's time to pay make sure you say at the top of your voice, "I'm using my card to pay for this! I am just letting everybody know because I wouldn't want the cops to turn up at my door after I had made an honest mistake. OK, Woolies, I'm paying! Can everyone see that I'm paying!"

Actually, we should line up about a dozen people to do this one after the other. All wearing Parra jerseys and making a massive scene.

Good idea BUT we're giving them our money. So regardless of the commotion we make they're still profiting from our visit.

I say we just keep calling and complaining in different voices. ( I've already called twice LOL). Or someone go in get alot of items and just as you're about to pay scream out HOLD ON ISNT THIS THE WOOLIES WHERE AN INNOCENT MAN HAD THE POLICE CALLED ON HIM FOR MAKING AN HONEST MISTAKE. I REFUSE TO SHOP HERE EVER AGAIN. Leave all your items there and walk out :)

Daneel

You should get a lot of you together fill up heaps of trolleys with frozen food and then leave them in woolies

lingard

Dad had greyhounds, trotters & racehorses. Back in the mid/late 1960's used to chronically go to the Greyhounds to help dad with the dogs, NSW country tracks and Wentworth Park. As a 8/9/10 year old I learnt quickly to collect coke, fanta bottles etc, cash them in & got enough money together to punt. Made friends with lots of dads mates who would put my bets on and cash my winnings, which was common. Mum ended up taking all the winnings. One might Dad introduced me to Micky Rooney (the American child actor - a great bloke) at Harold Park Trots. Mickey helped me punt on all races that night. By nights end, Mickey handed over a HUGE pile of cash to mum (in the many many thousands of $$$$$) and we noticed Mickey had his own whopper of a pile of cash which he gave to some assistant. He punted on everything felt by me. One night at Wentworth Park I picked all winners. All winnings from each race was put on to the next. I remember Dad getting help to take the money securely out of the race track. When I grew up I never saw any of this money profited from Coke/Fanta bottles & had no interest in gambling.

As a kid I took many coins to the train track at Rydalmere which was used as my mint press. Had a ball with slot machines, pinball machines, juke-boxes etc etc.

Wow, you had an exciting childhood! :)

lingard

We used to get 2 $0.05 coins and super glue them together and the vending machines read them as $2 coins :D :D

Damn! There was no such thing as super-glue when I was young. And I don`t think Perkins Paste would have worked. :lol::lol: